User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 86
  2. Negative: 49 out of 86

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 8, 2014
    5
    The only difference between FIFA 13 and FIFA Football (FIFA Soccer) is the title itself. Other than tighter controls and a new roster, EA has brought nothing to the Vita's next iteration of FIFA. The console versions get the new technology put into their respective versions of FIFA, but VITA is shunned by EA.

    Don't buy this game if you have bought FIFA Football. Buy it if you have not
    bought FIFA Football. It's that simple. Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2013
    7
    Right, this is actually a good game (par a few performance issues) but the reason everyone bashes on it is because it is a re skinned version of Fifa 11. EA really need to add things to Fifa 14 to make it like the Console/PC version.
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    I'm going to make this short, sweet, and to the point. While everyone else on here seems to enjoy bashing this game into oblivion, I refuse to follow that trend. I understand the so called professional reviewers going on about this game as being nearly, if not entirely, identical to the previous iteration. However, they, and you, should ask yourself this question, is the game any good? Does this game stand, on it's own merits, as a quality release of a football(soccer for us Americans) simulation. I believe the answer to that question is yes. While I agree 1000% EA decided to phone this one based on what I have read about it, I don't think we can automatically discount the game itself because of it. That is like giving a triple A title a 0 because it requires an online connection. It has nothing do with the game itself, it is something that affects our perception of it, not something that actually affects the product itself. I typically don't buy sports games year after year because I am more interested in game play improvements rather than roster updates. I bought this because I got a new Vita and wanted what I assumed would be a quality sports game. I haven't owned a FIFA title in a number or years and thought I would start with the most current one available and go from there. I don't regret doing so, in fact, I'm happy I did. I won't have to buy one of EA's cash in jobs for several more years.

    All in all, everyone can complain that this game doesn't take advantage of the full capability of the Vita system. Does any game currently available for the system really take advantage of the system the way it deserves? I haven't seen it yet. Perhaps when sales start going up, hopefully soon, EA will see this is a system worth developing for and put their money where there mouth is. If we don't support the system and buy these games then developers and publishers won't bother giving us anything but console parts and recycled sports games.

    I am giving this game a rating based on the game itself. I don't care that it is basically last year's version. I don't care what everyone's vendetta may be towards EA. The game deserves a reasonable score because it does exactly what it is supposed to do. It is a fun sports game that has near console quality in the palm of your hand.
    Expand
  4. Jan 11, 2013
    8
    fifa 13 is the best handheld football exprience ive ever played the graghics of this game are fenomenal!!!!, i don't care what anyone says single player mode is so addicting i play hours on it. it doesn't have ultimate team(SO WHAT!?!)just beacause of that gamers and critics cant appreciate the beautiful game.if u dont have football then i strongly recomend it but mutiplayer could use some tweaks too Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2012
    4
    This game deserves a 4/10 The only thing it deserved credit for are the following. An Acceptable single player manager mode experience (identical to the console version from what I've played) the game runs well in single player and in the interactive arena. However everywhere else including in online play the game is letdown by poor gameplay mechanics, a shoddy frame rate, terrible A.I and Goalkeepers (almost every match will have at least 7-8 goals if both players have played fifa at any point in their lives) and then the diabolical connection quality you're stuck with for most games. This is not the FIFA we know and love from the consoles. They need to make it run at 30 fps (60 fps ideally) I wouldn't care if the graphics had to take a massive hit, you want a game to run well so you can enjoy it. And also bring over all the console like features such as Ultimate team and FIFA Clubs mode this should all be in FIFA it should be identical to the PS3 version of the game including the ability to play each other ideally!. For now go out and buy FIFA Football if you need your FIFA fix and save your cash for PES 2014 which will kick FIFA's ass if they stick to their shoddy standards on the handheld. Or hopefully FIFA 14 which will right the wrongs of the current vita experience. A terrible game if you want to play online an acceptable game if you just want some manager mode fun in bed/on the way to work or back home. Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    If you have FIFA 12 for vita, then avoid this game as there is no difference. I love playing this game when I am on the road, and its a really good portable version of the game. If EA puts more effort into FIFA 14 then that could possibly be the game that sells vitas, but for now, nice job on getting a portable game out there on the worlds most powerful handheld.
  7. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Не понимаю почему столько гневных комментариев.По моему мнению игра ни чем не хуже своих предшественников.С удовольствием буду играть в эту прекрасную игру Expand
  8. Oct 29, 2012
    1
    Кусок дерьма! Русского языка и комментариев нет (хотя в большой версии есть). РФПЛ чисто для галочки. ИИ на уровне середины 90-х (такой игры в обороне и бесполезности тактических схем я и в 98 не припомню). Слегка подкрашенная FIFA FOOTBALL со всеми вытекающими. Expand
  9. Oct 27, 2012
    0
    no Russian language, no ultimate team, if it thought of everything - the game was popular anymore as she consoles. Most asked to Ultimate team for PS Vita!!!!!!!!!!
  10. Oct 12, 2012
    0
    Don't get this, worse fifa game by far. No improvements over last years at all the game should be pulled off shelves for ripping off customers.
  11. Oct 12, 2012
    0
    Sinceramente para un usuario en español no hay otra cosa que decir si no es que NO COMPREN ESTE JUEGO NO ES MAS QUE UNA COPIA cara de un juego que solo cambiaron lso skins no se tomaron ni l tiempo de cambair los ecenarios
  12. Oct 9, 2012
    0
    It's a joke! I sold mi Fifa Football long time ago waiting for this game to come out, and when i finally got it, both are the same !! If you have Fifa Football DONT BUY THIS GAME, it doesn't worth it. EA is laughing at the face of Vita users. This game is a SCAM
  13. Oct 6, 2012
    0
    This game is total crap, same thing as fifa 12 (which btw was also crap) this game keeps freezing unexpectedly and makes one want to trow their xbox out the window.
  14. Oct 5, 2012
    0
    AVOID! I cannot believe EA still get away with stunts like this shambles of a game. It is identical to the previous FIFA game released on the Vita. Literally the only changes include a slightly different colour to the home screen, a poor attempt at updating players to the correct club and the usual kit updates. Everything else is exactly the same.
  15. Oct 4, 2012
    0
    For all Player who had Fifa Football for Vita: Don't spend money in this new game because it's nothing new in here. It's a Team/Score-Update for full price. NO new features from the FIFA 13 Core Game for PS3/XBOX in there.

