Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 153 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Can you help save the people of Spira? Join Tidus and Yuna on an adventure to rid the world of Sin and bring about the Calm in one of the most popular FINAL FANTASY stories of all time. FINAL FANTASY X HD Remaster is a remastered edition of the game in HD, so if you’ve been wanting to reliveCan you help save the people of Spira? Join Tidus and Yuna on an adventure to rid the world of Sin and bring about the Calm in one of the most popular FINAL FANTASY stories of all time. FINAL FANTASY X HD Remaster is a remastered edition of the game in HD, so if you’ve been wanting to relive your adventures (or experience the story for the first time) now’s your chance. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Mar 31, 2014
    95
    Whether you’re a Final Fantasy veteran, or someone who wasn’t even born yet when FFX first came out, you should waste no time in picking these up.
  2. Mar 31, 2014
    94
    Overall, Final Fantasy X is one of the greatest Japanese RPG's around and this release offers two awesome games for the price of one.
  3. May 4, 2014
    92
    The handheld version is the way to go.[June 2014, p.79]
  4. If you’ve never played Final Fantasy X before, this is a perfect opportunity. You can see the charms of the old-school JRPG in a modern game package and see why so many people cared so much in the first place.
  5. 90
    The Vita has no shortage of quality JRPGs on it, but Final Fantasy X HD Remaster should certainly be in the running for being the finest. With a rich narrative, quality gameplay, and a now in portable form, it's one of the finest games in the entire franchise.
  6. Mar 24, 2014
    90
    Fans of the games are going to love coming back to experience them all over again, with lovely updated visuals and some tweaks that enhance the gameplay just the right amount. Newcomers will find this a lovely introduction into Final Fantasy and if this sells enough, you never know…we may get FFVII HD afterall. But even if we don’t, this is great in its own right.
  7. Mar 17, 2014
    70
    A superb remake of two flawed but still interesting entries in the Final Fantasy canon – and certainly far better games than any of the last three.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    This game really shows what square can do. Its a shame that they have fallen so far from grace but anyways the game still holds up very wellThis game really shows what square can do. Its a shame that they have fallen so far from grace but anyways the game still holds up very well today. I really hope the sales for this go through the roof so we can get a final fantasy XII remaster. That game would look beautiful as well as this one.

    But to not sound like a broken record here. This game has amazing characters and gameplay. The environments look especially great in this game. I would say that the voice acting is the only complaint that i have but only a few times in the story. I still love lulu, aurons and yunas voices.
    Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2014
    10
    This compilation has my favourite game of old Squaresoft, remastered with new graphics (nice) and with remastered music - this wasn't necesaryThis compilation has my favourite game of old Squaresoft, remastered with new graphics (nice) and with remastered music - this wasn't necesary + its sequel made by Square under orders of Enix which is better in terms of gameplay but a bit to girly and all in all worse. But it is the last true final fantasy, and now its portable! I bought vita just to own all square final fantasy and this title is the cherry on top of Vitas pie. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    Just like the first time I played it. Beautiful, I am glad that I was finally able to play the game, that I intentionally bought the PSVITAJust like the first time I played it. Beautiful, I am glad that I was finally able to play the game, that I intentionally bought the PSVITA for. I cant quite say much got strikingly better. But some things got aesthetically... More pleasing. And obviously the color looks better. Expand
  4. Jul 15, 2014
    9
    Weather your a long time fan or are new to FFX I recommend this game, FFX is one of the best games from the final fantasy franchise, why? topWeather your a long time fan or are new to FFX I recommend this game, FFX is one of the best games from the final fantasy franchise, why? top notch character development, although it's strongest asset is in battle were you can change characters and actually use Aeon's in real time.

    (Side-note I just realized on PS2 the graphics for this game were outstanding) (Another side-note Auron has got to be one of the greatest game characters of all time)
    Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    For those who haven't played the original FFX, it is generally considered a defining RPG of its generation and one of the greatest games everFor those who haven't played the original FFX, it is generally considered a defining RPG of its generation and one of the greatest games ever developed. Personally, it is my favorite in the series (although I haven't played 6, soo...). The original brought with it some of the best music in the gaming industry, as well as one of the first fully-featured voiced games. It was also the first Final Fantasy to make the transition to full 3-D. Combined with a wonderful story, great and addicting character progression, and a refreshing take on the turn-based combat, this game still has a lot to give to today's RPG gamers.

    FFX-2 is also a very respectable sequel, as long as you can tolerate the goofy girlishness of the three protagonists.

    The visual upgrades to the game are nothing short of beautiful, and are made even more vibrant by the Vita's OLED screen. This is easily the best HD version of a game I have ever seen. Some PS3 gamers have mentioned the long loading screens, but on Vita I haven't seen one that lasted more than a couple seconds. We also have some touch screen features, like healing outside of the menu or switching summon scene length during combat (which is super awesome). Its nice to have some new content as well, along with the content never before released in the US, such as the expert sphere grid, the "Eternal Calm", and the Final Mission. The updated soundtrack, while jarring at first, has really grown on me.

    However, the game still has some problems. First is the inability to skip cut scenes. How could this have been overlooked? Also, the lip-sync along with some other animations are just awful and not acceptable by today's standards at all. The movement has also been left the same, so the basic 8-direction style is still prominent. Sudden view port changes of the camera are still here as well, and are not easy to deal with. I have also noticed that the game drains my battery quicker than Persona 4 or Walking Dead (my other two Vita games). This probably wasn't avoidable, however, due to the PS3 quality visuals the game renders.

    Regardless, these complaints are not nearly enough to hinder such an amazing experience. The thing is beautiful. 9/10
    Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2014
    9
    I was lucky one cuz didn't play FFX and X-2 when came. With this HD remaster my dreams has come true... FFX excellent about story, battleI was lucky one cuz didn't play FFX and X-2 when came. With this HD remaster my dreams has come true... FFX excellent about story, battle system, OST, characters... But some sh*t mini games was really annoying. Spira, characters, deep story, OST... Will never forget for sure, and this is what Square Soft can do... Square Enix? Go fu...

    For FFX, i can give: 9.5

    About FFX-2: Not quality like FFX about everything (except battle system much better) but this isn't mean X-2 bad game, some interesting things going on about story. Really bad side quest in this game so annoying like FFX mini games... Ah btw, girls are really sexy, so you got so much morale to play game. :P I can give 8.5 for this.

    Two games looks amazing on Vita, if you got OLED one, very little Frame drop problem, sometimes bad loading times and random encounter must die, just give me change if i want to battle againts monsters or not, i know i must do grind but give me choice about now or later...
    Expand
  7. May 8, 2014
    7
    Final Fantasy X, holds a special place in my memory as it was first game for the PS2 besides Metal Gear Solid 2. It also was a bench mark ofFinal Fantasy X, holds a special place in my memory as it was first game for the PS2 besides Metal Gear Solid 2. It also was a bench mark of SquareEnix reducing much of the grind out of the series. However much I wanted to play through FFX again on my Vita, the huge unskippable sections and at times a lack of save spots near the end of the game prevented me getting far during my breaks at work. For a portable release, this is what stops me from giving it a higher ranking. Its an excellent JRPG and I have great memories of power leveling to the point where SIN was nearly a joke at the end, but on a portable this just don't work in its current state. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews