Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jul 31, 2013
    95
    The lack of half-naked men aside, it's impossible not to see what a superior, rewarding effort Dragon's Crown turned out to be—it looks great, it feels great, it's smart and deep, and it utterly revitalizes a genre that went stale years ago. Without overstating the case, this game is a must-play tour-de-force that surprised the hell out of me, and I couldn't be happier about it.
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    Dragon’s Crown is an amazing experience and whilst it may be easy to turn your nose up at it, due to the visual style of the characters, to do so you would be denying yourself the chance of playing one the the best side-scrolling beat-em-ups of all time. A game with simplicity, that is also as deep as you want it to be. Open to newcomers and experienced players alike, you need this in your life.
  3. Jul 31, 2013
    90
    A breath of fresh air, Dragon's Crown proves that arcade beat-'em-ups still have a lot of fight left in them.
  4. Jul 31, 2013
    90
    Vita owners and old-school fans of beat'-em-up classics owe it to themselves to top their collection off with Dragon's Crown.
  5. Jul 31, 2013
    88
    I could not have dreamed of a game like Dragon's Crown in my younger years, mostly because it could not have existed on anything but modern hardware. It's a little odd that the game hides its best features under an inconspicuous, slow-paced introductory period, but everything beyond the first few hours is excellent.
  6. Jun 13, 2014
    80
    Dragon's Crown pays tribute to the cult of sword and sorcery. The obvious choice for all treasure, hack and slash, and the old but gold 2D beat them ups lovers. You just need to prepare for the inevitable grind, and you may set forth upon your adventure with a capital A.
  7. Oct 31, 2013
    80
    Dragon’s Crown is, without a doubt, the most ambitious, most accomplished brawler of this generation. Fans of the genre have something here that will keep them busy far into the next generation, with the game providing hundreds of hours of content for those willing to put the time in.
  8. Oct 18, 2013
    80
    Mix Castle Crashers with Golden Axe and just a hint of Final Fantasy and you’ll end up with Dragon’s Crown. Works better on PS Vita rather than the Playstation 3.
  9. 80
    Works splendidly on the PS Vita and fits the format wonderfully, as it’s only in the later parts of the game that missions last more than ten to fifteen minutes. The artwork is ludicrous, but other than that, this is a solid dungeon crawler.
  10. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    Dragon's Crown is a tribute to all the best 2D beat'em all from the past. It is beautiful, deep, and is today one of the best in its class.
  11. Sep 1, 2013
    80
    The missions can be repetitive and the levelling system simplistic, but that doesn’t take away from the fact that this is a well-crafted RPG that is sure to keep you entertained for hours on end.
  12. Aug 30, 2013
    80
    There are times when I felt I was putting more time into planning my endeavors than into the killing of monsters. And that's by no means a bad thing, quite the contrary. Dragon's Crown is bursting with means to tinker with and develop your characters and each of them is quite exciting and well executed.
  13. 70
    Possibly the best looking game of all time, mixed with not quite there combat but a great multiplayer.
  14. Sep 27, 2013
    60
    The breasts get in the way. Dragon’s Crown’s 30GG bosoms have made any discussion of the game impossible without first acknowledging that, yes, those things are preposterous. While art director George Kamitani’s assertion that he exaggerates male characters’ masculine characteristics to the same extent holds water, the saucy fairy and spread-legged female monk don’t help combat the suggestion that Dragon’s Crown is wantonly objectifying women.
  15. Aug 30, 2013
    60
    Dragon’s Crown’s unique beauty goes a long way. But it doesn’t go quite long enough.
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Wow Does this game pop.. I'm so excited at just how badass it turned out.

    The artwork is phenomenal, and with the Vita screen it's just
    mesmerizing. I've got my first character started and already have my eyes on my character for my second playthrough.

    The loot system is really good... driving but not cheesy or used as a constant crutch against the player. I don't like games that make the grind tedious.

    Wow... this game is awesome.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    This game is perfect in every way.
    The art is beautiful, the animations are top notch.
    It's just an overall amazing game and a must own for
    Vita and PS3. Full Review »
  3. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    I highly recommend Dragons Crown for the PS VITA to annyone who has the slightest interest in old school hack'n slash and brawlers with RPG elements. It is almost a miracle, that a software company is making such gems nowadays.

    It has often been stated around here and yet, it can not be praised highly enough, for the outstanding amount of finest 2D artwork and animations the gaming world has ever faced. But that hardly makes it the masterpiece that it is. The gameplay is smooth, offers great replayability and is engaging in that old-school coin-up arcade sense. Of course it gets hectic, its in the nature of the gamedesign and never annoying but often fun. Didn't Co-op'd now but even playing alone is glorious fun, as the AI is doing a great job.

    The voiceover and the soundtrack rounds it up pretty nicely. At this point I just hope that it wont be the last title from Vanillasoft on the PSVITA. It's a rare gem, go get it!

    P.S.: Who gets offended by the proportions of the characters shouldn't touch it. But it shouldn't be downrated because of it it's the games stylized artwork. No Comic gets downgraded and no movie just because of it. Just saying....
    Full Review »