Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. May 6, 2014
    92
    Two amazing classics in one well-priced and convenient release that I'm happy to recommend to series newcomers and veterans who want to revisit these gems on the go.
  2. 90
    These two ports prove that HD re-releases still have the potential to feel like more than cheap money-grabs; the seamless God of War Collection seems like it was meant for a handheld all along.
  3. May 27, 2014
    85
    Kratos hits it out of the park once more, only this time he shows that greatness may rest in the palm of your hands.
  4. May 16, 2014
    81
    The PS Vita port of these glorious games could have been better, but if you want to play them on the bus...
  5. Jun 9, 2014
    80
    At its worst a little choppier than you may remember, at its best downright timeless. The port's not perfect, but this is still a great way to play two of PS2's best games on the move.
  6. May 30, 2014
    80
    Minor gripes aside, though, the God of War Collection remains incredibly playable, proving once again that Kratos is one of those rare, ageless creations whose mechanics never seem to age even if his visuals do.
  7. Solid but also a HD collection that has no remarkable improvements. [June 2014, p83]
  8. May 10, 2014
    80
    As a port it's just correct, but the quality of the games included is undeniable, and becomes another great opportunity to try them.
  9. May 6, 2014
    80
    This is a great deal if you haven't played these two God of War games, but everybody else may think twice about the $30 asking price.
  10. May 26, 2014
    75
    God of War: Collection has some issues with audio and visuals, specially in cinematics, but it's still as brutal as always. Newcomers will enjoy it as much as hardcore fans.
  11. May 22, 2014
    75
    God of War: Origins Collection is an excellent collection for God of War fans.
  12. May 15, 2014
    75
    A good chance to bring the great remastered version of PlayStation 3 to PS Vita, the new God of War Collection for the portable walks a few steps behind its home sister version, due to a not very accurate use of the touch control of the system and a waste of graphical resources in a-port-more-than-HD version which shows painful low-res cutscenes. Still, God of War 1 & 2 are truly enjoyable masterpieces that everyone should play at last once in a lifetime. Let's just say that this time the God of War is more of a Semi-god.
  13. 75
    Only trophy hunters and hardcore fans of the series will have the need to play through the original games for yet another time.
  14. May 6, 2014
    75
    It's not perfect, but if you absolutely must have Kratos on your Vita with some trophies, the God of War Collection will more than suffice.
  15. Jul 28, 2014
    74
    A rough port of a pair of great games that makes them show their age.
  16. 70
    The God of War Collection on the Vita isn’t a very good port, which is a shame as the both God of War and its sequel are great instalments to the Vita’s library.
  17. May 27, 2014
    70
    For a reasonable price, this collection for PS Vita can be a good curiosity, but no more than that.
  18. May 27, 2014
    70
    God of War Collection on PS Vita is without any doubt the worst version of the game, due to many technical problems that are really hard do tolerate on this hardware.
  19. May 20, 2014
    70
    If you’ve never played the first two titles in Sony Santa Monica’s seminal series before, then you’re probably better off sampling them on the PS3 first – but if, for whatever reason, you need to take Kratos on the go, then this Vita version represents a more than adequate gift from the Gods.
  20. May 19, 2014
    70
    Even a lame porting doesn't make the God of War Collection a bad game: it certainly is better on your sofa and your TV, but if you really can't resist without Kratos, this is a suitable solution on the go. Just don't expect the same audio-video fidelity from this version.
  21. May 15, 2014
    70
    Not an essential buy for Vita owners, but even with a graphic downgrade, both games are still two of the most beautiful pieces of software available on PlayStation.
  22. May 7, 2014
    70
    Two of the best action games of the PS2 now in HD, with trophies and touch controls for the PS Vita... if you have already played those games before, it's not essential, but if not, just buy this collection.
  23. Even though both God of War 1 - 2 are very incredible games, on PS Vita it's got weird sound effects and bad controls. The God of War Collection on the Vita isn’t a very good port.
  24. May 13, 2014
    68
    God of War and God of War II from the God of War Collection are awesome games, but the touchpad implementations added to the PlayStation Vita pack lack creativity and feel more like forced features than useful ones. The God of War Collection for PlayStation 3 is way better than this new version for the handheld platform.
  25. May 9, 2014
    63
    Both God of War 1 and 2 are incredible games that deserve the best possible treatment. Unfortunately, the Vita version of God of War Collection just doesn't do the series justice.
  26. May 6, 2014
    60
    While the Vita port is mechanically sound, its disappointingly low resolution and awkward use of the rear touch screen is appalling. Yeah, you can play God of War on the go now – but you probably shouldn’t.
  27. Jul 31, 2014
    50
    God of War’s first two entries should absolutely not be missed now that they’ve been remade—just choose your edition wisely if you crave the grandeur of an actual HD remake.
  28. Jun 5, 2014
    50
    This game is a mayor deception. The God of War games were so epic on the PlayStation 2 but look really bad on the PS Vita. Therefore it's a total disaster. Poor Kratos, he deserves better.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. JJ_
    May 9, 2014
    7
    I just picked this up today and was surprisingly underwhelmed but still satisfied. The resolution and textures don't exactly qualify this as an "HD remake" cause its pretty the resolution of the PS2. Maybe worse in some areas. Baffles me that they can make FFX HD so good but make God of War so muddy. Gameplay and everything else is the same. Just don't expect it to look as good. Full Review »
  2. May 7, 2014
    9
    I picked up my new PlayStation Vita bundle yesterday that included Borderlands 2 and I also picked up God of War and I must say that I am very pleased that I can now play my two favorite God of War games on the go! Which is one of the main reasons I got my PlayStation Vita :) The only thing that I wish they would have done with this game was UP the graphics a bit. But even at that, It really doesn't bother my play-ability of the game. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is a fan of the GoW series. Full Review »
  3. May 6, 2014
    8
    Like the Metal Gear Solid Vita release, it transfers great to the portable system and the series has proven it can kick major ass on a portable. Sadly the portable games were not included which weakens the package. Granted they can be downloaded to Vita, but for $30 bucks, it should have at least been packaged with download codes for these PSP classics. Full Review »