    For all Players not having Fifa Football. Buy this for 20$ and get most of the same game. 20-30$ more for this "update" does not worth it.

    Sorry EA, that's not
    fair. Sell the new teams/scores for 10$ as an update and all is fine.
    But what you want to cheat your customers!
    Expand
  16. Oct 1, 2012
    7
    First off this game is GOOD! I know it is very similar to FIFA Football on the Vita, but the gameplay has been improved. I can understand the frustrations vented against EA as they could have made more of an effort to add in some of the console features (FUT and Skill games would be nice) however I am told that patches will be made available in future which may include these?) The career mode is slightly better than last yer but not by a lot but the overall feel of the games is good.

    In summary if you had FIFA Football and enjoyed it then consider this as a purchase perhaps when the price is lower as it will bring you a better experience than the last one with updated teams etc.... Still I would like to see more effort from EA next year but that's what global companies do! The console versions would have been lapped up even if significant changes had not been made!
    Expand
  17. Sep 30, 2012
    8
    I have the first FIFA on vita and per ordered FIFA 13 ... When I put it in my console I did feel a bit cheated as it looks a hell of a lot like the first game. This said it has more colour depth to the pallet and its does play better. Improved AI and challenge .... If your just up for a quick kick about this could be a waste of money but if your in for the long hall it feels better to play this is not to say the first vita game didn't play well it did but FIFA 13 feels better. Expand
  18. Sep 30, 2012
    0
    Don't buy the game, it's actually FIFA Soccer from the February, just repackaged. It's still based on FIFA 11 engine and contains only and I mean ONLY the kit and rosters updates
  19. Sep 29, 2012
    0
    What can i say that hasn't be said already. This is A total ripoff if you have fifa soccer.. It is a total ripoff even if you haven't got that game. EA did nothing to improve this game. the commentary is the same, and un inspirational. The loading time when in calender mode are dreadful at times. EA should allow a refund for this game when downloaded. ALL I CAN SAY IS READ THE REVIEWS ONLINE. I wish i did. Expand
  20. Sep 29, 2012
    7
    I personally feel this game is receiving harsh reviews. It is NOT fifa football. Gameplay HAS been updated. First touch is sharper and clinical if timed correctly. Passing is crisp and can be susceptible to error if passed off balance or with poorer players. Goalkeepers are harder to beat. Total dribble has been immensely improved since fifa football. Also, computer AI is the best I've seen in the FIFA franchise. Finally graphics are more defined in this edition. Easily the best FIFA available for handheld devices. Expand
  21. Sep 29, 2012
    0
    This is by far the worst fifa i have ever played in terms of improvements, No updates other than kits and teams oh and the title screen looks different yay! The game is no different to fifa football and i advise anyone that is thinking of purchasing it to not bother. Its a waste of money. EA havent given us Demo's and info for a reason. They were scamming us for money. I am certainly never buying another fifa game on vita again until they prove the games have been improved. Not happy at all! Expand
  22. Sep 29, 2012
    6
    People are allowing their anger to cloud their judgement. EA sent me a copy to review for my site, which I have done, and graded 3/5, or for Metacritic purposes, 6/10.

    The game is nearly identical to Fifa Football, with miniscule changes. But this does not detract from it still being a good game of football, and is all we have right now.

    Yes, there was very little information
    released, yes Ultimate Team is still missing, and all of the new features are not present. But if you have not bought the original, then this IS worth buying.

    It is disappointing, but still a good game.

