• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jun 12, 2012
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 510 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 510

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Gravity Rush is a very creative and original game from Sony. This was one of my most anticipated games for 2012. The graphics are amazing, they're on par with its big brother PS3. If you need an excuse to buy a PS VITA, then this is the one. This is not only the best Vita game out there, but one of the best handheld games Ive ever played!
  2. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    This is quite simply the new high standard for future games on the amazing handheld Sony has brought to us, I see a bright future for the VITA if high quality games like Gravity Rush keep coming.
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Best game I have ever played on a handheld. Played it on one of my buddy's PS Vita and immediately went to Best Buy to buy my own along with Gravity Rush. All my friends already have PS Vita's so its awesome that we all have on now. The gameplay is rock solid just like all Sony exclusives. Buy it!!!!!
  4. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    awesome visuals, tight controls,new gameplay innovation, colorful artstyle
    highly recommended to all Vita owners

    edit: Ignore all those Troll they haven't even played the Game this Game is definitely not a Jrpg
    (nice try Derpgames lol)
  5. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    A wonderful breathe of fresh air, always nice to play a new IP instead of countless sequels/spin-offs. Gravity Manipulating mechanic is great, music is great, art style is great, overall atmosphere is fantastic. Kat is amusing as a character and has a pretty easy to please/helping personality. Combat is simple, all attacks are kicks really but the gravity mechanic throws a wrench in and makes the combat far more interesting.

    Just a solid great new title.
    Expand
  6. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Think back to the first time you booted up Final Fantasy 7, seeing this amazing new world, Aerith walking the streets of Midgar, to Clouds first appearance getting off the train and you suddenly began to realize you were about to play something special... That's exactly how you feel with gravity rush in all honesty. This is a must buy title that no one should miss regardless if you own a vita or not... There are still amazing game developers out there and Gravity Rush is a prime example of it. Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    A really fun game. Although the story is not fully explained. I have a feeling everything will be explained in Gravity Rush 2. The controls are ok, it just takes a little time to get used to them. You will learn to use the Right analog stick and then fine tune with the PS Vita motion sensor.
  8. Gaz
    Jul 20, 2012
    0
    Alright people, let's get down to business. Is Gravity Rush worth your money? The answer is yes. Gravity Rush has been watched closely for a while by gamers and critics alike, and while they all agree that Gravity Rush looks interesting, how's the time to put it to the test. And I'm happy to report that Gravity Rush is a superb entry in the Vita's library and one that every Vita owner should own. The first thing you'll notice are the game's stellar visuals. The developers really pulled out all the stops making this game look awesome. The characters are anime-inspired, and the story has a similar style. Light glistens, colors pop, and the cityscape looks great as you explore every bit of it. Some critics complain about how the visual scaling decreases the amount of depth to the world. I, however, thought that it enhanced the experience. As you get farther away from distant parts of the city, it turns into a dark, amber silhouette. One could complain that this detracts from the visual art style of the game, but it still looks beautiful. But visuals don't mean a thing if the gameplay and story isn't solid, and thankfully, most of it is. You play as young heroine, Kat. You wake up in the slums of a giant floating city with no memories and a mysterious starry cat next to you. This cat (whom Kat affectionately names Dusty) gives her gravity shifting powers that quickly make her a person of interest between everyone in the city, both good and bad. It's a pretty solid narrative, mostly told though comic book panel cutscenes (the town is named Hekseville, and since they never say it, I have no idea how to pronounce it) but it's a nice, new touch on how to tell a video game story.  Kat herself is a very cute a protagonist and is the likable "I'll do whatever I can to save the world" kind of hero. Unfortunately if you're not into the silly, emotional, anime kind of story, it'll probably just go right over your head.  Luckily, though, the gameplay has plenty enough ambiance to keep you coming back. You'll press R to float and then target a location and press it again to make the targeted surface the new gravity focus for Kat. Aim towards the air, and you can soar around the city. In combat, gravity kicks can be performed and inanimate objects can be hurled at opponents. There are also gems that are scattered around the city, which can fix broken locations and objects, as well as upgrade Kat's powers. The game has a decent length and you'll want to explore every inch of Hekseville's open-world environment. With all the good that Gravity Rush offers, it's impossible not to point out a few of it's flaws. As great as the main story is, I wish there were some side missions. You can get a few real, genuine "story driven" side missions and some new costumes, either as a pre-order bonus, or but various DLC.  However, most of the so-called side missions are rack-em-up score challenges like, "beat as many enemies as you can in 5 minutes", or " hit all the checkpoints around the city for a race" kind of a thing. These might be good enough for some people, but I found myself wanting more. Also, the combat can be frustrating at some points, mainly during fights with aerial enemies, due to the fact that it's hard to get a fix on their position and they seem to like moving out of the way. This, is by far not a deal-breaker, though, and if it is for you, you probably just weren't trying hard enough. Overall, Gravity Rush proves itself to be an amazing entry into the Vita's library and something that almost every gamer will enjoy. Expand
  9. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    This game is absolutely fantastic. From the beautiful art direction to the perfectly fitting soundtrack to the simple but exhilarating gameplay, this game has it all. Its clear that this game draws inspiration from a lot of other great titles, but the way this game has combined elements from other titles makes it a truly unique experience. You have probably never played a game like Gravity Rush before, and that's a good thing. Flying, (or falling I should say) and exploring the games beautiful environment is great fun. Although there isn't quite as much depth to the open world setting in gravity rush, what is here is a blast to play. I should also mention the vita specific controls, which are great. Tilting the vita to look around your environment as your floating really adds to the disorienting nature to the game play and really adds to the gameplay. You COULD use the right analog stick to preform the same function, but it isn't nearly as immersive. Also doing a gravity slide by placing both thumbs in the corner of the screen and tilting is alot of fun. If you've been on the fence about buying the vita, this game alone should change your mind. Fun and original titles like this don't come around to often. Expand
  10. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    This game is incredible and I love the innovation in it. In this day of play it safe make a shooter it feels good to know someone is taking a risk. Also too many people are judging this and other Vita/3DS games as if they were console games. For a handheld this game is amazing and shows that the PS Vita really is a next gen handheld.
  11. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    I thought this game wud be good but it was better than good it was really good, gameplays was really good, controls as well was really good i like how it uses a lot of the buttons and also graphics was really good, the cat looks like a real cat sort of mostly. And music was good i downloaded soundtrack off the youtube website and i listen it in bad quality on iPod, so happy now. I like it 10 thumbs up Sony!!!!! Expand
  12. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    So far this is the Vita's strongest title (I admit that isn't saying a lot).
    Fantastic graphics, atmosphere, music, and fun gameplay mechanics really shape up to show off the Vita.
    A must have for anyone with a Vita, and a brain.
  13. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    High quality, AAA title with an innovative game mechanic. The story is deep and draws you into the world. Easily the best handheld game to come out in a while.
  14. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Haterz gon hate, let em, anyone who spends 10minutes with gravity rush will be glad they played it. Game is rock solid and a couple idiots on a PC and that fat POS Jim Sterling (Worlds worst reviewer )can't change that!
  15. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Simply the best game avaliable for the PSVita and shows that the handheld device has more power than the 3DS. The graphics are stunning, gameplay is fluid, unique, original and innoative and the whole experience is just a blast, one you will never forget.
  16. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Excellent game, my favorite ps vita game so far, definitely a must buy for all video game lovers, simply amazing game, Best game I have ever played on a handheld.
  17. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Quite a good game. It has some flaws, but the overall presentation more than makes up for it. The unique use of gravity control to move, fight, and explore makes it different from other open world games, and makes this game a must have for Vita owners.
  18. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    As the head of Nintendo America My body is usually ready.....but this is the first time i can truly say that my body wasn't ready.

