Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 154 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dragon's Crown thrusts you into a fantastical medieval world packed with labyrinthine dungeons to explore, vile monstrosities to smite, and nearly endless online adventure. Your mission is to dive into the dank underworld, uncovering treasure and strengthening your mettle as you unlock the secret behind the ancient dragon threatening the world. Simple, easy-to-learn controls allow anyone to dive into the fray and enjoy the breathtaking sword-and-sorcery action. In addition to long-lasting gameplay, the game also features a vast array of character customization features - with six wildly different classes to play as, raiding the catacombs for epic loot remains fresh and engaging. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jul 31, 2013
    95
    The lack of half-naked men aside, it's impossible not to see what a superior, rewarding effort Dragon's Crown turned out to be—it looks great, it feels great, it's smart and deep, and it utterly revitalizes a genre that went stale years ago. Without overstating the case, this game is a must-play tour-de-force that surprised the hell out of me, and I couldn't be happier about it.
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    90
    A breath of fresh air, Dragon's Crown proves that arcade beat-'em-ups still have a lot of fight left in them.
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    Dragon’s Crown is an amazing experience and whilst it may be easy to turn your nose up at it, due to the visual style of the characters, to do so you would be denying yourself the chance of playing one the the best side-scrolling beat-em-ups of all time. A game with simplicity, that is also as deep as you want it to be. Open to newcomers and experienced players alike, you need this in your life.
  4. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    Dragon's Crown is a tribute to all the best 2D beat'em all from the past. It is beautiful, deep, and is today one of the best in its class.
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    80
    Mix Castle Crashers with Golden Axe and just a hint of Final Fantasy and you’ll end up with Dragon’s Crown. Works better on PS Vita rather than the Playstation 3.
  6. 80
    Works splendidly on the PS Vita and fits the format wonderfully, as it’s only in the later parts of the game that missions last more than ten to fifteen minutes. The artwork is ludicrous, but other than that, this is a solid dungeon crawler.
  7. Aug 30, 2013
    60
    Dragon’s Crown’s unique beauty goes a long way. But it doesn’t go quite long enough.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Wow Does this game pop.. I'm so excited at just how badass it turned out.

    The artwork is phenomenal, and with the Vita screen it's just
    mesmerizing. I've got my first character started and already have my eyes on my character for my second playthrough.

    The loot system is really good... driving but not cheesy or used as a constant crutch against the player. I don't like games that make the grind tedious.

    Wow... this game is awesome.
    Expand
  2. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If u like Games Dungeons & Dragons Series then don't miss it, this is look similiar. I didn't know what i can say again, but just one word this games is Perfect for 2D RPG Artwork in PSVita. Thx for the art design George Kamitani, u are the best man...salute Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    Wonderful game, it's really gorgeus, especially in the original Psvita screen, the game is a blast, it remember me the time in the snes playing RPG in 2D, the game is amazing at the point that all the person that has a PSvita need to have the game, the PS3 version is good, but, the PSvita version is better, the controlls and the touch interface made the game more comfortable that is in PS3.

    In you're a PSvita player this game will be the right choice, absolutely gorgeous.

    To the sound, i give it a 10.
    To graphics, a 10.
    to gameplay a 10.
    Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    I highly recommend Dragons Crown for the PS VITA to annyone who has the slightest interest in old school hack'n slash and brawlers with RPG elements. It is almost a miracle, that a software company is making such gems nowadays.

    It has often been stated around here and yet, it can not be praised highly enough, for the outstanding amount of finest 2D artwork and animations the gaming world has ever faced. But that hardly makes it the masterpiece that it is. The gameplay is smooth, offers great replayability and is engaging in that old-school coin-up arcade sense. Of course it gets hectic, its in the nature of the gamedesign and never annoying but often fun. Didn't Co-op'd now but even playing alone is glorious fun, as the AI is doing a great job.

    The voiceover and the soundtrack rounds it up pretty nicely. At this point I just hope that it wont be the last title from Vanillasoft on the PSVITA. It's a rare gem, go get it!

    P.S.: Who gets offended by the proportions of the characters shouldn't touch it. But it shouldn't be downrated because of it it's the games stylized artwork. No Comic gets downgraded and no movie just because of it. Just saying....
    Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    A rather addictive role-playing beat-em-up game with catchy gameplay and eye-candy vanillaware-style graphics. The battle system is well balanced and is not only button mashing: you really need to know how to play your class to succeed. Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    In short: This is a fantastic game that is different to most of the other games out there. If you ever played golden axe, streets of rage, double dragon or battle toads as a kid, you know what you're getting into. To bring these games up to date, the developers have added a large dose of RPG which adds meaning to one of the game's minor downfalls: repetition. What you get is a well made and beautifully drawn 2D action RPG.

    The fighting is accessible but deepens with unlockable upgrades and moves and each of the characters is well balanced and has a role to play. Make sure your party is balanced too!

    The co-op is great and works well (but why oh why does it take so long to get to it?) and easily elevates the game; everything's more fun with friends.

    I've read many cries of sexism levelled at this game due to the revealing nature of some of the characters outfits. It isn't and I'll explain why. I'm going to start with a definition of sexism: Sexism is prejudice or discrimination based on a person's sex. Now In this game, not only do you have buxom maids with cleavages only just staying in their not-fit-for purpose dresses, you also have muscle bound heroes showing tight pectorals and defined six packs. BOTH sexes are sexualised.

    Really it becomes a question of censorship. Are the characters too revealing? It's certainly not a game for the very young anyway.

    Don't worry about the fact that this looks a bit like a title you would find on the PS network or Xbox live arcade. It's much more than that and this will become evident as you play it. I will say though it could do with some more environments. I can understand that they must have taken a long time to draw, but the game would be improved by adding more, perhaps via DLC?

    Ultimately this is an excellent game on PS3 and Vita, with the main difference between the two being a larger viewing area on PS3 and less slowdown compared to a better control scheme on the Vita that uses the touch screen.

    Which ever one you would prefer, If you consider yourself a gamer, you owe it to yourself to support unusual games like this one. Here's hoping for more diversity like this in the future.
    Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2014
    4
    This game is monotonous. After three hours you still do exactly the same and even have to redo the same level but with the last third of it changed.

    It has admitedly beutiful surroundings but the characters design is awfull. Also, it is so hard to see what is going on most of the time because of all the enemies and friends.

    I didn't play it online. I will assume that if you have friends to play with it would be more fun but the lack of interresting story or characters, with mostly singelplayer buttonmashing, this game just doesn't hold up.
    Expand

See all 23 User Reviews