Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this Tactical Action game players can enjoy the thrill of taking down thousands of enemies and become the greatest hero in Chinese history.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. 85
    A great rendition of an old IP by using the functionality of the PS Vita in the best ways.
  2. Feb 22, 2012
    80
    It works as both a cathartically satisfying hack-and-slash on the easier difficulties, and a surprisingly thoughtful action-based strategy game on the higher levels.
  3. 75
    The addition of various Vita technology adds to gameplay, rather than detracting and feeling forced on you. Yes, the combat is mostly repetitive, and yes, the graphics are nothing to write home about. But with plenty of items to collect and various strategies to try before going into battle, Omega Force has made some significant changes that change up the monotony of battle.
  4. Apr 4, 2012
    69
    Some neat touches shake things up, but it's still the same old hack'n'slash formula. [May 2012, p.103]
  5. Feb 24, 2012
    68
    Does Dynasty Warriors Next deliver a new gaming experience? Not at all. But with all the added Vita-elements the arcade character of the infamous mass brawler reaches new heights, which might just be what this franchise needs.
  6. Mar 27, 2012
    60
    The same old song, even though in a flashy new dress. Still not enough to gain more than a sufficiency.
  7. Feb 22, 2012
    50
    Dynasty Warriors Plus comes with new touch-based diversions, but they don't prevent this entry from being the same old button masher.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Oct 10, 2014
    10
    If you hate the WARRIORS franchise then you shouldn't be reading this review. As far as the Warriors titles go, this is one of the best. ItIf you hate the WARRIORS franchise then you shouldn't be reading this review. As far as the Warriors titles go, this is one of the best. It has a lengthy story, an empire mode-esque conquest mode and many extras. The graphics are gorgeous, the music is okay, and the gameplay is solid. Also the voice acting is as delightfully terrible as always.(Don't worry, they're all like this.) With the ability to create your character and play many different modes, this game is deserving of a high score.
    10!
    Expand
  2. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    love the dynasty warrior games and this is no exception, it is a game I can take on the go which make it even better with new things that arelove the dynasty warrior games and this is no exception, it is a game I can take on the go which make it even better with new things that are not on the console games, this was a must get for me and I am glad I go it Expand
  3. May 30, 2014
    10
    I've never played a Dynasty Warriors game before this one, but I really enjoyed this game. It has amazing graphics and good controls that useI've never played a Dynasty Warriors game before this one, but I really enjoyed this game. It has amazing graphics and good controls that use almost every feature that the Vita has (The touchscreen, the rear pad and the motion controls). I highly recommend to get it. I love it. Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    Dynasty Warriors next brings you great hack n slash gameplay fused with touchscreen mechanics to create an all around fun experience (handheldDynasty Warriors next brings you great hack n slash gameplay fused with touchscreen mechanics to create an all around fun experience (handheld or not). While most critics have ragged on Next for it's implementation of touch screen mechanics, I've personally found them to be quite adaptable, and all around pretty fun. Gameplay is smooth and load times are practically non-existent, which I find amazing coming from a portable device. The characters are well designed and look great, when compared side by side to a title like Samurai Warriors Chronicles for the 3DS it becomes obvious which system creates a better visual display. My biggest complaint with Next is the layout of it's campaign, which is akin to a DW Legends title. Rather than being story and task driven, the main objective in and out of missions is simply to conquer every base and eventually take out the enemies main camp. While this does become repetitive, the ability to change up characters is always a nice option. All in all, Dynasty Warriors Next is a far better game then most critics have given it credit for. If you are a DW fan and you happen to pick up the Vita, you will not be disappointed with this title. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    I know this game is going to get bashed for being more of the same...and i have always loved the series for what it is...a button masher. TheI know this game is going to get bashed for being more of the same...and i have always loved the series for what it is...a button masher. The inclusion of touch screens is nice and gives you some different things to do (ambushes, duels...etc). If you want something mindless and running around chopping people up this is a fun entertaining game. THe graphics are crisper than the console version, but typical problems as far as draw distance and pop up of enemies. Also it feels the camera is to close...be nice if it could zoom out more. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    This is my first Dynasty Warriors game so I cannot comment on whether DWN is simply more of the same. What I can say is that the gameplay isThis is my first Dynasty Warriors game so I cannot comment on whether DWN is simply more of the same. What I can say is that the gameplay is a ton of fun. Going into a battle playing as one character and wiping out an army of 1000 by yourself is very satisfying. It gives you a sense of power not seen in many other games. Outside of battles, you are constantly conquering nearby kingdoms which also gives a sense of greatness. I find the touch and motion controls of the Vita are done well. They are mostly used in mini-games that breakup the hack and slash action of the main battles. I would say because of these new features in Dynasty Warriors Next, even veteran players will find it somewhat original. There are a couple of things about this game which I don't like. The first is the uniformity of your officers comments during the battles. It would have helped if the developers had added more variety to what they say. Second, the story can get a bit confusing because there are so many characters. Also, key plot points often occur during a battle which the player can easily miss because they are focused on fighting the enemy. Perhaps the game's narrator could have repeated these key plot developments after the battle was finished. All in all, these are minor complaints which don't take that much away from a superb game. Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2012
    3
    This is a repetitive, boring and overall a poor game . The first five seconds of playing the fantastically boring game that is DynastyThis is a repetitive, boring and overall a poor game . The first five seconds of playing the fantastically boring game that is Dynasty Warriors Next is the exactly the same as the following hour, and the one after that, and the one after that, and the one after that... Expand

See all 14 User Reviews