    10/10 Game of the Year
  19. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Amazing game. Exploring the world is fun, and unlike most things I've seen in games. Combat is interesting, and has more to it then meets the eye at first. The story is interesting, yet has a lot of components to keep up with, and ends in a way that all but guarantees a sequel. The level up and story progression system were also extremely well done as it gives you a good amount of freedom. Great game, best Vita game out there. Expand
  20. Jun 21, 2012
    9
    I give Gravity Rush a 9. I've just completed it, what a truly great game it is!
    My overall playtime was probably between 15-20 hours, I can't check because the clock is bugged but it was most certainly longer than 12 hours which is probably the average, I spent a good bit of time just flying around and collecting gems.
    I had pretty high expectations (love Toyama's stuff) but Gravity
    Rush, for me, is his most accomplished game so far - there are moments in the game where you feel a rush (excuse the pun) of pure joy, as you plummet across the skies in shifting gravity, launching yourself head on to your enemies, painted against a pastel water coloured sky that melts into the landscape.
    For anyone still on the fence, I'll list a few of the pros and cons I came across:
    + Lovely story, there are a lot of loose ends, where the games just gives you enough to speculate but also keeps you guessing, the ending heavily implies a sequel is planned. These are my favourite kind of stories, where a lot of it is left to your own imagination rather than having an exposition dump
    + Charming, likeable characters. I don't think there's a single character I disliked! This is a big deal for me. Kat is a brilliant heroine.
    + Amazing visuals - technically it's the best looking handheld title I've ever played.
    + Carrying on from the last point, the art style is awesome, entirely consistent - down to the maps, the menus, the comic book style cutscenes, the quirky voice acting - it's all ace.
    + The soundtrack mixes equal levels of whimsy and more bombastic tunes to create a wonderful mixture of sound
    + When it hits it stride, the gameplay is really very fun, launching yourself around and homing in on enemies while being suspended upside down above a skyscraper becomes second nature to you
    + Exciting and varied boss battles
    + The gyro is used very well for subtle maneuvers
    - The gryo isn't as effective for more demanding maneuvers and for navigating tight corners and whatnot - The dash move is really quite unyielding and there seems to be a steep learning curve to master it (compared to the other uses with the gyro)
    - While the world is designed wonderfully, there's not much to do outside of challenges and listening to rumours. Some more gimmicks to add distraction and variety would be welcome (For instance, they could have fleshed out Kat's home and let us collect lots of little objects to put in there, or there could be some sort of Fortune Telling mini game)
    - Specifically, more variety with the sidequests themselves would have been nice - More enemy variety would be great
    - The game brings in a lot of story elements and characters towards the end, and so they're not expanded upon enough - we will have to wait at least a year or so for a sequel :(

