Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 50
  2. Negative: 1 out of 50
  1. Feb 23, 2012
    90
    Affordable, yet masterfully produced, with a very strong visual identity, this action puzzle game offers an unusual gameplay that works surprisingly well when grasped. It's a very nice, well-priced game that offers 4 to 5 hours of gameplay for puzzle and scoring aficionados.
  2. Feb 20, 2012
    90
    An inventive noir brainteaser that's short but dense, filling out the package - not with fluff - but smart puzzles, visual gags, and a bucketful of inky black blood.
  3. Feb 27, 2012
    86
    One of the best Vita launch games and the best puzzle game of 2012 so far, period. It's a shame the touch controls don't always work as well as they should, but overall this is a minor complaint.
  4. Feb 23, 2012
    84
    Escape Plan's puzzles are charming and inventive, and it's smartly designed to be playable in short spurts.
  5. Mar 16, 2012
    83
    Even though it may have been lost in the PS Vita launch mix, Escape Plan is very much a game worth checking out. It's dark, it's funny, it has some head-scratching puzzles and it finds some unique ways to use the Vita's touch and motion control capabilities.
  6. Feb 17, 2012
    82
    There's just a cleverness to the whole thing that completely sells the experience, even if it may be a tad short for the fifteen-dollar price tag.
  7. Mar 28, 2012
    81
    It's good fun, testing both your problem solving and manual dexterity, and it makes good use of PS Vita's controls. [Issue#216, p.73]
  8. Apr 12, 2012
    80
    Escape Plan is decidedly artful and will please fans of Limbo - perhaps not quite as tightly woven, but a quiet achiever for the launch of the PS Vita to be sure. [May 2012, p.78]
  9. Mar 13, 2012
    80
    The visual style is distinctive, and the puzzles are challenging, yet accessible for anyone. If you enjoy brainbending games, you definitely need to check out this little gem. I guarantee it will be some of the most fun you have out of your Vita at launch.
  10. Feb 27, 2012
    80
    It's one of the most unique and charming looking games you'll ever play, and the pick-up-and-play value makes it perfect for a handheld. Minor control issues prevent it from achieving perfection, but it's still perhaps the most effective showcase of the Vita hardware to date.
  11. Feb 27, 2012
    80
    Ruthless, funny and totally non-sense: Escape Plan is the most unconventional puzzle game you can find in Sony's online Store. With a refined artistic direction and an addictive gameplay, Fun Bits Interactive's IP is one of the must-have games for your PS-Vita.
  12. Feb 24, 2012
    80
    The tasks are superficial, the controls not always accurate. Nonetheless this a charming little puzzler that I don't want to miss.
  13. Feb 24, 2012
    80
    Escape Plan is a hard and fast but extremely fun puzzle-game that takes advantage from the unique features of Sony's latest hardware platform to deliver a rewarding and visually pleasing product. Believe us: this is one of the strongest titles in the PlayStation Vita's launch library.
  14. Feb 18, 2012
    80
    For an adventure absolutely beaming with personality and potential, the gameplay experience wasn't quite as fine as I would have liked, but it doesn't make Escape Plan anything less than a great game in its own right. It's just unfortunate, because it could have been more with slightly better execution.
  15. 80
    I ended up liking Escape Plan more than most of the retail titles available at the PlayStation Vita's launch, and if you're looking to load up on games while stretching your buck, you can't go wrong with Escape Plan. I only wish it were a little longer for the price.
  16. Feb 16, 2012
    80
    The game plays quite well on PlayStation Vita, and provides a welcome change of pace in comparison to the rest of the launch lineup, that for the most part involves more action-oriented fare.
  17. Mar 22, 2012
    78
    If the controls were completely reliable rather than "reliable most of the time", Escape Plan would be a classic. [Apr 2012, p.109]
  18. Feb 29, 2012
    78
    Escape Plan is overall a very recommended game, entertaining and with unique and captivating visuals. However, it falls midway in becoming the great game it could have been because of its control problems. We hope a sequel will fix this to realize its great potential.
