F1 2011 Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Compete on the go with F1 2011 The official game of FORMULA ONE includes all the cars, stars and circuits from the 2011 FIA FORMULA ONE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP. Go for motorsport's ultimate prize across a full season, enter individual GRAND PRIX, or get a quick FORMULA ONE fix with Time TrialsCompete on the go with F1 2011 The official game of FORMULA ONE includes all the cars, stars and circuits from the 2011 FIA FORMULA ONE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP. Go for motorsport's ultimate prize across a full season, enter individual GRAND PRIX, or get a quick FORMULA ONE fix with Time Trials and Challenge mode. Then race sport's fastest racing cars in F1 2011's multiplayer modes including four player races and an innovative 2 vs. 2 co-op mode. [Sony] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
F1 2011 - Launch Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Mar 5, 2012
    80
    Steering and handling is a tiny bit sluggish, but we'll take that over twitchy any day. [Apr 2012, p.56]
  2. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Feb 14, 2012
    78
    Not quite the game its big brother is, but it's not far behind. It straddles the fun/sim divide well with fast, fluid racing. [March 2012, p.92]
  3. 70
    Even with a few minor glitches, in the end F1 2011 is a quite competent conversion of last year's title to the Vita. And anyway, it´s not like you´ve got a lot of choice, when it comes to F1-Games.
  4. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Apr 2, 2012
    61
    We would like to write that Sumo Digital has successfully transferred the PS3 version to the Vita, but alas, a whole list of shortcomings prevents us from doing so. The broken AI and broken controls ensure that you'll never cross the finish line in one piece. [April 2012, p.100]
  5. Mar 21, 2012
    60
    F1 2011 is no more than an inferior port of the original version.
  6. 60
    The second downfall, and possibly a deal breaker for some sim fans, are the graphics. From a distance the game looks great, but up close and personal it loses the detail and sharpness that you would expect on the 5 inch OLED screen.
  7. Mar 12, 2012
    45
    F1 fans will be drawn in by the licensed racers and circuits from the 2011 Formula 1 season, the idea of using the DRS rear-wing control, and KERS boosting abilities. They may even be entranced by the depth of the career mode or the number of race options both online and off. But when it comes down to the presentation -- endless menus, muted graphics, and the races themselves -- many will lose interest in F1 2011 very quickly.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 6, 2013
    9
    A solid Formula 1 game. Sure more could be added to it but in terms of handling and sheer fun with all your favorite tracks i can't ask for much more.
  2. May 2, 2018
    8
    I have to say this is an underrated game. The AI is flawed (this is common in F1 games imo), but the game runs well, plays well (consideringI have to say this is an underrated game. The AI is flawed (this is common in F1 games imo), but the game runs well, plays well (considering it's on a handheld) and does a great job of recreating the tracks.

    Career and Championship modes aren't especially engaging for me because the AI is rather slow - though people who don't play a lot of racing games might have a harder time with the game, and getting to grips with the KERS and DRS mechanics.

    You have a myriad of tuning options; ride height, camber, toe... ; the changes are all visible on the cars. The cars' suspension moves realistically too; making the cockpit view pretty cool.

    The most fun I have playing F1 games is taking cars to the track to try and set a quick time; and if you're like me and you're into handheld gaming then F1 2011 is definitely worthwhile.
    Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2013
    8
    It's a good game. And very good multiplayer mode. But could improve the career mode and the action in pit-stops. The Challenger mode isIt's a good game. And very good multiplayer mode. But could improve the career mode and the action in pit-stops. The Challenger mode is excellent way to improve the abilities. Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2012
    7
    For the fans of the series and those who just like racing games in general, it's a great game. But personally I'll wait for something likeFor the fans of the series and those who just like racing games in general, it's a great game. But personally I'll wait for something like Gran Turismo to come outt on the Vita. Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    As an F1 fan, I enjoyed this game, though I would prefer a true simulation than part sim/part arcade this game delivers a playable experienceAs an F1 fan, I enjoyed this game, though I would prefer a true simulation than part sim/part arcade this game delivers a playable experience which has provided many hours of entertainment. For my full review, please go to www.psvitaplus.com Expand
  6. Dec 24, 2013
    6
    Some odd omissions like not utilising the right analogue stick and no rear view whatsoever. When I was called into the pits for the firstSome odd omissions like not utilising the right analogue stick and no rear view whatsoever. When I was called into the pits for the first time the entry was blocked by a long line of stuck cars! I like the handling and the graphics are quite good except for wet weather racing when wheel spray pops into view suddenly at certain distances. Frame rate seems good. Could have been much better and disappointing overall, but I like it nonetheless. Collapse
  7. Mar 14, 2012
    6
    Probably the only purchase I've made for the Vita so far. I have the PC version which I really like and hav played a lot. I wasn't expectingProbably the only purchase I've made for the Vita so far. I have the PC version which I really like and hav played a lot. I wasn't expecting anything groundbreaking for the Vita version, but I was expecting something a bit better than this. Seeing as the Vita has 2 analogue sticks I don't know why we have to suffer an on/off acceleration and braking system. It really does spoil the game. I can understand some limitations of the device but there was no need to cut out most of the full version's presentation features and this makes the whole experience less personal and does not give any kind of gratification after winning a race. The AI are pretty awful also. As Zeng says before me, I don't think I'll be buying another racing game on the Vita unless a decent GT comes out, and not a version that sucks like the PSP one did. Buy if you are a hardcore fan who just has to own the game, but it's not something worth the price tag of thirty quid if you ask me! Expand

See all 9 User Reviews