Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Can you help save the people of Spira? Join Tidus and Yuna on an adventure to rid the world of Sin and bring about the Calm in one of the most popular FINAL FANTASY stories of all time. FINAL FANTASY X HD Remaster is a remastered edition of the game in HD, so if you’ve been wanting to relive your adventures (or experience the story for the first time) now’s your chance. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Mar 31, 2014
    95
    Whether you’re a Final Fantasy veteran, or someone who wasn’t even born yet when FFX first came out, you should waste no time in picking these up.
  2. Mar 31, 2014
    94
    Overall, Final Fantasy X is one of the greatest Japanese RPG's around and this release offers two awesome games for the price of one.
  3. May 4, 2014
    92
    The handheld version is the way to go.[June 2014, p.79]
  4. If you’ve never played Final Fantasy X before, this is a perfect opportunity. You can see the charms of the old-school JRPG in a modern game package and see why so many people cared so much in the first place.
  5. 90
    The Vita has no shortage of quality JRPGs on it, but Final Fantasy X HD Remaster should certainly be in the running for being the finest. With a rich narrative, quality gameplay, and a now in portable form, it's one of the finest games in the entire franchise.
  6. Mar 24, 2014
    90
    Fans of the games are going to love coming back to experience them all over again, with lovely updated visuals and some tweaks that enhance the gameplay just the right amount. Newcomers will find this a lovely introduction into Final Fantasy and if this sells enough, you never know…we may get FFVII HD afterall. But even if we don’t, this is great in its own right.
  7. Mar 17, 2014
    70
    A superb remake of two flawed but still interesting entries in the Final Fantasy canon – and certainly far better games than any of the last three.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    This game really shows what square can do. Its a shame that they have fallen so far from grace but anyways the game still holds up very well today. I really hope the sales for this go through the roof so we can get a final fantasy XII remaster. That game would look beautiful as well as this one.

    But to not sound like a broken record here. This game has amazing characters and gameplay. The environments look especially great in this game. I would say that the voice acting is the only complaint that i have but only a few times in the story. I still love lulu, aurons and yunas voices.
    Collapse
  2. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    I really Love this Game,square really did a good Job for this!! They port it Perfectly!!! The"HD Remaster" word really fits to this Game!!! One of the Memorable Games!!! Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    Just like the first time I played it. Beautiful, I am glad that I was finally able to play the game, that I intentionally bought the PSVITA for. I cant quite say much got strikingly better. But some things got aesthetically... More pleasing. And obviously the color looks better. Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    Fantastic re-imagining for a fantastic game. Despite a few frame-rate hiccups (more so when in environments with many NPCs than in battles, oddly enough), the game looks great on the OLED screen and controls just as you'd expect.

    I never would've imagined that a game like this would ever be possible on a portable system back in 2002 when I first played it. That novelty alone is worth the asking price.
    Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    This collection is a must buy for anyone who has played them on the ps2 back in the day
    i have only played FFX HD so far gotta say very
    impressed with the HD visuals and revamped soundtracks only flaw is its still got that "lip sync issue" from the ps2 version but besides that the game runs very smooth on PSVITA i absolutely would recommend PSVITA Owners to pick this up immediately and see for yourselves if you want more bang for your buck!!!

    added note is the new quick heal via in the field using the VITA's touchscreen which i thought was neat

    Its time to relive the fantasy known as FFX in HD

    Sincerely Sharkman265
    Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2014
    9
    While the game is far from flawless, it managed to hit enough high notes along its 40h or so story to keep have kept me both interested and engaged. It's bright and high-resolution landscapes, fun and dynamic gameplay, and upbeat and occasionally dreamy musical score make up for the occasionally shoddy voice acting, and somewhat disjointed and inconsistent storytelling.

    Graphics
    Pros:
    - High resolution environments that look incredible on the Vita's screen.
    - The main characters look great and animate smoothly.
    - The Full Motion Video carry the story along nicely, adding a lot of value to cutscenes.
    - Lots of detail in the weapons and armor that you pick up along the way.
    - Bosses and Summons look awesome.
    - Great camera angles fly along a set path, giving the game a cinematic feel as you run through gorgeous environments.

