User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 118
  2. Negative: 28 out of 118

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 17, 2015
    10
    Once in a while comes a game that truly was made outside the box, this is one of them.

    If you dig originality without sacrificing FUN, check this out. Very addictive as well. This game truly takes you to another realm and has a sort of spirituality to it, a mesmerizing experience, immersive unique, nintendo should hire the people behind this game thats all i have to say! If the
    Once in a while comes a game that truly was made outside the box, this is one of them.

    If you dig originality without sacrificing FUN, check this out. Very addictive as well.

    This game truly takes you to another realm and has a sort of spirituality to it, a mesmerizing experience, immersive unique, nintendo should hire the people behind this game thats all i have to say!

    If the indie scene keeps releasing games like this im sold then!
    No game impressed me so much about its gameplay mechanics since mario galaxy game of the year for me!
    Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2014
    10
    A completely fantastic game, with lots of hidden secrets and layers. At the upper layer, it's a simple platformer game with changeable perspectives. If you're willing to put the work in though, there's also a very deep puzzle game built in as well.
  3. Sep 30, 2014
    9
    It's a 2D platformer set in a 3D world. It does something completely new with the genre. Something that has never been done before. Having trouble finding a path? A simple tap of the trigger will turn the 3D world left or right so you can explore a whole other side to the level in 2D. It's brilliant and basically is like a reinvention of the wheel.

    This single gameplay hook is what sets
    It's a 2D platformer set in a 3D world. It does something completely new with the genre. Something that has never been done before. Having trouble finding a path? A simple tap of the trigger will turn the 3D world left or right so you can explore a whole other side to the level in 2D. It's brilliant and basically is like a reinvention of the wheel.

    This single gameplay hook is what sets it apart and almost makes it feel like a genre all it's own. There is also an insane amount of content, most of which is tied to some of the most ingenious puzzles ever invented. Some of them are incredibly deep, and require you to do things like learn a unique alphabet created specifically for this game. Others will test your decoding skills to the max. Solving each one leads to cubes or some other collectible that will help you truly complete the game. Their rewarding to complete to say the least.

    There's also great joy to be found in both the platforming and exploration. The games size is massive and filled with many worlds to explore, each with their own unique theme or gameplay element. It's always exciting to find a new world and explore it. There are secrets hidden everywhere. However the game's size is also related to it's only flaw; the map. As you discover new areas the map can get very crowded and can be difficult to navigate or make sense of, making it a pain to backtrack to previously discovered levels.

    Overall though "Fez" is a genius game that takes the 2D-platformer genre and turns in on it's head. Very rarely do we see something so original hit the gaming market anymore, and with this high-level of quality and brilliant game design. It's unlike anything you've ever played before, and simply must be experienced. My total score for the game is a 9.5/10.
    Expand
  4. Sep 13, 2014
    3
    Terrible disappointment. After seeing all the praise, hell, it's even rated as the best game for PS Vita here on Metacritic, my expectations were quite high. On the other hand the creator Phil Fish is notoriously known for being a total dick, and after seeing some of his behaviour or opinions I must agree, but I was still really curious what all the fuss is about and when I got this forTerrible disappointment. After seeing all the praise, hell, it's even rated as the best game for PS Vita here on Metacritic, my expectations were quite high. On the other hand the creator Phil Fish is notoriously known for being a total dick, and after seeing some of his behaviour or opinions I must agree, but I was still really curious what all the fuss is about and when I got this for free on PS Plus I had to play it. To my unpleasant surprise, the game is a rather average indie platformer, the only interesting thing about it is the 2D/3D switching, but that's really not something that can drive the gameplay all the way through. It gets boring very quickly, there is no real challenge whatsoever apart for a very few locations, there are no enemies, so the only thing you do is solving puzzles, which would be nice if those puzzles were actually solvable by common sense and not some kind of crypting mechanisms that you can never solve without checking it somewhere on the net first. I mean, games own alphabet? Scanning QR codes? Vibration hints (especially fun on Vita which doesn't have vibration at all)? I was really hoping for an enjoyable experience here, but didn't get it, it had potential, it had some ideas and indie platformers like this are always amazing on Vita, look at fantastic Spelunky for example, but Fez simply doesn't deliver, it disappoints quite hard and it's a hot candidate for one of the most overrated game of all time. Where all the praise came from? I have no idea, but it's mostly on the "professional" critics part, as the average user score here is much lower and much closer to the truth. So probably bribes in action in the world of gaming journalism. 3/10 Expand
  5. Jul 25, 2014
    10
    This Game is Unique! I Love the Exploration,and the Pixelated place Was very Detailed! the Rotation of 2D into 3D is Very Amazing! For Me,its Perfect!
  6. Jun 16, 2014
    3
    A game that frames itself as a love letter to older game whilst being anything but. Once you've gotten over the initial gimmick (the 2D game existing in 3D space, most prominently used in Paper Mario), there's very little to offer in terms of gameplay. The platforming is as basic as it comes and really lets down the potential of the game's gimmick. There could have been a much moreA game that frames itself as a love letter to older game whilst being anything but. Once you've gotten over the initial gimmick (the 2D game existing in 3D space, most prominently used in Paper Mario), there's very little to offer in terms of gameplay. The platforming is as basic as it comes and really lets down the potential of the game's gimmick. There could have been a much more involving platform game or action adventure game in this and the game would be much better off for it. But no, instead you jump from platform to platform with no enemies, no obstacles and no way to die. Making the game a very disappointing play if you're looking for something to play for the actual video game aspects of it. It's incredibly infuriating because you can imagine how much fun the game could be when combined with a great 2D platformer.

