Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The completely remastered Earth Defense Force 2017 Portable features seven new levels and the fan favorite Pale Wing, which allows players to soar high over buildings in her jet pack and cause destruction from above.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Feb 8, 2013
    91
    All that said, I got a lot of enjoyment out of the EDF 2017 Portable. What's more, I expect to continue to get lots of enjoyment out of it into the future. From that point of view, it's hard to argue that the game isn't worthwhile. So if you don't mind paying a slightly steep premium to get some building-destroying, bug-blasting fun on your handheld, then take the plunge and download this game immediately.
  2. Jan 24, 2013
    80
    The biggest issue here, sadly, is the price. When this launched on Xbox 360, its faults could be excused not only by its big heart but also by its small price-tag: at £25, the original was a budget game in both outlook and its impact on your wallet. So why, well over five years later, is the Vita version being sold full-price at £34.99?
  3. Jan 20, 2013
    75
    Under an almost PS2 visuals, there's a great game. It's extremely fun and addictive, and if you missed its original release on Xbox 360, you can grab this version that adds new levels and enemies, and even a new character that will give a twist to its gameplay. Don't let the graphics mislead you.
  4. Jan 24, 2013
    70
    Still feels fresh, inspired and unlike anything else. No other developer has bothered to make something like it - a rarity in the video game space. Earth Defense Force 2017 is still the only game for destroying giant bugs and office complexes - blemishes and all.
  5. Jan 22, 2013
    69
    An extremely simple arcade shooter that has a good amount of technical issues but, at the same time, offers an engaging co-op multiplayer mode.
  6. Jan 30, 2013
    65
    The biggest flaw in EDF (other than graphics and gameplay) is the pricing. Charging more for a six year old game than you did on release is a tough sell for something so clearly rooted in the "budget" category from Day 1.
  7. Feb 6, 2013
    40
    When I started Earth Defense Force 2017 Portable, I was looking forward to a charming, if uninspired, shooter for on-the-go action. What I found was just the uninspired part. Fans of the series will certainly find a lot to love, but the uninitiated should steer clear. As playable games go, Sandlot and D3 have packed plenty of gameplay in, but the charm quickly fades and all your left with is more invading ants.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jan 21, 2015
    9
    This was a game practically made for a handheld platform. Reminiscent of the cheesy early 90s' movies about giant-insect alien invasions,weThis was a game practically made for a handheld platform. Reminiscent of the cheesy early 90s' movies about giant-insect alien invasions,we have Earth Defense 2017, a third person shooter brought to us by D3 Publisher, based in LA, California. EDF 17' is the third game in the series, the first two were released on Xbox 360,the third was then ported over to PS Vita,which is rare,but welcome.

    (For more info about D3 Publisher click HERE!)

    The game puts us in Japan (surprise,surprise), in the year 2017, the human race has made contact (via radio waves) with alien life. The EDF is assembled,sponsored by every nation on earth,equipped with state of the art weaponry, and positioned on-ground just in case there is a hostile threat,which there is. You are the Captain of team "Storm 1", the helmet-wearing nameless leader of the main EDF division. Your team is reguarded as the best and always the first to respond to the various alien threats.

    There are two main control schemes in the game: Advanced and Basic. In my experience,for some reason, "advanced" is easier to use than "Basic" (which is odd) but advanced provides far more freedom of movement and more options for the character. Typical arcade shooter controls: left stick moves our guy on his feet, right stick determines direction. Turn sensitivity can (and should) be adjusted for optimal performance,via settings menu. With the exception of 4 DLC guns, which are free, weapons are of the "procure on-site" variety, which means whatever the enemies "drop" after defeat,is up for grabs!. This is worth keeping track of however,as there are over 100+ weapons available in the game,as well as a trophy for discovering them all!