    Most of my complaints are basically that I wanted more variety, which is something that a sequel would definitely remedy
    I'm pretty confident there will be one
    It's my 'Folklore' of the Vita (a total gem!) It's the most ambitious handheld game I've ever had the pleasure to play, and with that comes some flaws, but I absolutely can overlook them because Gravity Rush is everything I look for in a game; oozing with charm and character, a joy to both look at and play, and leaves me wanting more.
    It's currently happily sitting on my 'Game of the Year' spot for a handheld title. And certainly takes it for 'Best new I.P' for me.
    Expand
  21. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    9.5 - The trolls are coming at full force, which is nothing new. Anyway, this is an incredible new adventure. Incredible sprawling and beautiful world coupled with an incredible art style, similar to Skyward Sword. Presentation is classy and sophisticated. Gameplay is action packed, daringly bold, and wonderfully executed. The original score is brilliant and gorgeous. There are a few rough edges, such as a semi wonky camera and gravity falling onto a building at a weird angle, but looking around those minor nitpicks Gravity Rush is a near perfect adventure. High replay value, wonderfully charming and daringly original. If you have a Vita, this is a must, and vita-less gamers now have something to envy. Expand
  22. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    Haven't played through the entire game yet, just the full demo, and quite a bit on my friends Vita because my game hasn't come in, but I can safely say that this game is a 9.5/10 for me. The gravity mechanic, and the rest of the game-play is extremely fun, and innovative.
  23. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    I'll give it a solid 10. This game is a piece of art in almost anything but the fighting mechanics gameplay. are kind sort off repetitive but en joyful. I easily recommend this game to anyone that have a PS Vita. I'm still enjoying this awesome game.
  24. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Ive been waiting for this since i first saw the trailer and i have to say it is amazing. The graphics is smooth, slick and beautiful. the gameplay and controls are polished and refined. Kat is a very lovable character and i cant wait to meet her again hopefully in a sequel. The game definitely doesnt feel like a handheld!
  25. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Amazing game! Finally the reason to own a ps vita!!! This game is beyond amazing and I hope to see more from these developers!Everything is Macnificent, minor glitches but nothing to be bothered about!
  26. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Great artwork, great gameplay, great story...GREAT GAME!
    Kat is such an adorable character.. Im really enjoying this game, I have no idea how it will end, but I sure hope we get more games like this one!!!
    love it
  27. Jun 13, 2012
    9
    Gravity Rush is the first real gem I've played that was exclusively made for the Vita. It showcases beautiful graphics, a fun and smooth physics engine, adorable story telling that is able to get a bit dark at times, and most importantly, a fresh idea. The ability to shift gravity to your will works FLAWLESSLY and it is accompanied by an upgrade system that really makes you feel like each time you invest your gems into an upgrade, the payoff really shows. The gameplay takes place in a nice sized open world, that expands as the story goes on. The character's are likeable, and the story, while not revolutionary by any means, does enough to keep you interested and smiling. The real focus here as far as the gameplay goes comes with the many challenges throughout the world. Players can choose to help restore parts of the world they find themselves in, and in doing so are rewarded with new challenges that utilize Kat's (the main character) skill set. These challenges are range from decent to incredibly fun, and while they are not too difficult to beat and get a bronze medal in, you are going to have to do a bit of extra work if you want to get the gold. The main story has you take on a variety of quests, ranging from talking to citizens and helping find missing people, to fighting off massive Nevi (the antagonists) monsters who are trying to take over.

    The world is a beautiful one, and it really shows off the power of the Vita. A game like this, where the core premise is gravity manipulation, means that the designers really had to build not only a horizontally beautiful world, but also take into consideration all the verticallity that comes with that. You are able to scale walls, run or slide across rooftops, and or jump on to massive blimps that are floating around the world and THIS is one of the things that makes Gravity Rush a truly unique experience. The world starts out relatively small and expands to something much larger by the end of the game, and it does so at what feels like just the right pace.

    I really hope this review doesn't get lost among all the nonsense that seems to be getting posted on metacritic about this game. It's debatable whether or not Gravity Rush alone is a good reason to purchase a Vita, but if you have the Vita already there's almost NO reason for you to not at least check out the demo (although in my opinion the demo doesn't do the final product justice). This is a great game, and it has me, along with many other Vita owners, excited about the future of this system.
    Expand
  28. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    This game is immensely fun, no matter what you're doing in it. I'm only about 4-5 hours into my playthrough but I can say this is easily one of the funnest games I've played in recent memory. I said Rayman Origins was my favorite vita game but it's gonna have to share the cake now. -update- My only complaints are that the combat does get repetitive after a while and the missions feel a bit too linear, but I'm still giving this a 10 as I still think this is a very ambitious title especially for a handheld. Expand
  29. j3i
    Jun 14, 2012
    10
    Gravity Rush was highly entertaining and one of the few games I wished would not end. Though the controls take some getting used to, mastering them and learning to use every ability at your disposal feels amazing. However, the developers give little reason to explore the in-game world (which is a shame since whoever designed it is a GENIUS.) That said, this game has a very charming presentation and story. The game mechanics are simple but can be used creatively. The six axis motion and touchscreen controls are not too intrusive. Overall, I do not see any reason not to get this game for the Vita as it is simply a great video game experience. There is definitely a bright future for this IP. Expand
  30. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    The game is great and has really fresh mechanic. I knew from the start that it would be story based, and i like that, so i bought it and enjoyed. But i read some negative reviews there people didn't like the game just because it's not OMG RESISTANCE burning skies?!!11 wtf?!?!1 are you serious. It's not FPS, it's not even a shooter. The game is totally not about that.
  31. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    Believe the hype! Gravity Rush will not disappoint, this game is truly amazing! I've had high expectations for this game and it delivered! Gravity Rush uses innovative controls, a compelling storyline, a likeable cast, and spectacular graphics! Go buy it!
  32. Jun 21, 2012
    8
    Great Game on vita.
    The story is creative and quiet good. However towards the end the story is rushed and should not.
    Kat is quite amusing with dusty and you can connect with however the developer fails to deliver any other connection with any other character. Often characters are thrown in to mix up the story but give the impression of "WTF??" And there is no reason behind it.
    The
    fighting can get annoying by missing enemies however don't let that stop you from picking this up. Accept the fighting mechanic for what it is and you'll enjoy this title.
    Disappointed by every boss battle however, they are not hard and can easily beat within a matter of minutes. During the time with this game you will be lucky if you die once and that will probably be in a challenge.
    Challenges and free roam are fun. However i suggest you take time from the main game to complete as these will help you, since it isn't worth it after the main game unless you must have that trophy. Do explore, explore, explore! Its get and gravity sliding around the city is really great.
    The Rpgness is nice addition to this title and really makes the impression that your skills are improving and you are becoming the "Gravity Queen".
    But let us not forget the gravity mechanic in this game. Great fun! Just as most as running from cops in GTA, NFS, Jak II

    Main Points
    +story great
    +challenges and free roam
    +rpgness
    +Great fun
    +Gravity rocks! And so does the slide!
    -No real need to care about other characters
    -lack of a reason to come back after you beat the game
    -Story is rushed towards the end
    Expand
  33. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    A really amazing game that surpasses the sum of it's parts through sheer will of stylish force. Once you've grasped the gravity mechanic, the world opens up in a whole new way. A must play for any Vita owner.
  34. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Gravity rush is a one of a kind. gameplay is very fluid, art style is amazing, the game is very east to get the hang of. one of the best games ive purchased in a while the graphics are amazing, music is phenomenal, and the over-all world is very large.
  35. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    Undoubtly the most anticipated title of Sonyâ
  36. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    If there's one Vita game you're going to get, it has to be Gravity Rush. The mix of story and game play works out nicely together. The graphics are beautiful and the towns are highly detailed. Flying anywhere you want is a sensational feeling.
  37. Jun 13, 2012
    9
    A superfluid review:

    Story: The plot is light-hearted, whimsical and quite humorous. Kat, the protagonist, is outgoing and free spirited. She is most definitely likeable and you will find yourself wanting to see her story of self realization through to the end. Though the game feels very Japanese, Gravity Rush does a good job of keeping any player interested regardless of their views
    of the Anime/Japanese style.

    Combat: The combat mechanic is basic but fun. You will find yourself button mashing more often then not and you will be frustrated by the occasional, missed gravity kick (as you soar right by an enemy and off into the distance). The game try's to convince you the upgrade system is expansive but mostly results in more powerful versions of the same moves and attacks. Aside from a handful of special moves, you will start the game with most of Kat's arsenal of abilities from the get-go. The baddies you face may look similar at first, but as the number of creatures increase so does their diversity. One of my favourite enemies looks as if it was ripped from a "War of The Worlds" movie poster, painted by Salvador Dali. Just think 'Stilts', and you will know it, when you see it.


    Just Screwing Around: In between story missions, you will find yourself naturally wanting to experiment with your gravity powers, I am glad to say there are plenty of outlets scattered through-out the world in which to do so. Exploration is rewarded with precious stones, the game's currency, which you can use to upgrade Kat's latent powers and generally make her stronger. You can unlock challenge missions through-out the game's environment, which test your mastery of gravity and endow you with a large sum of stones. There is no Grand Theft Auto sand box here, but the break from pushing the plot forward is welcome and rewarding.

    Style: In this department; Gravity Rush Soars(Pun intended). The Cell Shading was an excellent choice and is complimented by the multi-prospective comic book style cut scenes. The water colors look fluid and while "falling" through the air, there is a wonderful feeling of speed (and weight, as you impact the ground, wall, building, airship, or bridge you may find in your path). Personally, I love how clumsy Kat looks as she vaults, arms and legs flailing a bit, from building to building. The way she seems to crash into every surface she lands on, seems appropriate, considering Kat is always falling.... even if she is; falling up.

    Outlook: Gravity Rush is an excellent game. It has a pick-up and play feel that suits the Vita Hand-held. And where it does suffer a failing or two, wonky camera for instance, all is ultimately forgiven. The $35 price tag is well worth a chance to play as Kat and defy gravity as you see fit.

    *Please disregard all the inappropriately rock bottom scores some users have been posting, I cannot, for the life of me, understand who would completely dislike Gravity Rush as it is unique, colorful, funny... and most importantly fun.
    Expand
  38. Jun 14, 2012
    9
    Gravity Rush is a gem hiding in the sea of rehashed ideas and mediocrity that big budget games have become today. It saddens me a little, to see certain review sites seem to have bought into the norm so much, that they can't even appreciate a game as special as this one. Gravity Rush is perhaps the best game I've played this year. As a first gen Vita title, it suffers some technical limitations in draw distance and the like, but highly benefits from the control scheme, overall making the Vita feel like the best system to host the game. Characters are likable, music excellent, the style and comic cut scenes work well together, the gravity mechanic isn't a gimmick, but truly fun and gives a great sense of freedom... pacing is great, it's broken up well between story missions, challenges, and sandbox, so it always feels fresh.... the only flaw is perhaps that combat mechanics can sometimes feel slightly less polished than the rest of the game.. which is why I rated down a point. Overall though, Gravity Rush has really impressed me, and it's the type of game you want to tell people about, so that they can have the great experience of playing it. Expand
  39. Jun 14, 2012
    9
    This game is the first true PS Vita IP, its an awesome adventure, beautiful cities and art style, charming characters and story. Controls need to be tighter in the sequel otherwise a must have.
  40. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    A true one of a kind game, Gravity Rush("Gravity Daze" in Japan) attempts to change the overall quality of the PS vita game library.Gravity Rush is a special game that does not come around often, it introduces an interesting local and interesting control mechanics that really do set it apart from the crowd.The story is quite simple and is interesting enough to keep you playing,although the male characters are unnecessarily weak ,Please do not miss out on Gravity Rush because it is the best PS Vita game to date and is a must-buy. Expand
  41. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    Gravity Rush has beautiful visuals (cell shaded so it will age gracefully, you can come back to this game in 10 years and it will still look great, ie: windwaker), its got a wonderful and fully realized story. While the combat is sometimes wonky, once you get the hang of it, its extremely satisfying, and utilizes the Vita's hardware beautifully. As with anything new, it takes getting used to, but once you do - you'll be able to experience one of the best new IP's of the year. I highly recommend grabbing your copy of Gravity Rush today if you already own a Vita; if not, start saving. Expand
  42. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Great game, wonderful controls, fun combat. I love it! Best vita game so far, could be a wonderful console release. Fun and random missions break up any monotony.
  43. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    This game has three things going for it that make it excellent: 1)amazing graphics, 2)beautiful art style, 3)game mechanic that is unique AND fun. Some games sacrifice fun to be innovative, but this game manages to do both. On top of that, you have great art rendered beautifully. I would give this game a 10 no matter what platform it was on. The fact that it is portable is just incredible.
  44. Jun 14, 2012
    9
    I have played the demo months before this came out and I instantly preordered it and now its realese is great and one of the best vita games. The graphics look Nice for a early title and it is cool how yo control gravity which makes the combat fun
  45. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing!! Very beautiful and intelligent, different!! The PS Vita its beggining to win life!! I'm having too much fun. An extensive and creative world. Happy with my Vita.
  46. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    Joined metacritic just to get the word out about this game.