    Going back to what I said before about older games, this game is nothing like it. Older games has challenge, they had variety, they would kick your ass until you learned how to play well. This game offers none of that.

    From what I gather from what others have said. The game's creator saw what I mentioned above as hindrances for his vision of the game, making sure nothing got in the way of the player wandering around the world he created (and sure, the visuals are fine, although I'll quickly mention that the audio is just ambient noise, not really adding anything or taking away). I feel such a method of approaching games is dull for people like myself who value gameplay in video games. It's perfectly possible to create wonderful worlds with great gameplay. There's no need to see them as opposition to each other as Fish appears to do.
    Expand
  7. May 19, 2014
    10
    Absolutely bought this based on the reviews, and I didn't regret it at all. One of the best indie games and platformers on the vita. Great concept of 2D with 3D, even my wife kept taking glances during my game even if she isn't a gamer.
  8. May 9, 2014
    8
    Me gusto mucho el juego en PC es diverted, me parecio rare ver un juego indie tan bueno como este si estas cans ado de los tipicos call of duty dale un chance a este.
  9. May 5, 2014
    7
    Первоначально выпущенная много месяцев назад для Xbox 360, игра FEZ является одной из игр, в постоянно разрастающейся группе инди-игр, которые сумели существенно переломить коллективное сознание. Тем не менее, несмотря на всю полученную критику, эта шумная возня, вдохновленная, скажем прямо, не новой, а скорее «ретро» идеей, только сейчас добралась до системы Sony. Но стоили ли эти усилияПервоначально выпущенная много месяцев назад для Xbox 360, игра FEZ является одной из игр, в постоянно разрастающейся группе инди-игр, которые сумели существенно переломить коллективное сознание. Тем не менее, несмотря на всю полученную критику, эта шумная возня, вдохновленная, скажем прямо, не новой, а скорее «ретро» идеей, только сейчас добралась до системы Sony. Но стоили ли эти усилия такого долгого ожидания инди-игры, или это уже давно «выстрелянный патрон»?

    Основным крючком, на котором геймплей игры держит Вас, является его уникальное использование возможностей 2D платформинга. Или, точнее, его уникальное использование возможностей 3D платформинга. На самом деле, все уровни игры существуют в трехмерном пространстве , но увидеть их можно только с таких точек зрения, откуда они кажутся плоскими и двумерными. По ходу игры Вы довольно рано получаете право переключать точку просмотра, и видеть этот мир с четырех различных углов. Переключение на другую точку зрения может привести к тому, что платформы, которые первоначально казались находящимися вне досягаемости, каким-то чудом появляются прямо перед вами. Точно так же, за счет хитроумного использования этой сногсшибательной механики, могут подключаться и взмывать ввысь лестницы и изменяющие свой размер лианы.

    Как и геймплей игры, так и ее минималистичный сюжет почти полностью окутаны тайной. Наш герой по имени Гомес думает, что он живет в двумерном мире, но некая церемония в исполнении одного из ветеранов безжалостно рушит не только его собственное миропонимание, но и саму ткань реальности. Этот ритуал приводит родной город Гомеса в полный хаос, создавая в нем странные порталы и непонятные ситуации, которые сеют ужас в таком спокойном ранее месте. Эфирное создание сообщает герою, что единственный выход из ситуации, в которой он очутился, – собрать серию кубиков, которые сумеют подавить эти метафизические изменения. Именно поэтому Вам приходится продираться взад и вперед сквозь игровые локации, собирая геометрические ключи, которые Вы будете получать, решая головоломки и верша чудеса доблести на полях платформера.