    In addition to guns there are also 4 vehicles available for use in most maps (marked as yellow on maps), tanks,attack choppers, gun-equipped motorbikes, and "mechs". I found the tanks to be of the most use,power and durability wise, with the bikes being fast but weak and the choppers & mechs being strong,but too slow.
    EDF could not have been made in any other format other than "open-world". Graphics are sharp,well done,reminds me of GTA 3,only with less cars and more giant bugs. They didn't skimp on the playable area of the game. Of course,at some point,you will hit a "barrier" you can't go beyond,but it's organic,like a visible gate/fence. In any event, you won't get there by accident. I would suggest grabbing a bike or chopper if you want to check out the full scale of the landscape. It's easy to kill civilians and fellow soldiers with "friendly fire" if you are not careful (they are not as durable as you) so take consideration when using a missle/rocket launcher,or any grenades. The AI soldiers will seem useless early on but as the aliens get tougher you will need that extra RPG backup. You can only equip two weapons per mission, so choose wisely.
    Audio quality is where things get dicey for the EDF. Sure, you can hear everything going on, there's even a sense of depth, what's far,what's close by. But far as what you CAN hear will vary from: alien bugs making the exact same noise upon getting killed, soldiers often repeating themselves,or talking over each other...only to say the exact same thing. But this is a problem that can be easily remedied by turning the voice volumes down,or off completely.
    Like most Japanese games this one goes a bit long,there's over 50 levels,which equals tons of replay value once you factor in the weapons which are difficulty-level exclusive,as well as the second playable character "Pale Wing" who is only available after you complete the game. You may be "defending the earth" for quite some time!

    Good: Fun story
    Arcade-style gameplay
    Open World
    Use of vehicles

    Bad: Weak ally AI
    Bad voice acting
    (like a Japanese movie poorly dubbed in English,even though it's funny to listen to)

    Note: As of this time this review was published, I have not yet been able to find an active online session to join,so I wasn't able to review the quality of the online co-op/multiplayer experience, but as of now the servers are still up!, so if you have friends who own this game,get a little "EDF" community going online!
    Expand
  2. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    its the b movie of video games, i may just love it for that reason alone. But with the very long campaign, the decent graphics for a portableits the b movie of video games, i may just love it for that reason alone. But with the very long campaign, the decent graphics for a portable game, and hundreds of guns to unlock, this game was well worth my money, and my time. Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2014
    8
    that one simple game of blowing s*it up in future style with the exception of monsters invading? welcome to this game! the gameplay is roughthat one simple game of blowing s*it up in future style with the exception of monsters invading? welcome to this game! the gameplay is rough with the exception of good combat...barely any story to me...its worthy of it being a vita game since the experience wouldn't be the same on consoles. touchscreen sometimes comes into play. this game is ok and worth waiting for if your iffy about it. its a great game in my opinion thou so...8/10 Expand
  4. Jan 21, 2013
    8
    Crazy and exhilarating... the fps down sometimes bugged me but it's okay though... I screamed like crazy while playing.. mostly when it'sCrazy and exhilarating... the fps down sometimes bugged me but it's okay though... I screamed like crazy while playing.. mostly when it's spider part.. Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2013
    8
    YOU LIKE DEATH? THEN DIE!!! Man, I love this game. Sure the "graphics" are poor (even when compared to its xbox 360 counterpart) The "polish"YOU LIKE DEATH? THEN DIE!!! Man, I love this game. Sure the "graphics" are poor (even when compared to its xbox 360 counterpart) The "polish" is lackluster, and the animations are laughably stiff, if you resonate on the same level as this game, you'll have a blast. When a giant horde of bouncing alien spiders outnumbering you 1000 to one is slowly and mercilessly bounding your way, and all you have is a rocket launcher to literally "launch" the aliens hundreds of feet, the awesomeness indescribable. If you've always wanted to play a ridiculously silly old school Japanese monster/invasion movie in video game form look no further. Come for the sillyness and camp, stay for the addictive gameplay. But, be a little weary of the repetitiveness. Also, the addition of a new character and fully functioning online coop over the xbox 360 version is fantastic and gives the game a lot of staying power. On a side note, the bite sized nature of the missions is perfectly suited for online play. Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    nice and hectic multiplayer 3d shooter !
    coop play was very popular in japan and always fun.
    messaging during the game makes this a slightly
    nice and hectic multiplayer 3d shooter !
    coop play was very popular in japan and always fun.
    messaging during the game makes this a slightly crazy experience 'edf edf !!'
    also nice that you have tons of weopons and a special jetpack character to
    unlock.
    in the last level the graphics can get a bit choppy. really fun game!
    Collapse