    Cons:
    - NPC character models tend to be kind of flat and didn't get reworked much. It isn't that bad, nor does it detract from the gameplay or immersion, but it is noticeable.

    Sound:
    Pros:
    - The music is outstanding. A wide variety of tracks that never annoy or become obnoxious. Come for the game, stay for the music.

    Cons:
    - I'm kind of mixed on the voice acting. As you progress through the game you can tell that the voice actors, clearly not trained in game voice acting (they were recorded years ago, around the year 2000, Square can be forgiven for its first game that had voice acting), get more comfortable with their voice work and improve tremendously. Still, there are countless instances where I just kind of laughed at how bad it was, like actually chuckled, and other times where I was just annoyed. The game could have done a much better job of delivering the lines, but again, I can forgive them given that not many RPGs had such elaborate scripts back in its time.

    Story:
    The game presents fun, colourful, and interesting cast of characters who are on a serious mission which is guaranteed to have a sad ending, no matter what they do to try and prevent it. While never really deviating from the 'journey from one place to another' theme, the subtle twists and turns are enough to keep you engaged. The romantic development between the two main characters is PG13, which is to say that it's somewhat sterile and boring, feeling slightly tacked on. This is no great love story.

    Actually, when you really break the story down, you can see how it never really pushes itself to explain itself or to go into depth or detail regarding its characters and world. It jumps around quite a bit without ever really giving much time to key aspects of the story. Even the final resolution is never really truly explained. I'm not saying that I want them to draw me a picture on a blackboard and connect all the dots, but I just felt like something was missing from the story itself.

    That being said, I did enjoy it despite its campiness.

    Gameplay:
    The game truly shines in its battle system. Rather than having to select only 3 characters with which to battle, you can actively switch on the fly between characters. Need a mage to use her magic to fry up a nasty Flan enemy, call her in at any time. This added dynamism allows you to build a strong team, where individuals have their own unique abilities that they can use in specific scenarios.

    The battles themselves are frequent but never too hard. You'll have a typical variety of Final Fantasy-type enemies whom have frequented FF games for years, and they all have their own weaknesses and invulnerabilities that you'll have to learn to cut through them efficiently. It's never too easy, nor is it ever really all that challenging, not during the main story campaign, at least. For a real challenge you can visit various branching quests later on in the game, where you can use the increased challenge and experience rewards to quickly level up your characters into ridiculously overpowered killing machines.

    Speaking of the leveling up, the game rewards you with AP points which can then be used to move along a sort of leveling grid, giving you access to branching ability paths that help your character gain HP, MP, magic, buffs, and a whole slew of abilities that range. The 'Sphere Grid', as they call it, is actually an interesting and fun way to control what kind of characters you'll develop, will they be magic based? Physically strong? Fast and agile? The choice is yours, the only thing stopping your character development is how much time you put into gaining AP and the necessary 'spheres' which are collected from battles and chests around the game world.

    Conclusion:
    I highly recommend this game for people who love their Final Fantasy games and are looking to relive (or experience for the first time) such a classic and wonderful entry in the series. I do not recommend it to people who dislike RPGs or who are sensitive to poor voice acting. There's lots to enjoy in this massive game, and I'd overlook its flaws any day to be able to experience Spira again.
    Expand
  7. May 8, 2014
    7
    Final Fantasy X, holds a special place in my memory as it was first game for the PS2 besides Metal Gear Solid 2. It also was a bench mark of SquareEnix reducing much of the grind out of the series. However much I wanted to play through FFX again on my Vita, the huge unskippable sections and at times a lack of save spots near the end of the game prevented me getting far during my breaks at work. For a portable release, this is what stops me from giving it a higher ranking. Its an excellent JRPG and I have great memories of power leveling to the point where SIN was nearly a joke at the end, but on a portable this just don't work in its current state. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews