Ecolibrium PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 12, 2013
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 39
  2. Negative: 14 out of 39

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 3, 2014
    5
    Ecolibrium tasks the player with creating and maintaining a balanced environment in which a variety of plants and animals can survive. In order to do this four variables (water, minerals, vegetation and meat) must be carefully managed to keep your equilibrium rating as high as possible which in allows you to purchase more plants and animals for your world.

    The tutorials arguably take a
    Ecolibrium tasks the player with creating and maintaining a balanced environment in which a variety of plants and animals can survive. In order to do this four variables (water, minerals, vegetation and meat) must be carefully managed to keep your equilibrium rating as high as possible which in allows you to purchase more plants and animals for your world.

    The tutorials arguably take a little too long to explain everything but once you get a handle on things Ecolibrium reveals itself to be a fairly deep title and certainly could have been something worth returning to on a regular basis. I say could because unfortunately this is a game designed using the dreaded ‘free to play’ model which restricts the resources available to the player unless they either wait for a few hours or are prepared to pay a fee to speed things along. Granted this is not a game designed to be played for hours on end anyway, and the micro-transactions aren’t as unscrupulously used as they are in some games (ahem, Dungeon Keeper), but it is still frustrating when you are stopped from playing the game when you want to.

    Without the micro-transactions I’d have awarded this game a sold 7 out of 10 and recommended it to Vita owners after a more sedentary experience but as it is I’d say give Ecolibrium a miss.
    Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    5
    Ecolibrium is a simple game which is too awkward to play for me to recommend it to the wider audience. It's capable of becoming addictive, but is not fun enough to buy any of the extra content it begs you to pay for. A ok free game.
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    6
    I would give it a 6 or a 7 but i decided to give a 7 when i saw you need to buy stuff with real money to get some creatures and cool things in this game, and i even understand because this game is free (or else i would give a 5 or less) and they need to do money somehow but when isn't acceptable is that you download the stuff just for a while, then you lose access to that stuff and thatI would give it a 6 or a 7 but i decided to give a 7 when i saw you need to buy stuff with real money to get some creatures and cool things in this game, and i even understand because this game is free (or else i would give a 5 or less) and they need to do money somehow but when isn't acceptable is that you download the stuff just for a while, then you lose access to that stuff and that really makes me feel like a I had some hours of fun, not much but it is acceptable. Everything else is good and you can buy things to another players but it was also a bit boring but anyway it is a great ecosystem simulator and with a great design. I recommend (but only because it is free).

    In conclusion is it a Ok game with useless DLC.
    Expand
  4. Mar 14, 2013
    6
    In Ecolibrium, you create your own ecosystem with herbivores, carnivores, and plants. The organisms are fictional, yet often have real world counterparts. The game's graphics are beautiful. The environment and the animal models are gorgeous and show off the Vita's capabilities. The game is free-to-play and with micro transactions ranging from $.0.25 to $1.50, Ecolibrium's businessIn Ecolibrium, you create your own ecosystem with herbivores, carnivores, and plants. The organisms are fictional, yet often have real world counterparts. The game's graphics are beautiful. The environment and the animal models are gorgeous and show off the Vita's capabilities. The game is free-to-play and with micro transactions ranging from $.0.25 to $1.50, Ecolibrium's business model is extremely fair. The game falls short, however, in terms of game play. Like many free-to-play games, there is an energy bar which limits how many actions you can take at one time. This in itself is not a bad thing. What is bad is that often times you pick up the game and while your energy bar is full, there is nothing for you to do. This is because at a certain point, the game restricts you from adding additional animals or plants to your ecosystem. So you are literally stuck until you can save enough money to sell one of your current organisms so that you can replace it with a newer organism. What this translates into is a game that you will quickly abandon because of boredom. Expand
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Nov 12, 2012
    50
    Whether you believe God(s) or not, you have always wanted to be one. Wouldn't it be great to invent strange creatures all day and decide which ones can live and which ones can't. Too bad it takes about just as long to create something in this game as it does in real life. Unless you pay up. [November 2012, p.92]
  2. Oct 2, 2012
    30
    It's hard to recommend a game like Ecolibrium to anyone but the most bored.
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    80
    Ecolibrium is deep and well designed but won't appeal a wide range of players. It's however a solid entry in the ever-growing compendium of PlayStation Vita's free games.