Disgaea 4: A Promise Revisited Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Disgaea 4 is a sequel to Disgaea, a hardcore, turn-based, strategy RPG. In Disgaea, character units have a limit to their movement and attack ranges, based on level and weapons equipped. There are other special game factors that let you take advantage of the 3D battle map, many of which areDisgaea 4 is a sequel to Disgaea, a hardcore, turn-based, strategy RPG. In Disgaea, character units have a limit to their movement and attack ranges, based on level and weapons equipped. There are other special game factors that let you take advantage of the 3D battle map, many of which are unique to Disgaea. As the 4th installment in the series Disgaea 4 adopts an all new graphic engine with a much more emphasis on a anime style graphics and also adopts many new game system for an exciting battle adventure. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Sep 18, 2014
    90
    The perfect excuse to return to a franchise that seemed to have reached it's highest point on it's first entry. The gameplay changes are great for experienced players, while the new episodes offer great value for the novices.
  2. 90
    This isn’t just a simple port, it is a great new way to enjoy a game on a new platform for gamers that may have missed it on PS3, and it is full of new fun to be had for those that have already played it.
  3. Aug 31, 2014
    86
    It has everything the original had, plus more content to expend 100 hour leveling, taking political decisions or creating characters. More stories, elements from other Disgaea titles and a vivid and crispy visual aspect thanks to Vita's wonderful screen, A Promise Revisited is a must have for fans of the Strategy JRPG, and for all those fans of the first version that want to tale those Prinnies everywhere.
  4. Aug 12, 2014
    80
    Disgaea 4: A Promise Revisited crams one of the best Disgaea games ever into a tiny package. The entire PlayStation 3 game comes along for the ride, with all of the levels, all of the graphics, and all of the content. There's some framerate issues here and there, but nothing that completely ruins the experience. A must-have for Disgaea fans who own a Vita.
  5. Sep 10, 2014
    80
    A Promise Revisited is a great port of the original, bringing old and new contents while improving and tweaking the experience on Vita.
  6. 80
    Still the funniest and best-looking entry in the series, even if it’s the least innovative. And despite a few graphical flaws the PS Version is the definitive edition.
  7. Aug 20, 2014
    60
    Disgaea 4 is the best game I’ve ever hated.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    This game is Amazing
    every thing about it is amazing
    its time consuming to maximize everything but it gives you abnormal challenges that
    This game is Amazing
    every thing about it is amazing
    its time consuming to maximize everything but it gives you abnormal challenges that makes it worthwhile.
    Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2015
    10
    This is my first review and I think that this game deserves that. I have always loved JRPG´S and tactical games and I knew about Disgaea gamesThis is my first review and I think that this game deserves that. I have always loved JRPG´S and tactical games and I knew about Disgaea games but never tried them. Recently they were on sale on PSN and I thought that it was a good time to try one of them, and why not the last one? When the game starts, you can see the amazing use of anime scenes, sprites and gameplay. Disgaea are known for their jokes and comical story and...totally true, even if this game has a good story, you cant really take it seriously because of...SARDINES. Sardines everywhere. Still, I´ve laughed a lot while playing and still didnt lose interest on how the story. Now that I´ve talked about the story (8/10) and the visual style (10/10), I have to talk about the most surprising part of this game, the gameplay. I thought that they were similar to games like FFTactics or Fire emblem but even if it looks like that, its far more...complete, not hard. I suppose that if you played every Disgaea, you should know about the Item World, Geo Blocks, Magichange and everything but for someone new to the serie its BIG. Even after I got it a month ago I still keep discovering new things (new classes, new options)... its just amazing. Besides, this version brings all DLC´s from the PS3 version wich makes this...yeah, HUGE.
    With all that I´ve said until now I have to give this game a 10, its my personal discovery of this year, I love it and I think that I still have a lot to play and enjoy.
    TL;DR Story: 8/10, Graphics (10/10), Gameplay (15/10), Duration (15/10), Music (8/10).
    Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2014
    10
    This game is the reason why I bought PS Vita. Was not disappointed and after 100 hours of gameplay I finally felt a need to take a break butThis game is the reason why I bought PS Vita. Was not disappointed and after 100 hours of gameplay I finally felt a need to take a break but there is still more stuff to do in the game. It has some issues like FPS dropdown in Item World and Chara World as well as crash with certain monster personality sounds but it is not gamebreaking. Best game in the series gameplay-wise too, perfect for hand held console. Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2014
    10
    Fantastic strategy game, every psv owner should buy this!
    It will take more than 100 hours to finish this game with many game features.
    If
    Fantastic strategy game, every psv owner should buy this!
    It will take more than 100 hours to finish this game with many game features.
    If you are a streategy fan, then get this one and you will not regret.
    Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2014
    9
    It's a must have if you're into Disgaea. If you like turn-based SRPG's, like Final Fantasy Tactics, then you should also definitely get this;It's a must have if you're into Disgaea. If you like turn-based SRPG's, like Final Fantasy Tactics, then you should also definitely get this; the humor is light, and the characters are cooky. The only thing is is that this game involves heavy grinding if you want to complete everything beyond the story.

    TL;DR - Like turn-based SRPG's? Buy this.
    Expand
  6. Aug 15, 2014
    9
    Disgaea 4 is a brilliant strategy rpg that fits perfectly for the vita. Party, weapon, and armor customization is very high in this game,Disgaea 4 is a brilliant strategy rpg that fits perfectly for the vita. Party, weapon, and armor customization is very high in this game, satisfying those who want to wish to alter strategies in order to beat tough maps. Combat is turn based grid combat that is addicting and enjoyable. Those who may be apprehensive about this kind of rpg may find a wealth of fun and creativity in the battle system. The combat is tedious, so those looking for a quick win aren't going to be happy with this. The story is quirky and humorous, with great characters carried by excellent voice acting. The challenge is great in this game, forcing you to restart the entire story if you fail (unless you reload). Even failure leads to extra cutscenes and dialogue describing your failure and it's consequences. The art is charming and smooth, as well as adding a nice flare to the typical Japanese animation with unique looking characters. the game features a wealth of post game content that is sure to keep players busy for hundreds of hours. Grinding is made more appealing by leveling items and attacks along the way, though do to difficulty spikes you may find yourself doing this more often that you anticipate. Overall this is an enjoyable and deep srpg that is a must for Disgaea fans and a gem amongst the vita rpg collecton, though it is not best suited to those new to the rpg genre. Collapse
  7. Oct 11, 2015
    8
    Best Disgaea since 1 in terms of humor, and characters. Valvatorez is as awesome as Laharl, despite having a completely different personality.Best Disgaea since 1 in terms of humor, and characters. Valvatorez is as awesome as Laharl, despite having a completely different personality. Supporting cast is just as memorable, Fuka and Emizel more so than others. Expect to laugh out loud at some of the scenes so you may want to think twice about playing this in public. The central plot isn't as strong, but story is rarely the strength of the series.

    Gameplay, as expected, is much deeper than its predecessors. I am quite worn out by the previous titles so I did not get too much into the endgame this time around but I'm sure it would take me hundreds of hours again to get the most out of it. Item world is more developed and has branching routes.

    It's one of the best, if not the best tactical RPGs you can get on vita.
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews