F1 2011 PlayStation Vita

Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
Buy On
  1. Mar 8, 2012
    70
    F1 2011 is a racing game with qualities that far outshine the flaws and it's a really good simulator, no matter if you're are a fan of Formula One or not. But remember that you need to have the time to commit to the game in order to get the most out of it.
  2. 70
    Even with a few minor glitches, in the end F1 2011 is a quite competent conversion of last year's title to the Vita. And anyway, it´s not like you´ve got a lot of choice, when it comes to F1-Games.
  3. Mar 2, 2012
    70
    F1 2011 is a great handheld addition to the franchise, although it could really do with an injection of personality.
  4. Feb 26, 2012
    70
    The amount of gameplay options and slightly realistic customisations help drive this title past the muddy graphics and unfriendly controls.
  5. Feb 21, 2012
    70
    Gamers with more interest in the spectacle of F1 than actually being good at driving will probably like this very much. And at least the good points bode very well for the next one.
  6. Feb 20, 2012
    70
    F1 2011 isn't quite up to the excellent standard of the console version, but it's still far, far better than the 3DS instalment.
  7. Feb 24, 2012
    65
    Better than the 3DS version, but definitely bland if compared to the home versions: PS vita deserves more.
  8. Games Master UK
    Mar 14, 2012
    64
    Casual fans will be entertained and impressed at the Vita's capabilities, but serious racers will be disappointed. [Apr 2012, p.96]
  9. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Apr 2, 2012
    61
    We would like to write that Sumo Digital has successfully transferred the PS3 version to the Vita, but alas, a whole list of shortcomings prevents us from doing so. The broken AI and broken controls ensure that you'll never cross the finish line in one piece. [April 2012, p.100]
  10. May 5, 2012
    60
    F1 2011 could have been so much more. We can't complain in terms of content and online functionalities, but why does it look like a port of a PSP-title and slide the cars across the road like they're driving on ice? You'll learn to deal with this last flaw, but it does greatly diminish the racing experience.
  11. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 11, 2012
    60
    In the end the experience of piloting an F1 car around the world's premiere race tracks isn't here. This is one racer that gets the black and white flag for bad behavior. [April 2012, p74]
  12. Mar 21, 2012
    60
    F1 2011 is no more than an inferior port of the original version.
  13. Feb 28, 2012
    60
    Formula 1 is a game developed in a hurry for the Vita launch. That means a substantial lack of precision and refinements that lower the global quality of the production.
  14. Feb 27, 2012
    60
    What is difficult to forgive though, are the distracting drops in frame rate at key times which make the game frustrating to play.
  15. 60
    The second downfall, and possibly a deal breaker for some sim fans, are the graphics. From a distance the game looks great, but up close and personal it loses the detail and sharpness that you would expect on the 5 inch OLED screen.
  16. Feb 20, 2012
    60
    F1 2011 is a laudable attempt at scaling down a sophisticated simulation racer for a handheld platform, but it would have benefited from stronger AI and more challenge. In its defense, it caters well for newcomers due to its casual Challenges mode and forgiving level of difficulty, but still falls marginally short of expectations.
  17. At least there's four-player multiplayer to alleviate the hollow AI racing. There's an even bigger spanner in the spokes than dim-witted drivers: it looks perplexingly terrible. The tarmac's shine and rubbering still pleases, but tracks themselves are super-low detail.
  18. Feb 20, 2012
    55
    F1 2011 is not a good game. The game has a lot of problems, way bigger than the home console versions. Bad A.I, unpolished visuals and an easy and too arcade handling condemn the game to a mediocrity that the franchise doesn't deserve.
  19. Mar 19, 2012
    51
    Well, you won't be bored while playing F1 2011 on your PlayStation Vita, so we guess that's a plus. You will, however, most likely get frustrated with the overall lack of realism, the amount of framerate problems and the incredibly weak graphical presentation.
  20. Mar 11, 2012
    50
    F1 2011 on the PS Vita is just as disappointing as on the 3DS. The game doesn't play the same as the superior console-versions and visually it's lacking quality.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    6
    Probably the only purchase I've made for the Vita so far. I have the PC version which I really like and hav played a lot. I wasn't expectingProbably the only purchase I've made for the Vita so far. I have the PC version which I really like and hav played a lot. I wasn't expecting anything groundbreaking for the Vita version, but I was expecting something a bit better than this. Seeing as the Vita has 2 analogue sticks I don't know why we have to suffer an on/off acceleration and braking system. It really does spoil the game. I can understand some limitations of the device but there was no need to cut out most of the full version's presentation features and this makes the whole experience less personal and does not give any kind of gratification after winning a race. The AI are pretty awful also. As Zeng says before me, I don't think I'll be buying another racing game on the Vita unless a decent GT comes out, and not a version that sucks like the PSP one did. Buy if you are a hardcore fan who just has to own the game, but it's not something worth the price tag of thirty quid if you ask me! Full Review »
  2. Mar 4, 2012
    7
    For the fans of the series and those who just like racing games in general, it's a great game. But personally I'll wait for something likeFor the fans of the series and those who just like racing games in general, it's a great game. But personally I'll wait for something like Gran Turismo to come outt on the Vita. Full Review »
  3. Dec 3, 2014
    6
    Way too easy. At the end of my first season 50% of real race length driving for worst team Lotus Caterham I was able to win every race. ThatWay too easy. At the end of my first season 50% of real race length driving for worst team Lotus Caterham I was able to win every race. That was on maximum difficulty and realism settings. It is such a big shame because I like everything else in this game. Graphics is very simple that is true but on the other hand Frame rate seems to 60 fps. Therefore the sense of speed is phenomenal. There are also racing minigames but because of the fact that main racing is useless it is not worth buying. Problem is that even if you are racing worst car, it is always much faster with better acceleration than any other cpu controlled cars. Can be used only for trophy chasing because that will be very easy or multiplayer. Online lobby is always empty though. Full Review »