    I've been a hardcore gamer for like 20 years and haven't played a game this immersive since final fantasy VII.

    YOU NEEED to buy this people. I promise you won't be disappointed.

    Gameplay, story, characters, beautiful music - it's got a weird awesome vibe going on.
  47. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Excelente juego, totalmente artístico y adictivo, una COMPRA OBLIGADA para todo fan de los juegos de aventuras y poseedores de un VITA. 100/100 Graficas, musica, historia, personajes, toda una experiencia UNICA e INIGUALABLE en la palma de nuestras manos.
  48. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    I was continually impressed while playing this game with both the ambitious scale of the city, and the calibre of the gameplay. I have heard complaints about the combat system, but I found it to be quite enjoyable. The particular challenges of using the gravity system was a welcome new experience. If I had one complaint it would be that I wish there were more story-based side missions rather that just the challenges - but that is only a minor gripe in a very enjoyable game. Expand
  49. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    Excellent game...one of the best open world games ive played in a while with great great art style and music...lots to do always keep it feeling fresh...a much needed great title for the Vita to help it pick up in sales...something it very much deserves
  50. Nov 17, 2012
    6
    Let's be honest. This game has original graphics and original gameplay never seen before in a game. But it is sooo boring. It's all about collecting gems and upgrading your abilities. There is a story, quite fun although sometimes I was amazed how rude Kat was to other people. Definitely my least favorite character. Completed after a few hours. Ok, what now? I can fly, I have an open world so what should I do. Oh, looks like I can do some side missions. Race? Should be fun. Okay, race was boring. What now... Wait, everything in this game is boring. Never mind, I'll just wait for a good game. Yeah, after completing the main story line, I had nothing to do. I no longer enjoyed flying, I no longer enjoyed the graphics, there was nothing more to do. After 5 days of playing, I no longer wanted to play the game. Would I buy it again? Yeah, I probably would, but definitely not worth the money now when AC3: Liberation and NFS Most Wanted are out. Expand
  51. Feb 17, 2013
    7
    Gravity Rush may look quite interesting and beautiful, but in the end it is shallow in pretty much every aspect. The world you move through is but a dead background, where people move aimlessly until you catch them in your gravity stream as you fly around, only to release them a bit further where they usually end up falling to their death in the bottomless emptiness beyond the city. And nobody seems to care.

    Story is kinda interesting, but you are never quite told who is who in this weird, almost surreal, world and in the end I just felt kinda pissed that I do not know anything about the city and its inhabitants, about the monsters that attack them, about the nature of the world itself. It just feels random as if there is no real background and the whole thing is just a bunch of ideas smashed together.

