Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 160 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dragon's Crown thrusts you into a fantastical medieval world packed with labyrinthine dungeons to explore, vile monstrosities to smite, and nearly endless online adventure. Your mission is to dive into the dank underworld, uncovering treasure and strengthening your mettle as you unlock theDragon's Crown thrusts you into a fantastical medieval world packed with labyrinthine dungeons to explore, vile monstrosities to smite, and nearly endless online adventure. Your mission is to dive into the dank underworld, uncovering treasure and strengthening your mettle as you unlock the secret behind the ancient dragon threatening the world. Simple, easy-to-learn controls allow anyone to dive into the fray and enjoy the breathtaking sword-and-sorcery action. In addition to long-lasting gameplay, the game also features a vast array of character customization features - with six wildly different classes to play as, raiding the catacombs for epic loot remains fresh and engaging. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jul 31, 2013
    95
    The lack of half-naked men aside, it's impossible not to see what a superior, rewarding effort Dragon's Crown turned out to be—it looks great, it feels great, it's smart and deep, and it utterly revitalizes a genre that went stale years ago. Without overstating the case, this game is a must-play tour-de-force that surprised the hell out of me, and I couldn't be happier about it.
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    90
    A breath of fresh air, Dragon's Crown proves that arcade beat-'em-ups still have a lot of fight left in them.
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    Dragon’s Crown is an amazing experience and whilst it may be easy to turn your nose up at it, due to the visual style of the characters, to do so you would be denying yourself the chance of playing one the the best side-scrolling beat-em-ups of all time. A game with simplicity, that is also as deep as you want it to be. Open to newcomers and experienced players alike, you need this in your life.
  4. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    Dragon's Crown is a tribute to all the best 2D beat'em all from the past. It is beautiful, deep, and is today one of the best in its class.
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    80
    Mix Castle Crashers with Golden Axe and just a hint of Final Fantasy and you’ll end up with Dragon’s Crown. Works better on PS Vita rather than the Playstation 3.
  6. 80
    Works splendidly on the PS Vita and fits the format wonderfully, as it’s only in the later parts of the game that missions last more than ten to fifteen minutes. The artwork is ludicrous, but other than that, this is a solid dungeon crawler.
  7. Aug 30, 2013
    60
    Dragon’s Crown’s unique beauty goes a long way. But it doesn’t go quite long enough.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Wow Does this game pop.. I'm so excited at just how badass it turned out.

    The artwork is phenomenal, and with the Vita screen it's just
    Wow Does this game pop.. I'm so excited at just how badass it turned out.

    The artwork is phenomenal, and with the Vita screen it's just mesmerizing. I've got my first character started and already have my eyes on my character for my second playthrough.

    The loot system is really good... driving but not cheesy or used as a constant crutch against the player. I don't like games that make the grind tedious.

    Wow... this game is awesome.
    Collapse
  2. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If u like Games Dungeons & Dragons Series then don't miss it, this is look similiar. I didn't know what i can say again, but just one word this games is Perfect for 2D RPG Artwork in PSVita. Thx for the art design George Kamitani, u are the best man...salute Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    If one game deserves a 10, it's this one. Music is fantastic, artwork mindblowing and color palet is excelent on vita. Everything is vivid andIf one game deserves a 10, it's this one. Music is fantastic, artwork mindblowing and color palet is excelent on vita. Everything is vivid and fun. It plays like old D&D and Golden axe on arcades. It has moves, leveling, looting which can be par on par with todays ARPGs in the terms of add ons. They don't change gameplay (like in TL2 or D3) but they have a nice impact. You get skills which you can apply as you level up to one of the 6 classes and for each of them there is a neutral skill tree with buffs.
    I recommend this game, it's a blast, combos are great, magic is excellent and everything is just as it should be... Combat is fast and responsive, but hits do carry weight behind them which is nice to see how different character and weapons behave.
    Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    I highly recommend Dragons Crown for the PS VITA to annyone who has the slightest interest in old school hack'n slash and brawlers with RPGI highly recommend Dragons Crown for the PS VITA to annyone who has the slightest interest in old school hack'n slash and brawlers with RPG elements. It is almost a miracle, that a software company is making such gems nowadays.

    It has often been stated around here and yet, it can not be praised highly enough, for the outstanding amount of finest 2D artwork and animations the gaming world has ever faced. But that hardly makes it the masterpiece that it is. The gameplay is smooth, offers great replayability and is engaging in that old-school coin-up arcade sense. Of course it gets hectic, its in the nature of the gamedesign and never annoying but often fun. Didn't Co-op'd now but even playing alone is glorious fun, as the AI is doing a great job.

    The voiceover and the soundtrack rounds it up pretty nicely. At this point I just hope that it wont be the last title from Vanillasoft on the PSVITA. It's a rare gem, go get it!

    P.S.: Who gets offended by the proportions of the characters shouldn't touch it. But it shouldn't be downrated because of it it's the games stylized artwork. No Comic gets downgraded and no movie just because of it. Just saying....
    Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2014
    9
    Excellent game! Great visuals and sound, fun gameplay and very addictive! Also was surprised to discover it has multiplayer functionality too.Excellent game! Great visuals and sound, fun gameplay and very addictive! Also was surprised to discover it has multiplayer functionality too.
    Very recommended!
    Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    Dragon's Crown will probably end up being my game of the year. Amazing art direction and aesthetic, super fun gameplay, decently high skillDragon's Crown will probably end up being my game of the year. Amazing art direction and aesthetic, super fun gameplay, decently high skill ceiling (at least for Elf), and a God-tier soundtrack. My only complaint is similar to that of other Vanillaware games... not enough content. Admittedly I've played the game for ~55 hours so far and haven't felt this to be an issue, but I can see how it would be for some. The randomized Labyrinth of Chaos end-game dungeon definitely alleviates this complaint to a degree, but you have to play through the first 9 stages/18 paths quite a few times before unlocking it fully.

    The Vita version has a few ups and downs compared to the PS3 version. The touch functionality for unlocking chests and doors/finding sparklies in the background is definitely superior to the PS3's cursor method; however, the Vita version has more areas with FPS slowdown. If you're an Elf it's also worth noting that it's a bit more difficult to find arrows lying on the ground on Vita's smaller screen.
    Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2014
    4
    This game is monotonous. After three hours you still do exactly the same and even have to redo the same level but with the last third of itThis game is monotonous. After three hours you still do exactly the same and even have to redo the same level but with the last third of it changed.

    It has admitedly beutiful surroundings but the characters design is awfull. Also, it is so hard to see what is going on most of the time because of all the enemies and friends.

    I didn't play it online. I will assume that if you have friends to play with it would be more fun but the lack of interresting story or characters, with mostly singelplayer buttonmashing, this game just doesn't hold up.
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers