Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
Buy On
  1. May 9, 2012
    80
    For purists, newbies or even those just looking to try a Warriors title again, Next is definitely worthy of being the next game booted up in your Vita.
  2. Apr 10, 2012
    82
    The PS Vita features have been implemented so well that this is a must have title.
  3. 85
    A great rendition of an old IP by using the functionality of the PS Vita in the best ways.
  4. Mar 20, 2012
    77
    Dynasty Warriors Next is an exclusive that convinces for its completeness and longevity. The older fans will find again all the features they loved from the first chapter; the newcomers will discover more than an interesting hack n' slash game.
  5. Mar 6, 2012
    85
    Dynasty Warriors Next was the second title that I got to experience on the Vita and I have to say I'm thoroughly impressed with this mobile offering. At its heart is the same old combat that fans love, but there is enough added Vita supported functions to make Dynasty Warriors Next the new evolution in large scale combat on the small screen.
  6. Mar 2, 2012
    75
    It won't change the opinions of those who despise the series or adore it, but for those on the fence, don't be surprised if you are hooked after a rental.
  7. Feb 28, 2012
    75
    Those who have never bought into the series will not be blown away by the new additions. Those who love the games will enjoy this one as well, even with some touchscreen missteps.
  8. 75
    The addition of various Vita technology adds to gameplay, rather than detracting and feeling forced on you. Yes, the combat is mostly repetitive, and yes, the graphics are nothing to write home about. But with plenty of items to collect and various strategies to try before going into battle, Omega Force has made some significant changes that change up the monotony of battle.
  9. Feb 22, 2012
    80
    It works as both a cathartically satisfying hack-and-slash on the easier difficulties, and a surprisingly thoughtful action-based strategy game on the higher levels.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    I know this game is going to get bashed for being more of the same...and i have always loved the series for what it is...a button masher. TheI know this game is going to get bashed for being more of the same...and i have always loved the series for what it is...a button masher. The inclusion of touch screens is nice and gives you some different things to do (ambushes, duels...etc). If you want something mindless and running around chopping people up this is a fun entertaining game. THe graphics are crisper than the console version, but typical problems as far as draw distance and pop up of enemies. Also it feels the camera is to close...be nice if it could zoom out more. Full Review »
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    3
    This is a repetitive, boring and overall a poor game . The first five seconds of playing the fantastically boring game that is DynastyThis is a repetitive, boring and overall a poor game . The first five seconds of playing the fantastically boring game that is Dynasty Warriors Next is the exactly the same as the following hour, and the one after that, and the one after that, and the one after that... Full Review »
  3. Apr 24, 2013
    7
    I was surprised when I bought and enjoyed it till the end. The story between the three kingdoms was pretty enjoyable. The graphics look superbI was surprised when I bought and enjoyed it till the end. The story between the three kingdoms was pretty enjoyable. The graphics look superb on the PS vita and and there is addition of the touch screen controls. But i felt some were forced on players but most of them were pretty cool such as a alternative touch screen specials.The story progresses between the 3 kingdoms Wu, Shu, and Wei who are at war. There are many characters to choose from but some might be clones of others. The game play is pretty fun and I found myself enjoying the game but at some moments i felt the game was repetitive. I felt like the game could have added a more variety in maps such weather effects. There are many different tactics a player can take which is different from other dynasty games. This time around players can takes over certain forts that can have different results in the game. You can also control some allies that follow you a around and you can tell them to attack or defend certain points. In conclusion, this dynasty warrior port is a warm welcome to the PS vita library. Full Review »