User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 63
  2. Negative: 6 out of 63

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    I know this game is going to get bashed for being more of the same...and i have always loved the series for what it is...a button masher. The inclusion of touch screens is nice and gives you some different things to do (ambushes, duels...etc). If you want something mindless and running around chopping people up this is a fun entertaining game. THe graphics are crisper than the console version, but typical problems as far as draw distance and pop up of enemies. Also it feels the camera is to close...be nice if it could zoom out more. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    3
    This is a repetitive, boring and overall a poor game . The first five seconds of playing the fantastically boring game that is Dynasty Warriors Next is the exactly the same as the following hour, and the one after that, and the one after that, and the one after that...
  3. Feb 25, 2012
    6
    Loads of action packed in it but is not really an ideal action game if you have a Vita. There are many other games better than this one. But it's a good game if you played the previous Dynasty Warriors games
  4. Apr 24, 2013
    7
    I was surprised when I bought and enjoyed it till the end. The story between the three kingdoms was pretty enjoyable. The graphics look superb on the PS vita and and there is addition of the touch screen controls. But i felt some were forced on players but most of them were pretty cool such as a alternative touch screen specials.The story progresses between the 3 kingdoms Wu, Shu, and Wei who are at war. There are many characters to choose from but some might be clones of others. The game play is pretty fun and I found myself enjoying the game but at some moments i felt the game was repetitive. I felt like the game could have added a more variety in maps such weather effects. There are many different tactics a player can take which is different from other dynasty games. This time around players can takes over certain forts that can have different results in the game. You can also control some allies that follow you a around and you can tell them to attack or defend certain points. In conclusion, this dynasty warrior port is a warm welcome to the PS vita library. Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2012
    9
    Any game that has been ported to the Vita should deserve a good review. The graphics are actually really nice and although its the same usual dynasty game it does feel way awesome on the Vita. 4 Player Co-Op too? Come on that's freaking awesome compared to just 2 players. Plus you can't use the touch feature on the console. All in all if you've played the game on your console...think about playing it on the go. Money well spent if I do say so myself. Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2012
    8
    If you own a vita and are a fan of hack and slash games you can't go wrong with dynasty warriors next. Dynasty warriors next is a game based on dynasty warrior 7 a game that came out on ps3 and 360 which is in turn based on the story of romance of the three kingdom. The game uses touch controls to take advantage of the vita functionality. The game is a hack and slash game that has over 60 playable characters. Graphically the game really impresses this is easily the best looking koei game on a portable devices it's a huge graphical leap from samurai warriors on 3ds. It looks almost identical to the ps3 version especially the character models which are very detailed on the vita's beautiful screen. A lot of the music in this game is reused from dynasty warrior 7 which is great because that game had a great soundtrack and the new music added just for this game all sound great. The voice acting is also top notch. Fans of dynasty warriors games should have a good idea of what they are getting themselves into and the touch controls add a little variety to the experience but at it's core it's still a dynasty warriors game. The story mode alone could last you 20-30 hours and the game has more modes like conquest and create a character can definitively increase the play time for those who are into that stuff. It's a great that i definitely recommend and i hope we see another koei game on the vita. Expand
  7. May 25, 2012
    9
    The DW series doesn't really do innovation but this port onto the Vita is spectacular. The graphics are better than the console IMO. The details on the characters is fantastic. The game is played in a DW empires fashion and the story will progress as it should giving you the chance to help your army with strategies. The conquest mode will let you choose your characters to conquer china and the edit mode returns. There are also mini games to do as well which take advantage of the Vitas features. There is a lot of content here and a lot of hours to be had with the game. For any DW fan this is a must buy. Expand
  8. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    Dynasty Warriors next brings you great hack n slash gameplay fused with touchscreen mechanics to create an all around fun experience (handheld or not). While most critics have ragged on Next for it's implementation of touch screen mechanics, I've personally found them to be quite adaptable, and all around pretty fun. Gameplay is smooth and load times are practically non-existent, which I find amazing coming from a portable device. The characters are well designed and look great, when compared side by side to a title like Samurai Warriors Chronicles for the 3DS it becomes obvious which system creates a better visual display. My biggest complaint with Next is the layout of it's campaign, which is akin to a DW Legends title. Rather than being story and task driven, the main objective in and out of missions is simply to conquer every base and eventually take out the enemies main camp. While this does become repetitive, the ability to change up characters is always a nice option. All in all, Dynasty Warriors Next is a far better game then most critics have given it credit for. If you are a DW fan and you happen to pick up the Vita, you will not be disappointed with this title. Expand
  9. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    This is my first Dynasty Warriors game so I cannot comment on whether DWN is simply more of the same. What I can say is that the gameplay is a ton of fun. Going into a battle playing as one character and wiping out an army of 1000 by yourself is very satisfying. It gives you a sense of power not seen in many other games. Outside of battles, you are constantly conquering nearby kingdoms which also gives a sense of greatness. I find the touch and motion controls of the Vita are done well. They are mostly used in mini-games that breakup the hack and slash action of the main battles. I would say because of these new features in Dynasty Warriors Next, even veteran players will find it somewhat original. There are a couple of things about this game which I don't like. The first is the uniformity of your officers comments during the battles. It would have helped if the developers had added more variety to what they say. Second, the story can get a bit confusing because there are so many characters. Also, key plot points often occur during a battle which the player can easily miss because they are focused on fighting the enemy. Perhaps the game's narrator could have repeated these key plot developments after the battle was finished. All in all, these are minor complaints which don't take that much away from a superb game. Expand
  10. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Boring. Repetitive. Overused. These adjectives are thrown around a lot when people are describing Dynasty Warriors: Next. The Dynasty Warriors series generally stay pretty formulaic, you go into a large area and slaughter everyone in it mindlessly until the numbers for the enemy go down to zero and a large gold "Victory" spreads across the screen. Yet none of this should scare anyone away, whether you are a long standing Dynasty Warriors fan or not. This Vita title brings some new ideas to the table for those of you that are veterans of the series. The battles now have mini game like touch sections, that can range from fun, to a boring distraction. Yet, even the ones that are boring only last ten to fifteen seconds, so they hardly interrupt the gameplay. In addition, there is now regenerating health. I personally like this change to the gameplay, but purists might not. Now there is really no need for the health pick ups (which are for some reason still in the game) but besides that, the formula stays tried and true, with some minor improvements made. Now, if you are new to the series, you will almost certainly love this game, as long as you are a fan of action games. In this game you will spend about 95 percent of your time, tearing everything around you to pieces, and it's a blast. I love running out into the middle of a fight and pulling off some slick combos that destroy a hundred enemies that made the mistake of standing around me. The game play can feel a little button mashy at times, but that is easily remedied if you just look at home many people you are killing. Graphically the game is stunning, it looks almost exactly like the console games, and the slow down is rare, and will only pop up for a couple minutes after several hours of playing the game straight. Yet the most amazing part of this game is the value, this game can be purchased for about thirty dollars at some places now, and i personally have gotten over 50 hours out of this game, and it is still in my Vita as I write this. The campaign is good, but the conquest mode, which plays like a simplified version of Risk, is the best. With battles that range from 5-10 min and light strategy eliments, you are almost sure to get hooked on this mode. The final things that i will say about this game are that it is as addictive of a game that i have played in a very long time, and if you are a Vita owner, than you have no reason to miss it. Expand
  11. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    Lets be honest, the Dynasty Warriors series isn't the cornerstone of innovation, but the games are great, and this Vita port is no exception, with easy controls, a variety of play styles a decent campaign that lasts a good time, Dynasty Warriors Next is a great Dynasty Warriors.