    Gameplay itself is fairly limited in options and the combat mechanics could use a good game designer, because the potential there is much, much greater than what the game ultimately has to offer. Now this is all rather negative and I'd like to stress out that Gravity Rush is not a bad game, but my expectations for it were considerably higher and the potential to fulfill them was rather obvious. Decent game, but shallow and therefore disappointing to sum it up.
    Expand
  52. Jun 16, 2012
    8
    This game alone makes it's totally worth it to buy a PS Vita. Unfortunately, there is only a handful PSV games worth to buy so far. The game play is very original, the look and level design are similar to Jet Set Radio Future in a way, which is one of my favourite title all time.
  53. Jun 17, 2012
    9
    Gravity Rush is a great game that displays the PS Vita's potential. Its a must buy for anyone who ones a PS Vita, enjoys comics and superheros, and doesn't mind a bit of Japanese voice acting. With a well built world that encourages users to explore and experiment, I give this game a 9/10, as everything that goes into the game just makes sense. My only complaint which lost the game its 10/10 rating is in combat. When combat begins to get more advanced, I found the camera angle to be difficult to manipulate and often took hits because of it, however this should be expected in a game on the vita. Other than that, the game is great- from the story and how it is told to the characters to the art style (I really like the art style). The game also has replay value, if you are up for the challenge, and a handful of dlcs planned, so if you are thinking about picking it up, go right ahead, I recommend it. Expand
  54. Jun 17, 2012
    8
    Gravity Rush is very fun to play. The first couple of hours on your Vita will likely blow you away. It's gravity control is very unique and is a great new idea in a world of sequels and copying other people's ideas. The enemies are a little blah, and the gameplay does get a little repetitive but this is still a wonderful, highly recommended game. I hope that Sony builds from this because with a little more polish and a little more variation it easily would have been a 10/10 for me. Expand
  55. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Awesome game, Gravity Rush is a great game that displays the PS Vita's potential. Its a must buy for anyone who ones a PS Vita, enjoys comics and superheros, and doesn't mind a bit of Japanese voice acting. With a well built world that encourages users to explore and experiment
  56. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Great game. In the midst of it now. The graphics are detailed, I really enjoy the storytelling and the anti-gravity effects are way cool. One of the best games I've played on the Vita thus far.
  57. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    This is one of those special games that come around every so often. A great little sandbox game with bundles of character ,style,originality.id recommend this game in an instant go buy it and enjoy!
  58. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    The atmosphere is fantastic, the music score is brilliant, the characters are edgy and the game looks amazing. Package this with a unique control options, fun missions an interesting story and I'll venture to say that this is one of the best games on the Vita to date. I think you should go buy it.
  59. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    Visually amazing. Rocking soundtrack. Great story with vivid characters. It plays like a dream. Sandbox RPG with tons of hours of FUN. Best game in a handheld. Period.
  60. Jul 7, 2012
    9
    very Unique most have game for the vita. So far this is the best game available for the vita. It is alot of fun and it is pack with action. I never played a game like this. Its a game and a comic book. The comic scene in this game is great. Very good graphics for a handheld. I like the cartoonish graphics. It isnt as great as ps3 graphics but it still a very good design game. There is so much to do on this game. A lot of side missions in this game. One of vita best. #handheld game of the year Expand
  61. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    A very beautiful game. It is a masterpiece in the art, story, and gameplay. It was one of the most original games I have played and I want more! If you were thinking about getting a Vita, this game would make it worth it. The best game out for the Vita currently, hands down.
  62. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    Under the unrelenting pressure from my best friend I caved at the point of sale stall of my local GAME and walked away One Hundred and Fifty F***ing quid lighter with a Vita in my bag and a digital copy of Gravity Rush my only tonic for solace. Alas, thank god, it was money well spent. My problem with portable consoles thus far was that any game made specifically for them would have made more sense on a console, because they didn't do anything that their parent hardware didn't already do. The PSP was the Playstation on the go with nothing else to offer while the 3DS boasted 3D support. I hate 3D (it gives me a headache) and I hate portable consoles. All but this Vita, that is. Finally a handheld console that can do things the bigger models cannot. Granted: Gravity Rush only narrowly avoids the pit trap of trying too hard to show off the Vita's bells and whistles, but it's such a charming game I couldn't help but love it. The visuals, the art style and the chance to give Isaac Newton the middle one all made for quite a compelling game. This won't be the best game the Vita makes, but if more titles such as this are on the way then the Vita will do very well in the year to come. Just keep your expectations in check please, it's early days yet and GR does show the tell tale signs of a developer working out how to play with it's new toy. Expand
  63. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Whow! Cute Story, Atmosphere...and very nice Gameplay. And even the Controls do feel very right. Its really a unique little title that combines all these things like it was a picture whole of the time. Kudos to that team! Its one of these games, that makes you love your Vita. And if somebody says this game isn't good, he's right. Its just awesome! It reminds me somtimes on Batman:AC, or GTA in some way, but with an anime art style and some asian love. Why so? Guess you know it, if you've played it! Expand
  64. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    Gravity Rush was supposed to be the PlayStation Vita's savior. And honestly, it comes very close. The graphics are near perfect the only problem I had with them was that when you kicked something, the object would disappear. But that's the only problem with the graphics, everything else is PERFECT. The comic feel really pulls it all together. The idea is ingenious. It's perfect. "Falling" towards the destination you want to go. It isn't flying, but it feels like it. The sound is awesome! The made up language is just like Simlish and was based on Japanese, but mixed up and given a French accent. Exactly what it sounds like and it sounds pretty cool. The gameplay mechanics do have problems. Not enough to make the game any worse than 10/10 but it can be annoying at times. Trying to attack an enemy and having it move just an inch to the right and you fly right by, is quite frustrating. It's not enough to make it any worse and the game is tons of fun. Plus the trophies are very easy! Expand
  65. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    Even though a very fun game, Gravity Rush feels unfinished and
  66. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    Easily the portables best game so far and one of the few reasons to own a Vita.The gravity mechanic itself is simply fantastic and the only weakness of this game is the combat.If you have a Vita,you must have this.
  67. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    GRAVITY RUSH - A game that I truly loved, in my eyes it is, the best Vita game, one of the best games I've played this year and is one of the best portable experiences I've had - if not the best.

    It's a beautiful title - with its' unbelievably huge Open-world, fantastic music ( here's a link to my favorite track : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DpqOrFPcWXk&feature=player_embedded), it's
    cool artistic feeling to it, unique combat and fascinating story.

    Honestly, it's all of those things combined that made me love the game, the beautiful graphics and fantastic music on their own are seller - and to press 'R' move my Vita and press it again to see Kat fly ( well technically fall ) through the huge open-world, dropped my Jaw for the first time and something about that vast feeling of freedom to this small character in this new world to her, aids to that experience.
    Also it genuinely felt like and Open-world title aside from map being really - really big there are a lot of side missions, a lot of people to talk to ( the conversation were amazing, how you might pick up a word or 2 from the person you are conversing with, words that makes you tilt you head back, and think 'could it be ?' or 'what if.. ' - ).

