Dustforce PlayStation Vita

Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. There’s a mega-compulsive core to Dustforce, but a desperate polish of the Vita controls is needed for the platforming to truly shine like it deserves.
  2. games(TM)
    Mar 12, 2014
    70
    Dustforce does itself no favours for having such a grim outlook, but when a game offers this much challenge it's easy to brush such criticisms under the carpet. [Issue#145, p.123]
  3. Feb 21, 2014
    70
    Multiplayer aside, Dustforce remains a delightful platformer that is both soothing and stressful.
  4. Feb 17, 2014
    70
    Dustforce is a hard shell platformer that doesn't always give to the player all the necessary tools to beat it, mostly due to some unresponsive controls. If trial and error is your bread and butter, and you're not afraid of frustration, this is the game for you.
  5. Feb 4, 2014
    70
    Dustforce can often be frustrating, but its well-designed levels elicit a sense of flow that can make Dustforce incredibly satisfying. Dustforce will make you angry, but if you're prepared to put the time in to learn its levels, Dustforce will give you something back.
  6. Feb 25, 2014
    60
    It is not every day that we play a videogame with a broom in hand, so this is an interesting and different proposition, frustrating yes, but at the same time ultra-challenging and fun, particularly on PlayStation Vita.
  7. Feb 18, 2014
    60
    Dustforce is a very enjoyable game for the most part, but its later levels suck the entertainment out of the experience, as it becomes little more than an exercise in anger management.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Apr 8, 2014
    6
    The game has a lot of promise but is let down by very clunky controls. For a game that relies on crisp smooth controls it falls flat on it'sThe game has a lot of promise but is let down by very clunky controls. For a game that relies on crisp smooth controls it falls flat on it's face. If you like challenging fast paced 2D platformers this game is for you but be prepared to be frustrated with the controls. Full Review »
  2. Mar 13, 2014
    5
    The game looks great, and has an original premise, but $#!* the controls are absolutely horrible!

    I love a good challenge... I trekked
    The game looks great, and has an original premise, but $#!* the controls are absolutely horrible!

    I love a good challenge... I trekked through the original Ninja Gaiden for Xbox, and have replayed it numerous times, but there's a HUGE difference between a game that's hard because it was designed that way, and a game that's hard (and frustrating) because the character WON'T DO what I ask them to do! Very annoying.

    Hopefully I'll be able to put aside my annoyance and finish this game. I'm optimistic that the end will be worth the trouble.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 10, 2014
    8
    Great game that works best on PS Vita. Some controlling is tough but the animation makes it up for it. Storyline..well there isn't really one,Great game that works best on PS Vita. Some controlling is tough but the animation makes it up for it. Storyline..well there isn't really one, or isn't that great. This game is just a fun game that can at times makes you want to throw your PS Vita across the room, which is a sign of a good/hard game. 8/10. Full Review »