    Obviously, a game is not without its cons, a few new introductions such as the duels can become rather
    irritating after having one every match, sometimes very pace breaking and feeling more like an interruption than a conclusion.

    the performance of NEXT is a strong point, the game will allow you to wade your sword through thousands without a frame drop, and the character designs are creative and attractive, and that's what we expect from Dynasty Warriors.
    Expand
  12. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    love the dynasty warrior games and this is no exception, it is a game I can take on the go which make it even better with new things that are not on the console games, this was a must get for me and I am glad I go it
  13. May 30, 2014
    10
    I've never played a Dynasty Warriors game before this one, but I really enjoyed this game. It has amazing graphics and good controls that use almost every feature that the Vita has (The touchscreen, the rear pad and the motion controls). I highly recommend to get it. I love it.
  14. Oct 10, 2014
    10
    If you hate the WARRIORS franchise then you shouldn't be reading this review. As far as the Warriors titles go, this is one of the best. It has a lengthy story, an empire mode-esque conquest mode and many extras. The graphics are gorgeous, the music is okay, and the gameplay is solid. Also the voice acting is as delightfully terrible as always.(Don't worry, they're all like this.) With the ability to create your character and play many different modes, this game is deserving of a high score.
    10!
    Expand
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. May 9, 2012
    80
    For purists, newbies or even those just looking to try a Warriors title again, Next is definitely worthy of being the next game booted up in your Vita.
  2. Apr 13, 2012
    70
    Its title suggests big changes to the formula that just aren't here, but Dynasty Warriors NEXT will appease series veterans who just want to have a copy of their favourite franchise anywhere they go.
  3. You're still mindlessly hacking 'n' slashing your way through clones, but now you'll also engage in mini-games that use the gyro and touchscreen in very inelegant ways. [April 2012, p80]