    I could go on and on, but this review is probably going to get lost - unnoticed, just like how the game lost the attention it deserved.
    Expand
  68. Apr 11, 2013
    5
    This is really an unpolished gem. There are some great ideas, but I feel this would be so much better on the PS3. It's very Infamous-y but the whole experience feels very shallow. There is very little to do outside the story missions, only some challenges.. and all of them are like "do this within the time limit!" and then you have to best yourself. I don't think that's a lot of fun, so I skipped almost all of them with really no negative consequenses so they're totally optional. I hade doing things within a time limit. The story missions are fine but the problem is THE STORY. It's very japanese, very childish and worst of all, it's truly bad. Vague, silly, incoherent and full of plot holes. Honestly, I found myself skipping half of it because I was so bored. If the story had been descent, I would have been more motivated to play the game. In the end, I just wanted to get it over with. The controls are fine but sometimes it's a little bit frustrating to aim at enemies, but there are crystals scattered all over the world that you can collect and upgrade your abilities so you get powerful easily. Over-all, a quite easy game.

    So, wrap-up. I would have liked a real story that you could care even a little about and just more meaningful things to do. The world feels kind of dead and there are no memorable characters at all except for Kat. This is more like a tech demo wrapped around a really bad story. I have no desire at all to go back and play more, or buy any DLC.

    Oh, the graphics are great but the resolution seems to be kind of low. The Vita screen has really low resolution to begin with and this just looks up-scaled. Too bad, because the graphics would be so much more enjoyable if they weren't.
    Expand
  69. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    This game is unique. If you have enough money to buy a vita and this game, go buy it. The combat is difficult
    to get the hang of, but once you do you will be blasting nevi's away. I love this game, go buy it, it's a must have.
  70. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    A great and original IP. A superb open world to explore with Kat and Dusty. An intriguing story which leaves room for hopefully a sequel. Graphics are amazing and has re-playability. A must have
  71. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Have to say, started this game with low expectations because I had somewhere understood this was a racer. Was I wrong ...
    In short, superb game. Creative design, very original and playful story (albeit a bit incomprehensive at times). Gameplay is fun too. It also doesn't make the mistake to throw you way too much alternative activities to drag things out, very well balanced.
    Special
    credits to the music too, especially the pleasure district tune.
    Go get this if you haven't already!
    Expand
  72. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    This is seriously the best vita game ever and one of the best games out this year so far. There are hours upon hours of game play available. The challenges are almost as fun as the actual story mode. If you ever needed a good reason to finally get a vita. This is it.
  73. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    A great mix of open world exploration, RPG, and unique combat mechanics makes this a must-have for any Vita owners. It has amazing visuals and intriguing environments that are fun to explore as you level up and your gravity travel and combat powers increase. At first, exploration can be a bit of an exercise in risk vs reward, but once you gather enough gems to level up a few times it becomes a breeze to zoom around (over, under and in-between) the various floating parts of the city to find even more gems and other intriguing side quests and dialogue trees. The story is mostly nonsensical, but serves adequately as a thin and mostly unassuming anime-ish means to hit on all the fun possibilities for main character Kat to explore and improve her powers.

    The combat and the side challenges you unlock, once you get your legs under you with your kick and slide and other attack powers in the highly vertical environments, is quick-paced, meaty and fun. Just be warned a lot of the challenges and a few of the boss battles are not easy to master until you level up Kat's powers a decent amount.
    Expand
  74. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    Despite some odd design and control choices, I really do enjoy this game. Flying around wonderfully designed cities is fun, but where the game really excels is its art and character design. Kat is a wonderful character and the people and environments she's surrounded by are stunning. The combat can be frustrating though, about 90% of the time you're forced in combat where your only attack option is to do a bee-line kick into the enemy. If they move, you've just gotta go back for another pass. I would have loved to see more depth in the combat, but what's here works when it wants to. In short though, while Gravity Rush may fall short in some areas, the fact that it's simply a fresh, beautiful new IP is something that you really don't see too often. It's ambitious, and I like that. Expand
  75. Jul 20, 2012
    8
    Gravity rush it's the best game for PSVita. the graphics are superb and gives a very good visual atmosphere. the music is really involved and the gamplay is simple and treatment.
  76. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    Amazing campaign, beautiful graphics, wonderful open world to explore, and a great story, along with the interesting way it goes through the story. Gyroscopic controls are sweet, and the characters are wonderful, the world is always changing and its always fun riding on the airboats. A must own for PS Vita.
  77. Aug 25, 2012
    5
    Gravity Rush should be rated M for mediocre. I'm around 10 hours in so far, and I have to stop.

    The graphics are very unimpressive, like something you'd expect from a non-gaming computer from 10 years ago. The trailers are a lie, in game is missing a lot of anti-aliasing and shadows and detailed textures.

    Combat is infrequent, and not a lot of fun. All you do is kick, throw stuff, or
    float in the air and kick. Or hit the triangle button and whatever you're aimed at dies.

    The music is pure awful, and it repeats itself every 30 seconds or so. Other zones have different music, but they too repeat themselves over and over driving you insane.

    I think the story got lost in translation. Or it's just awful too and everyone giving high scores don't know any better.

