Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 183 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dragon's Crown thrusts you into a fantastical medieval world packed with labyrinthine dungeons to explore, vile monstrosities to smite, and nearly endless online adventure. Your mission is to dive into the dank underworld, uncovering treasure and strengthening your mettle as you unlock theDragon's Crown thrusts you into a fantastical medieval world packed with labyrinthine dungeons to explore, vile monstrosities to smite, and nearly endless online adventure. Your mission is to dive into the dank underworld, uncovering treasure and strengthening your mettle as you unlock the secret behind the ancient dragon threatening the world. Simple, easy-to-learn controls allow anyone to dive into the fray and enjoy the breathtaking sword-and-sorcery action. In addition to long-lasting gameplay, the game also features a vast array of character customization features - with six wildly different classes to play as, raiding the catacombs for epic loot remains fresh and engaging. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jul 31, 2013
    95
    The lack of half-naked men aside, it's impossible not to see what a superior, rewarding effort Dragon's Crown turned out to be—it looks great, it feels great, it's smart and deep, and it utterly revitalizes a genre that went stale years ago. Without overstating the case, this game is a must-play tour-de-force that surprised the hell out of me, and I couldn't be happier about it.
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    90
    A breath of fresh air, Dragon's Crown proves that arcade beat-'em-ups still have a lot of fight left in them.
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    Dragon’s Crown is an amazing experience and whilst it may be easy to turn your nose up at it, due to the visual style of the characters, to do so you would be denying yourself the chance of playing one the the best side-scrolling beat-em-ups of all time. A game with simplicity, that is also as deep as you want it to be. Open to newcomers and experienced players alike, you need this in your life.
  4. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    Dragon's Crown is a tribute to all the best 2D beat'em all from the past. It is beautiful, deep, and is today one of the best in its class.
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    80
    Mix Castle Crashers with Golden Axe and just a hint of Final Fantasy and you’ll end up with Dragon’s Crown. Works better on PS Vita rather than the Playstation 3.
  6. 80
    Works splendidly on the PS Vita and fits the format wonderfully, as it’s only in the later parts of the game that missions last more than ten to fifteen minutes. The artwork is ludicrous, but other than that, this is a solid dungeon crawler.
  7. Aug 30, 2013
    60
    Dragon’s Crown’s unique beauty goes a long way. But it doesn’t go quite long enough.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Wow Does this game pop.. I'm so excited at just how badass it turned out.

    The artwork is phenomenal, and with the Vita screen it's just
    Wow Does this game pop.. I'm so excited at just how badass it turned out.

    The artwork is phenomenal, and with the Vita screen it's just mesmerizing. I've got my first character started and already have my eyes on my character for my second playthrough.

    The loot system is really good... driving but not cheesy or used as a constant crutch against the player. I don't like games that make the grind tedious.

    Wow... this game is awesome.
    Expand
  2. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    Before I say anything, let's just get the ridiculously overblown discussion of big women out of the way. Yes, large breasts, but put it intoBefore I say anything, let's just get the ridiculously overblown discussion of big women out of the way. Yes, large breasts, but put it into perspective, by acknowledging that everything is larger than life in Dragon's Crown, and the "big deal" is swiftly quashed. Gamers who dwell on the issue any more than that, need to grow up and stop trying to appease the PC (politically correct) crowd. A group that continues to grow as more people who have nothing better to do and almost want to be offended just so they can have a moan at something and/or someone jump on the wagon of gloom.

    OK, back to business. Dragon's Crown on Vita. Well, for me (and I own/have played pretty much every Vita title) it's the best game the handheld currently has to offer. The visuals, audio and gameplay are all top notch. The balance of side scrolling beat 'em up action and RPG implementation is perfect. The characters all have their unique appeal and most importantly, this game is FUN.

    If you have fond memories of Renegade on the Spectrum, Double Dragon and/or Final Fight on Coin-Op and even later, well made side scrolling fighters, then Dragon's Crown will really do it for you. Even younger gamers, who have no idea what Double Dragon is, will love the simple depth and pick-up-and-play quality. It's pretty much the ultimate culmination of years of RPG side scrolling action all rolled into one superb package.

    I've heard quite a lot of talk surrounding performance on the Vita. I've not seen any drop in frame rate (and I'm a stickler for smooth gameplay) although I only play through the game on my own or with one AI companion. So yes, off or online with three other companions is no doubt the reason behind slowdown. Like I say, I play mostly alone and besides, I think four characters together on the Vita screen would be too much going on anyway. I play with one or two and that's how I like it. Silky smooth.