    If you want to read my full review, the link is below.

    http://thevitalounge.com/fifa-13
    Expand
  23. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    If you're wondering why there are ZERO reviews from critics a week after launch, well, it seems that EA didn
  24. Sep 28, 2012
    3
    Pretty much the same as FIFA Football. EA should be ashamed, PSVita is powerful enough to get the identical version as the Console version. It is basically FIFA11 on the console, no tactical defending, no first touch, no pro intelligence, VERY disappointing.
  25. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    This is FIFA 11, This is Fifa Football... this is NOT! Fifa 13

    This game is essentially FIFA 11. FIFA Football is based on 11. Nothing introduced in 12 was in Football. Nothing introduced in 13 is here.

    To prove this look at the ages of all the players.. They are all two years too young in every mode, but career mode.. This is just a basic 40 buck roster update, which cant even get
    the players ages right.

    EMBARRASING!!!!!!
    Expand
  26. Sep 28, 2012
    8
    Let's start off with all the negative reviews...I agree with you 100%. Now I want to let everyone know why they are all wrong...in some part. The game is basically the same game as Fifa Soccer, as stated by over a dozen people. The menu set up is the same, which was pretty bland to begin with, but it is functional. The loading is the same (you still have the ability to run around with a soccer player and shoot the ball in the net (yes, it is still very boring). The majority of the people complaining are saying how it has the 'Exact' gameplay...they are wrong. The gameplay is noticeably different. The players move more fluidly, the ball bounces more realistically, the AI is better (Which is great, they were horrible in last years version), and the graphics are noticeably crisper. All in all, the game is the same, however, the game has a different 'gameplay' feel. Soccer is soccer and you can't change the game that much to get a drastic difference. We are talking about Fifa here, the game plays the same year in and year out, the only difference we ever see each year are a little sharper graphics and the change of the menu. Since the menu design did not change people went crazy. Sure it annoys me, but the game is great. If you have the 'Launch' title of Fifa then you probably don't need to get this game, however, if you enjoy sharper graphics, a slightly noticeable gameplay difference, a change of commentary, updated rosters, and the warm fuzzy feeling knowing you have the 'updated' version of Fifa, then get this game. Consider one thing...If this game was the first Fifa to arrive on the PSVITA then this game would be give a score in the 80s or possibly in the low 90s, but since the game feels similar to the past Fifa people are throwing fits. I for one enjoy the change in AI intelligence and slight graphics upgrade. I do wish they implemented the console versions career mode. They added way more. It would be nice to be invited to coach a national team and take them to the World Cup. Yes, you read that correctly, the console version in career mode gives you the ability to take a national team through the World Cup, but you have to be invited. That to me would have made the PSVITA version 10X better if it had just that option added to the game.

    Cheers everyone
    Expand
  27. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Its a great game (if you don't have Fifa football) ... This is the same strategy that EA has been employing for a while on portable console ... Fifa 11 = Fifa 12 on PSP are identical (except with new roster, theme, song bla bla bla) ... Having said that probably should complaint to EA for marketing impact engine if the game is identical to Fifa football ... I don't own Fifa football, thus no comment on that). Expand
  28. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    ,All the positive reviews on here come on the Same day, with 9's or 10's, from users with 1 review.... Hello EA! Anyway, Im a real user, with a real review. This game is an absolute travesty, make no mistake, this is practically the same game as Fifa 12. Its an insult to package this as a standalone game when it could have just been a DLC addon. Its really difficult to see the differences between the 2 games, bar the updated teams and kits. The menus are identical, gameplay is practically the same, with all the same problems that the original had. I'll not be purchasing another Fifa game for the Vita, EA you'ra a disgrace. Expand
  29. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    EA should be ashamed of themselves!

    This product is 99.9 % identical to the FIFA Football release, only update is rosters and some minor menu redesigns.

    Very disappointing.

    The product itself explains why easports have not given out any info prior to its release. People who have preordered this game must feel very let down and disapointed. I know I do.
  30. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    Well well well.... This has to be the biggest rip off in videogames history. Apart from more fluid player movements, a new opening animation and some roster/kit updates there is NOTHING different from this and the previous iteration of fifa for vita This could have been just a 1Mb title update but instead EA decide to criminally charge £40 for it. There is no way on earth this game can be justified at that price tag unless you don't own the original fifa football but in any case EA should have not released this in the first place and stuck with updating the existing title.

    Ok so the game is good but theres so much missing from the xbox/ps3 version that its angers me I paid £40 for it.

    Do yourselves a favour and DONT BUY THIS.

    In fact Im gonna bin my vita due to the lack of quality software.

    A total con.
    Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Nov 26, 2012
    50
    Releasing this as FIFA 13 is a decision that borders on scandalous. It's a decent game - but a new one? No chance. [Christmas 2012, p.103]
  2. 65
    It's FIFA, but nowhere close to FIFA 13.
  3. Oct 18, 2012
    65
    A nearly identical edition of the past entry of FIFA Football (Soccer) on PSV. Dull, lazy conversion of a great game.