  19. Feb 22, 2012
    78
    I love the way Escape Plan looks, the way it sounds, and how puzzles are complicated in an interesting way without ever becoming overwhelming. Physically interacting with the game is where it falls short. I still consider it a worthy addition to your early Vita library – especially when there are so few original titles for the handheld.
  20. Feb 28, 2012
    76
    Escape Plan is probably one of the best puzzle games you can find on VITA. Minor control issues prevent it from achieving perfection, but it's still a very recommendable game.
  21. Feb 27, 2012
    75
    Escape Plan looks and sounds like an absolute must-have. It isn't however, as the gameplay is a tad too simplistic and the controls a tad to unresponsive. It's a shame, really.
  22. Feb 20, 2012
    75
    Escape Plan's macabre humor and beautiful black-and-white chiaroscuro look make it a welcome respite from the noise and flash of the other Vita launch titles. Sony has a knack for finding and funding indie developers with a refined sense of style.
  23. May 4, 2012
    70
    When the credits roll, Escape Plan leaves you satisfied of time well spent; getting know its cast of charming characters is a pleasure and its gameplay is largely on the right side refreshing. Though it arguably rarely feels essential, it is a quietly charming game that feels perfectly at ease with its glacial pace, and it is this – along with Lil and Laarg's PVC-clad charisma – that ultimately enables Escape Plan to meander its way into your heart.
  24. Apr 4, 2012
    70
    Escape Plan is not the "bold next step" for the puzzle genre we've been waiting, but it can be quite addictive and it offers some clever puzzles and one of the best art directions we've witnessed in a long time.
  25. Escape Plan could've been a classic. [May 2012, p.85]
  26. Mar 5, 2012
    70
    It's not perfect, and even skilled players will struggle with some of the more demanding multitasking required for certain scenarios (the level-skip is an acknowledgement of the inconsistent difficulty), but it's clever, cunning and entertaining.
  27. Mar 5, 2012
    70
    Escape Plan's style and intelligent use of Vita's inputs come together to make it one of the more compelling titles in the system's launch line-up.
  28. Escape Plan's visual style is so well done, you will probably fall in love with it at first sight, just as we did. The game's opening has you waking up Lil by tapping the touch screen as he tries to push your finger away. He is absolutely adorable. [March 2012, p.56]
  29. 70
    Although it is easy to assimilate, Escape Plan does nothing new and is worthy because it is a different title in the Vita.
  30. Feb 28, 2012
    70
    Occasionally touchy controls and an inexplicable feeling of repetition undermine an otherwise creative tactical puzzle game.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    I haven't had fun playing a puzzle game since Portal 2. I especially love the black & white world. Also it's only $15. I'd recommend this gameI haven't had fun playing a puzzle game since Portal 2. I especially love the black & white world. Also it's only $15. I'd recommend this game to anybody. Full Review »
  2. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    This game is sloppy fun. I don't remember a game that I actually enjoyed dieing (except for ghost trick? but that doesn't count). It's asThis game is sloppy fun. I don't remember a game that I actually enjoyed dieing (except for ghost trick? but that doesn't count). It's as if you are meant to kill these little things over and over and over. the back touch is strange, but it just works. Some of the level names had me do a double take, like "Facial of Death" That sounds like you're taking a lawnmower to your face... or something else. And the main bad guy, (is he bad?) is Bakuki, don't spell it wrong. Took awhile to wrap my head around the whole tap swipe control thing, but it actually ends up working really well, tilting the vita and squeezing lil to fart him/her? in the direction of the spikes you want to hit. Over all I love it. Full Review »
  3. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    Escape Plan is my favorite Vita game to date. It has a really cool style and intuitive controls. I find myself cracking up at all the usualEscape Plan is my favorite Vita game to date. It has a really cool style and intuitive controls. I find myself cracking up at all the usual ways Lil and Laarg can die. Full Review »