    The good thing about the Vita version (if you're pondering the Vita or PS3 version due to NO cross-buy) is the excellent touch screen feature. Yes, a game that actually makes good use of what is usually considered a gimmick. In Dragon's Crown, it's perfectly intuitive to touch the screen here and there to send your rogue off to open treasure chests and doors whilst you thrash the enemy. On the PS3, you have to use the right stick and, although not a bad thing, it feels clumsy compared to the quick and easy Vita version. As well as that, the Vita touch controls work well in most areas of the game. Also, in my opinion, the style of Dragon's Crown suits the handheld more than the big screen. Pick it up, put it down, pick it up, put it down.

    Although, saying that, Dragon's Crown is the only Vita game I've played that draws me in so much I've spent hours playing in one sitting. To want to sit and play at home when I've got a PS3 and gaming PC and spend hours at a time playing a handheld game is very high praise indeed.

    I don't like to give 10/10 for anything, because nothing is perfect, but considering the Vita library and the simple fact that Dragon's Crown is hard to put down, a top score is justified.

    Outstanding handheld gaming.
    Collapse
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    It only took about 1 hour of game-play to get completely HOOKED on this game. It's so difficult to find a single flaw with this game!!!!!It only took about 1 hour of game-play to get completely HOOKED on this game. It's so difficult to find a single flaw with this game!!!!!

    If someone wanted to buy a vita SOLELY for the ps4 remote play, THIS GAME SHOULD BE REQUIRED AS WELL! It's just too awesome.
    Expand
  4. Dec 15, 2013
    9
    This game is cool, if oyu like old style brawlers and if you will like the graphics style. And, of course, you need 2-3 friends to play with,This game is cool, if oyu like old style brawlers and if you will like the graphics style. And, of course, you need 2-3 friends to play with, because it is hard to find any players if you are a new player. The loot system is nice, random generated (this is my thought, through..) items, so you have to choose from. 6 classes, every is different, you will spend a lot time on each of it. The story is simple, and you do not have to waste a lot of time to understand what does the authors want to say to you.

    bad parts:

    *you need friends to play with, cause after 20+ lvl AI heroes do stupid things, sometimes )
    *when on screen too much players, magic, monsters... you can't understand where are you, and what is going on at all, i'm doing double jump or something to just see my hero in situations like this.
    Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    Dragon's Crown will probably end up being my game of the year. Amazing art direction and aesthetic, super fun gameplay, decently high skillDragon's Crown will probably end up being my game of the year. Amazing art direction and aesthetic, super fun gameplay, decently high skill ceiling (at least for Elf), and a God-tier soundtrack. My only complaint is similar to that of other Vanillaware games... not enough content. Admittedly I've played the game for ~55 hours so far and haven't felt this to be an issue, but I can see how it would be for some. The randomized Labyrinth of Chaos end-game dungeon definitely alleviates this complaint to a degree, but you have to play through the first 9 stages/18 paths quite a few times before unlocking it fully.

    The Vita version has a few ups and downs compared to the PS3 version. The touch functionality for unlocking chests and doors/finding sparklies in the background is definitely superior to the PS3's cursor method; however, the Vita version has more areas with FPS slowdown. If you're an Elf it's also worth noting that it's a bit more difficult to find arrows lying on the ground on Vita's smaller screen.
    Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2014
    9
    Arcade style hack n' slash is brought back with a gorgeous art style and deep RPG elements. Collecting loot and slaying monsters in fourArcade style hack n' slash is brought back with a gorgeous art style and deep RPG elements. Collecting loot and slaying monsters in four player co-op is a blast and the game provides plenty of fun as a single-player experience as well. The wealth of content is sure to keep you coming back time and time again.

    There are plenty of side-quests and some great post-game content. Some things can come off as a grind, but overall the excellent action kept me very engaged. Speaking of the action the gorgeous art style leads to every fight exploding with color. It's a sight to behold even if you can lose track of your character in all the madness. Also the overly-sexualized appearances of all the female characters is sure to offend some. However I don't see why that would detract from how fantastic the gameplay is.

    It's an excellent combination of old-school gameplay with modern improvements. The co-op and the large amount of content is sure to keep you coming back. It's the type of game I would like to see more of in the future.
    Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2015
    3
    This game was really a disappointment. I was excited to try it out after seeing the reviews, but once I started playing, i realized this wasThis game was really a disappointment. I was excited to try it out after seeing the reviews, but once I started playing, i realized this was all about grinding. You're encouraged to keep going back to the same stages you've played through multiple times to level up enough to continue. And the fighting itself is doesn't work - because the screen has so many people/enemies at any one time, you just find yourself spamming buttons. Looks good but plays very blandly. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers