Dokuro PlayStation Vita

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Mar 24, 2016
    70
    A great art style, rock-hard puzzles and great controls are let down by so-so platforming challenges and combat that feels perfunctory in comparison with the rest of the experience.
  2. Mar 24, 2016
    70
    With these simple colours and the odd puff of chalk the world of Dokuro is brought to life on the Vita in a breathtaking fashion, the simple art hiding so much potential underneath.
  3. Mar 24, 2016
    70
    Dokuro is a frustrating, and occasionally fantastic game. It's a shame that there are a number of levels that felt phoned in and the touch controls are so off and on, as the art style and character designs do a great job of drawing you in.
  4. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Mar 24, 2016
    70
    It can be devilishly challenging, but never seems insurmountable. [Apr 2013, p.115]
  5. Play UK
    Mar 24, 2016
    65
    Certainly charming and different enough to be worth a look, especially given the relative lack of decent Vita titles. But its core structure lacks finesse, and some won't see this fairytale through to its end. [Issue#229, p.83]
  6. Mar 24, 2016
    60
    Between its unforgiving nature, unbalanced difficulty, and humdrum puzzles, I wouldn't have pressed on through Dokuro if I wasn't reviewing it. Rarely did I feel that fun "a-ha" moment that makes puzzle games exciting; instead I found tedium and frustration. I surely wasn't as devoted to this game as Dokuro was to the princess. Add me to the list of Dokuro's unrequited loves.
  7. Mar 24, 2016
    50
    Between the rampant frustration, the princess' flat-out stupidity, and the extremely difficult puzzles, there's little to keep you pushing ahead in Dokuro save from the allure of catching the heart of fictional royalty.
  8. Mar 24, 2016
    50
    Dokuro feels like an idea with a lot of passion and little effort in its execution.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jul 28, 2015
    8
    Dokuro is a sadly overlooked puzzle game for the vita. It offers an interesting charcoal pale which when colour is introduced makes for aDokuro is a sadly overlooked puzzle game for the vita. It offers an interesting charcoal pale which when colour is introduced makes for a fantastic spectacle. The levels are varied offering great design and introduces new mechanics at a perfect pace always keeping the levels interesting. The game is challenging but fair, often I would put the game down in frustration only to pick it up a few seconds later to learn from my mistakes. The game may be a tad too long and the repetition of boss battles seems needless, the game is already meaty and requires no further padding. The fear many may have of this game is that it is one large companion quest, thankfully the princess you are leading through levels proves to be, in the most part, a smart companion trying her best to avoid danger. A great game for a great price Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2014
    10
    I didn't believe this was on the top games for vita on ign, but after i played a couple of hours, it was awesome, and the best vita game i'veI didn't believe this was on the top games for vita on ign, but after i played a couple of hours, it was awesome, and the best vita game i've played so far, it is still giving me the hardest time with one puzzle after other, but frankly, the story told by a couple of illustrations its just enough to motivate me to keep solving the next. A must have, specially for the length and price (2.99 usd) Full Review »
  3. Jul 17, 2014
    9
    This game basically is what the much-famed ICO would have looked and played like if it was made in 2D and adapted to a (somewhat more casual)This game basically is what the much-famed ICO would have looked and played like if it was made in 2D and adapted to a (somewhat more casual) handheld-style of play by some very creative indie devs. Brilliant retro-style puzzle plattformer with great atmosphere (art and music) and very creative puzzle design (integrating some clever touch-controls and ICOesque "pave a way for the princess" mechanics). How this game did not get way more attention and recommending reviews is absolutely beyond my understanding. Defines the meaning of STEAL at the current price tag of 2.99 Euros. Must-buy for VITA owners, imo. Full Review »