Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dungeon Hunter Alliance is the first action RPG game for the Vita that immerses you in a unique online multiplayer experience. Face the world of Gothicus and its hordes of evil creatures solo or in teams of up to four heroes. Test your skills in the main quest or numerous side quests as you explore the gothic universe. Push evil back to the depths of hell and put an end to the destructive ambitions of a tyrannical Queen... who was once your beloved. [Sony] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 34
  2. Negative: 10 out of 34
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    67
    A long and fun game, albeit one with a lack of properly executed back touch features and filled with graphical mediocrity. Skipping this will not make your heart skip a beat – we promise.
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    60
    The Vita version of Dungeon Hunter: Alliance is a fine Diablo clone, but a lack of ambition and a high price hold it back on the platform.
  3. Apr 21, 2012
    60
    The hack 'n slash role playing game Dungeon Hunter Alliance is a lot cheaper on other platforms, and for that reason alone not recommendable for purchase on a PS Vita. From a gameplay perspective, this isn't a bad game, but it doesn't shine anywhere either.
  4. Feb 24, 2012
    50
    Solid dungeon crawler action is held back by monotonous game play and a cluttered loot system, but most of all a price point at $40 that is more than double the PSN price for virtually the same game.
  5. Mar 29, 2012
    50
    Clearly not one of the best launch games for PS Vita, Dungeon Hunter: Alliance is just a poor dungeon crawler with lots of glitches and technical problems.
  6. It's so ugly that your Vita will likely look embarrassed at having to play it. [Apr 2012, p.115]
  7. Feb 22, 2012
    20
    Compared to some of the games that it has decided to price itself against, Dungeon Hunter: Alliance looks absolutely pitiful. Sitting this next to Uncharted, Army Corps of Hell or even Ubisoft's own Lumines, exposes Alliance for the cheap, nasty, outdated and outclassed little con job that it is. Expensive at a quarter of the price, this embarrassing waste of space has no business pretending to be a full retail game.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    when I heard all of the negative reviews about this game I almost passed it up. I took a chance an picked it up. I noticed it was not that easy to find and a few friends of mine told me the game is awesome and it had 4 player multiplayer as well as a single player campaign and when I first played the game it reminded me of Diablo game story is a little generic but the gameplay is amazing if your a Dungeon hunter freak and have to collect the best loot this game is for you. all and all if the story was a little more complex it would of scored better with reviewers. Expand
  2. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Definitely not the best game for PS Vita but one of the good ones. Can be repetitive sometimes and you use same mechanics to defeat most of your opponents... but on the other hand this is the only dungeon crawler on PSV, and somehow can be very addictive. This game is one of the few I have spent most of the time playing on the vita (also Gravity Rush, Lumines, Super Stardus). Very decent graphics and sound. Worth playing especially with the price where it is now. Deserves very strong 7.5 or 8 (marked 10 to pull up its score) Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    I think that people downvoiting this game made a big mistake. I put 10 just to correct a little bit a score. My general score is 7/10 because of the fps drop. But game mostly runs smoothly. Every hackslash person who likes diablo, fable, torchlight and other arpgs would love this. It's a mix between torchlight and d2(3). A lot of loot, nice system, enemies are abundant. It's excellent on the go to kill few monsters. I haven't tested MP, because i don't like to play that way. Items are various and useful in some build or order. Drops are abundant, which makes you look into your inventory fairly often (which i like despite other reviews). Everything has it's category and it's easy to compare items with one equiped. For me, this is perfect, a must have for vita system. One more thing: PRICE!!! I payed 15€ for the game, and im happy with that. Do not play something weird, because over 15€ it is really a waste of money. Game value is not more than that. It is what it is. Expand
  4. May 25, 2012
    8
    I bought this game just to get some kind of RPG experience on the Vita and I was quite suprised. the game runs very well with great presentation. It's not as crisp as I would have hoped but it does look good. The 3 character classes require very different strategies to use and there is a lot of loot to pick up. The online play worked very well for me doing dungeons with 3 other people. The only negative really is that the price is too high considering it is cheaper on the PSN for PS3 but apart from that I thought it was a decent game. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    7
    Despite the lack of character customisation,this title is fairly good for a simple and quite basic dungeon crawler.A standard,and therefore forgettable, fantasy story aside,DH:A is almost a trip down memory lane except on a handheld.But it's a far cry from todays Diablos and Torchlights. Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    I'm normally a hard taskmaster when it comes to rating aRPG's, but I do feel that the magazine reviews so far for this game are a little unjust. The game is NOT a direct port of the PS3 or the mobile version and has been improved and expanded somewhat for the Vita. Sure, it isn't exactly inspiring, but I've played worse attempts in this genre on the PC and other formats........................... Graphically the game is fine and looks nice on the new Vita screen, and the gameplay is standard hack'n'slash fare which works fine. Its all about dungeon crawling and loot with these games, and DH has plenty.....................I actually picked this game instead of Unchartered when choosing my bundle for release and I don't regret it as I am still enjoying it. I give it 7/10 but if it was out of 100 it would score 75. Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2012
    4
    Visually it's acceptable for a PSP release, but I don't think it's good enough to be a Vita game. Nothing stood out, which I think for the RPG genre it really needs to be something special. On a personal note, I found it very disappointing that it's a port of the same game...but it's more expensive for the Vita. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews