Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 126 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dragon's Crown thrusts you into a fantastical medieval world packed with labyrinthine dungeons to explore, vile monstrosities to smite, and nearly endless online adventure. Your mission is to dive into the dank underworld, uncovering treasure and strengthening your mettle as you unlock the secret behind the ancient dragon threatening the world. Simple, easy-to-learn controls allow anyone to dive into the fray and enjoy the breathtaking sword-and-sorcery action. In addition to long-lasting gameplay, the game also features a vast array of character customization features - with six wildly different classes to play as, raiding the catacombs for epic loot remains fresh and engaging. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jul 31, 2013
    95
    The lack of half-naked men aside, it's impossible not to see what a superior, rewarding effort Dragon's Crown turned out to be—it looks great, it feels great, it's smart and deep, and it utterly revitalizes a genre that went stale years ago. Without overstating the case, this game is a must-play tour-de-force that surprised the hell out of me, and I couldn't be happier about it.
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    90
    A breath of fresh air, Dragon's Crown proves that arcade beat-'em-ups still have a lot of fight left in them.
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    Dragon’s Crown is an amazing experience and whilst it may be easy to turn your nose up at it, due to the visual style of the characters, to do so you would be denying yourself the chance of playing one the the best side-scrolling beat-em-ups of all time. A game with simplicity, that is also as deep as you want it to be. Open to newcomers and experienced players alike, you need this in your life.
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    80
    The missions can be repetitive and the levelling system simplistic, but that doesn’t take away from the fact that this is a well-crafted RPG that is sure to keep you entertained for hours on end.
  5. 80
    Works splendidly on the PS Vita and fits the format wonderfully, as it’s only in the later parts of the game that missions last more than ten to fifteen minutes. The artwork is ludicrous, but other than that, this is a solid dungeon crawler.
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    Dragon's Crown is a tribute to all the best 2D beat'em all from the past. It is beautiful, deep, and is today one of the best in its class.
  7. Aug 30, 2013
    60
    Dragon’s Crown’s unique beauty goes a long way. But it doesn’t go quite long enough.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    So I got Dragon's Crown and the game delivers. Fantastic game. It's an old school beat-em up game with RPG elements. This is not a professional review but I'll write a little about this game.

    You'll pick one of the 6 available characters and, unlike most games in this genre, the characters really play different. You'll be upgrading your character with common skills and skills unique to your class. You'll find powerful and enchanted weapons, armour and items. In case you are wondering the armour and items doesn't change the appearance of your character, but you can customize your character's name and color swap.

    The level design is a little weird. There is this town with common locations like the tavern, temple, Mage's tower, adventurer's guild, castle and stables among others and a gate that will take you to your adventure. The first levels you'll play solo but after you beat the 9 missions available multiplayer will be unlocked and it's fantastic. You'll be playing any of the 9 missions again and again but now there is another path available for each of those missions, a different boss included, so that gives us 18 stages.

    There are a ton of quests with secret rooms, hidden objects, challenges with regular enemies, bosses, etc. Those quests give you experience, unlocks art (the art is fantastic!) and skill points to upgrade your character.

    The soundtrack is good too, at first I didn't notice but when the credits were rolling I realize how much I like it. The graphics are fantastic, the game looks like a living paint. There has been some controversy for the art style of the game, specially for the over-sexualized female characters but the art is consistent, the Amazon and the Sorceress are just as exaggerated as the Fighter or the Dwarf, and you can appreciate this even in the monsters. For some people this is offensive but for others it's part of the charm of the game.

    As I write this I've played with a single class. I'm very happy with the game. I'm hooked, I want to continue playing to reach level 99, beat the whole thing and then jump into the next class to start again.
    Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Wow Does this game pop.. I'm so excited at just how badass it turned out.

    The artwork is phenomenal, and with the Vita screen it's just
    mesmerizing. I've got my first character started and already have my eyes on my character for my second playthrough.

    The loot system is really good... driving but not cheesy or used as a constant crutch against the player. I don't like games that make the grind tedious.

    Wow... this game is awesome.
    Expand
  3. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Outstanding game, The design, gameplay and co-op multiplayer are Amazing. Really worth the money.

    10 points to the game and 10 points to
    Atlus for saving the idea and take the risk with this game. Expand
  4. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If u like Games Dungeons & Dragons Series then don't miss it, this is look similiar. I didn't know what i can say again, but just one word this games is Perfect for 2D RPG Artwork in PSVita. Thx for the art design George Kamitani, u are the best man...salute Expand
  5. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    I highly recommend Dragons Crown for the PS VITA to annyone who has the slightest interest in old school hack'n slash and brawlers with RPG elements. It is almost a miracle, that a software company is making such gems nowadays.

    It has often been stated around here and yet, it can not be praised highly enough, for the outstanding amount of finest 2D artwork and animations the gaming world has ever faced. But that hardly makes it the masterpiece that it is. The gameplay is smooth, offers great replayability and is engaging in that old-school coin-up arcade sense. Of course it gets hectic, its in the nature of the gamedesign and never annoying but often fun. Didn't Co-op'd now but even playing alone is glorious fun, as the AI is doing a great job.

    The voiceover and the soundtrack rounds it up pretty nicely. At this point I just hope that it wont be the last title from Vanillasoft on the PSVITA. It's a rare gem, go get it!

    P.S.: Who gets offended by the proportions of the characters shouldn't touch it. But it shouldn't be downrated because of it it's the games stylized artwork. No Comic gets downgraded and no movie just because of it. Just saying....
    Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    Dragon's Crown will probably end up being my game of the year. Amazing art direction and aesthetic, super fun gameplay, decently high skill ceiling (at least for Elf), and a God-tier soundtrack. My only complaint is similar to that of other Vanillaware games... not enough content. Admittedly I've played the game for ~55 hours so far and haven't felt this to be an issue, but I can see how it would be for some. The randomized Labyrinth of Chaos end-game dungeon definitely alleviates this complaint to a degree, but you have to play through the first 9 stages/18 paths quite a few times before unlocking it fully.

    The Vita version has a few ups and downs compared to the PS3 version. The touch functionality for unlocking chests and doors/finding sparklies in the background is definitely superior to the PS3's cursor method; however, the Vita version has more areas with FPS slowdown. If you're an Elf it's also worth noting that it's a bit more difficult to find arrows lying on the ground on Vita's smaller screen.
    Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2014
    5
    Quarter to three is the unbiased review here. Game feels hollow despite the great artwork. Feels like tablet fodder, maybe even browser based. An online store would fit right in. not worthy of all the 9-10 reviews, not worthy of its genre. Definitely not worthy of the platform. Even so It's a solid unpadded 5/10. Truth.

    Background: Born in the 80's, grew up on Atari, Nintendo, SNES, Genesis, Turbo 16, and Gameboy. Dabbled in PC's. Moved on to Gameboy Advance, Gamecube, PS1 and PS2. Currently use Xbox 360, Steam, PS Vita.

    40 dollar games of this quality can't compete in the marketplace.
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews