Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The completely remastered Earth Defense Force 2017 Portable features seven new levels and the fan favorite Pale Wing, which allows players to soar high over buildings in her jet pack and cause destruction from above.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Feb 8, 2013
    91
    All that said, I got a lot of enjoyment out of the EDF 2017 Portable. What's more, I expect to continue to get lots of enjoyment out of it into the future. From that point of view, it's hard to argue that the game isn't worthwhile. So if you don't mind paying a slightly steep premium to get some building-destroying, bug-blasting fun on your handheld, then take the plunge and download this game immediately.
  2. Jan 24, 2013
    80
    The biggest issue here, sadly, is the price. When this launched on Xbox 360, its faults could be excused not only by its big heart but also by its small price-tag: at £25, the original was a budget game in both outlook and its impact on your wallet. So why, well over five years later, is the Vita version being sold full-price at £34.99?
  3. Jan 20, 2013
    75
    Under an almost PS2 visuals, there's a great game. It's extremely fun and addictive, and if you missed its original release on Xbox 360, you can grab this version that adds new levels and enemies, and even a new character that will give a twist to its gameplay. Don't let the graphics mislead you.
  4. Jan 24, 2013
    70
    Still feels fresh, inspired and unlike anything else. No other developer has bothered to make something like it - a rarity in the video game space. Earth Defense Force 2017 is still the only game for destroying giant bugs and office complexes - blemishes and all.
  5. Jan 22, 2013
    69
    An extremely simple arcade shooter that has a good amount of technical issues but, at the same time, offers an engaging co-op multiplayer mode.
  6. Jan 30, 2013
    65
    The biggest flaw in EDF (other than graphics and gameplay) is the pricing. Charging more for a six year old game than you did on release is a tough sell for something so clearly rooted in the "budget" category from Day 1.
  7. Feb 6, 2013
    40
    When I started Earth Defense Force 2017 Portable, I was looking forward to a charming, if uninspired, shooter for on-the-go action. What I found was just the uninspired part. Fans of the series will certainly find a lot to love, but the uninitiated should steer clear. As playable games go, Sandlot and D3 have packed plenty of gameplay in, but the charm quickly fades and all your left with is more invading ants.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    its the b movie of video games, i may just love it for that reason alone. But with the very long campaign, the decent graphics for a portable game, and hundreds of guns to unlock, this game was well worth my money, and my time. Expand
  2. Jan 21, 2013
    8
    Crazy and exhilarating... the fps down sometimes bugged me but it's okay though... I screamed like crazy while playing.. mostly when it's spider part.. Collapse
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    8
    YOU LIKE DEATH? THEN DIE!!! Man, I love this game. Sure the "graphics" are poor (even when compared to its xbox 360 counterpart) The "polish" is lackluster, and the animations are laughably stiff, if you resonate on the same level as this game, you'll have a blast. When a giant horde of bouncing alien spiders outnumbering you 1000 to one is slowly and mercilessly bounding your way, and all you have is a rocket launcher to literally "launch" the aliens hundreds of feet, the awesomeness indescribable. If you've always wanted to play a ridiculously silly old school Japanese monster/invasion movie in video game form look no further. Come for the sillyness and camp, stay for the addictive gameplay. But, be a little weary of the repetitiveness. Also, the addition of a new character and fully functioning online coop over the xbox 360 version is fantastic and gives the game a lot of staying power. On a side note, the bite sized nature of the missions is perfectly suited for online play. Expand
  4. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    nice and hectic multiplayer 3d shooter !
    coop play was very popular in japan and always fun.
    messaging during the game makes this a slightly
    crazy experience 'edf edf !!'
    also nice that you have tons of weopons and a special jetpack character to
    unlock.
    in the last level the graphics can get a bit choppy. really fun game!
    Expand