    Однако, описывая игру Fez как платформер, я был бы неискренним, поскольку хитроумных прыжков в ней не так уж и много. На самом деле, эта игра гораздо больше похожа на игру Myst, чем на Mario, так как самые сложные ее задачи, напрягают Ваш ум, а не ваши рефлексы. К тому же, если Вы вдруг пропустите прыжок или свалитесь с ненадежного уступа, Вас быстро перенесут обратно на последний участок твердой земле, на котором Вы стояли. Это означает, что подавляющая часть вашего времени будет поделена между исследованиями и головоломками, в результате чего геймплей создает общее ощущение непрерывного потока событий, которое можно сравнить с игрой Metroidvania.

    Уже упомянутые мной головоломки могут варьироваться от относительно простых до совершенно непонятных. Некоторые из них требуют быстро переключаться между перспективами, а другие заставит Вас взаимодействовать с игрой уникальным и удивительным образом. Не буду вдаваться в подробности, чтобы не отнять у Вас удовольствие узнавания, но само собой разумеется, что некоторые из наиболее трудных загадок сделаны вполне в духе продукции Hideo Kojima. Это - игра, которую абсолютно не волнует, понимаете ли Вы, что происходит или остаетесь в полном неведении. Но это отсутствие режиссуры ощущается решением элегантным и плодотворным, а вовсе не рождает разочарования.

    Но – не обольщайтесь, эта игра вовсе не смесь солнечного света и пикселей, хотя, так как карта игры, там, где это стилистически уместно, очень запутана и сбивает с толку, даже при удовлетворительном прохождении игры может возникать легкое разочарование. Кроме того, из-за того, что авторы стремились сделать процесс более гладким, путешествие от одного края огромного мира к другому его краю может казаться несколько утомительным. Это чувство усугубляется тем, что на некоторых уровнях Вам придется искать хитрые обходы, и найти нужную дверь - задача не всегда простая.

    К счастью, во время путешествий Вам будет на что посмотреть, так как Fez –безумно красивая игра. Было бы легче пройти мимо этой ретро игры, посчитав ее циничной попыткой разработчиков нажиться на ностальгии , но это стало бы для игры медвежьей услугой. Ее мозаичные панорамы трещат и шипят, наполненные жизнью, каждая их трещина наполняется цветом и выдумкой. От залитых дождями городов до песчаных пляжей, все это - настоящий мастер-класс визуальных наслаждений, и все это вместе представляет собой мир, исследовать который – чистое удовольствие.

    Более того, саундтрек игры великолепно дополняет ее видеоряд. Захватывающие мелодии, рожденные синтезато
    Expand
  10. Apr 24, 2014
    0
    THis game sucks. i want a refund. phill fish thought he was human enough to program a half decent game but hes full fish. Tell Phill fish to go back to the ocean, he does not belong up here with making crap like FEZ
  11. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    This game looks great and plays great on the Vita - visuals, frame rate and everything is on point. Really worth paying for to experience how amazing it is!
  12. Apr 14, 2014
    8
    Great 'old school' platform type game - heard about this game ages ago through that video game doco 'Indie Game' (great dock btw) and it's great it's now on the Sony platforms - looks great on the Vita - recommended!
  13. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    Game of the decade so far. A beautiful example of an old school style game in a modern gen. It's sorta resemblant of the original legend of zelda. No guides, no help, just you and your will to explore.
  14. May 9, 2014
    0
    Me gusto mucho el juego en PC es diverted, me parecio rare ver un juego indie tan bueno como este si estas cans ado de los tipicos call of duty dale un chance a este.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Few puzzles offer the complexity and design smarts that are on show here. [June 2014, p.88]
  2. Apr 4, 2014
    91
    Being straightforward, it is a must have. A game that brings back that excitement that surfaces when you explore every corner of its world and, most importantly, is worth giving a try to allow it to astonish the gamer.
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    90
    A deep and involving Metroidvania in a superbly constructed world. Fez's appearance on handheld is just as intriguing as when it first hit consoles and computers.