    Flying around is kind of fun.
    Collapse
  78. Sep 17, 2012
    9
    Undeniably, Gravity Rush is a great excuse for many people to buy PS Vita in instance (including me ), and it is a game with both great creativity and playability (whatever). It`s graphic quality is just of mid-stream among Vita games, but this do not disturb it becoming a great game though the pattern of attacking enemies` core is a bit fusty after long term of playing. SCE has brought the main characters with life with the comic-style story illustration, although the end was, I have to say, VERY abrupt. I never expected the defeat of that vulnerable-looking big ball indicates the end of the game! How about the mayor? How about the children and the ark? How about Kat`s memory and the truth about Heksville? All right, let`s hope that SCE has saved those for the Gravity Rush 2, which I`m sure to buy without the slightest hesitation. Expand
  79. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    This is a game with a defined and pronounced art and story telling style. From the comic book style speech boxes to the heroic heroine this game provides an experience unique to any other game or console. The ending is a bit open-ended but with the makers all but confirming a sequel in the works it's to be expected. However here are some things you should consider as strong reasons not to buy it

    Dizzyness: The game's controls throw you for a loop and the camera throws a fit after a missed kick or particularly sharp turn maneuver. Combat: not the best combat system I've ever seen but an intriguing one. the reliance on a single attack can make fighting some times monotonous but special moves and upgrades can break the pace.

    Story: as I mentioned before the ending is open. There are many loose ends by the end of the story most of which I presume will be solved in the sequel but if you come in expecting answers by the end you will be disappointed. If you feel you can work through these then you are ready for a genuinely amazing adventure.
    Expand
  80. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    I thought I'd fallen out of love with gaming till I played this game with dark souls and skyrim being the only games I,ve adored in last year. Gravity rush is unique has a great story it was half way before I noticed I could upgrade powers which may have made it too easy. 15hours here easy and I can't compare it to anything I've ever played 8.5/10
  81. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    very good game with its story graphics and music pretty awesome game thank you sony a lot wooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow
  82. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    This game is the best, so far, vita game I have played. The music, graphics and atmosphere are beautiful and simplistic, but the best, and most unique, part is gravity control. You get to change which way is down for the main character you play as, Kat; and it's absolutely genius! Instead of flying, you are always falling to your destination, be it a checkpoint or an about-to-be kicked enemy. The story is interesting, the characters are funny and the gameplay is unlike anything I've ever played. This game isn't only amazing for a Vita game, but for gaming in general. This is one fine reason to own a Vita. Expand
  83. Dec 1, 2012
    5
    Let's get it straight. I won't make excuses for being portable and being among few titles available on Vita. It is awesome game ON VITA, and it is awesome PORTABLE game. But if don't take portability into acount It's mediocre game with good art-direction and story. You only like it if you get used to alcoholic camera and broken lock-on kick system. It doesn't stand any modern gameplay standarts.
  84. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    This is an excellent game for the Vita. The idea of shifting gravity to move/fight is innovative and a joy to play. The story is well-written (not perfect, mind you). The protagonist, Kat, is easy to like and relate to (some of her struggles are quite comical). The other characters in the plot add to the game's rich and colorful style. The graphics are great for a handheld. What the Vita couldn't do, the game developers did a good job of covering that up and making the game look great (parts of the city that look like silhouettes at a distance blend nicely into the background). The gameplay is satisfying, but can be frustrating at times. Overall, the gameplay a joy. There is nothing like travelling a free-roam environment whilst controlling gravity. I would definitely recommend this game to just about every Vita owner. I would not, however, recommend this game to people that get frustrated extremely easily. Expand
  85. Dec 8, 2012
    6
    I picked up a Vita during Black Friday, and was looking for something to play. I wanted to try this and Persona 4 Golden, and Gamefly sent me this first. I honestly don't understand all the hype I was seeing from the game before I played it.

    System seller? No. Absolutely not. Gorgeous? No. Good looking, maybe, but certainly not gorgeous. great story? HA! Maybe if you thought the
    Twilight books had good writing, but Gravity Rush's story is laughably anemic.

    Let's start the meaty part of my review with the good. The game allows you to feel like you're really exploring pretty much anywhere you could possibly want to go. That's the one thing this game does really well. It's also relatively good looking, despite some stupid character design issues. ("Her legs are boring." "What should I do?" "It's supposed to look like anime, right? Put some tentacles on her or something!")

    Past that point, we're into Dull City. You begin the game as a girl with no past, quickly joined by a cat that's not a cat. Later on someone gives you the nickname Kat, and pretty much, that's as much info as you're going to learn about Kat until the inevitable sequel(s) they totally set this up for.

    Combat is perfunctory, at best. I guess that's a problem when your game system allows you to clumsily move about wherever you want in 3D space. You can't have an AI character that does it too well, otherwise, the player will have no shot in hell of winning. So, they're basically sessile, have easy to spot weak points, and are all (including bosses) very easily dispatched once you pick up the Gravity Typhoon attack. (Simply stay out of the Nevi's agro range, fire, and let the giant homing rocks wreak havoc.)

    Exploration is what this game does best, but aside from picking up gems that can be used to power up your abilities, there's really precious little to look at. It's all the same matte shades of gray bent into impossible architecture, because the entire world doesn't obey the laws of gravity.

    So, without exploration, and without enjoyable combat, the game's left to rely on the story, and there's nothing there. More infuriatingly, the story's imparted to you and the main character by people who know what's about to happen but won't tell you, as if substituting exposition with "Oh, you'll see" is some kind of hallmark of good storytelling. No fewer than 3 characters that Kat interacts this will communicate with her in this fashion. Worse than that, is that, in the end, you don't actually see. It's all just left hanging. Characters are pointed out as important, and have minimal impact. Events are pointed out as "disturbing" and never brought up again. Big twists are straight up ripped out of other unipressive works of fiction. The game seems to have had the barest bones or a story, and so the game makers decided to turn it into soup, allowing it to thinly cover the game with no substance.

    This isn't a bad game, but once the veneer of being able to fly around wears off, there's just no more "rush" to be found in Gravity Rush. Poor story and uninspired combat means that Vita gamers crowing about this title are likely going to be in for a rude awakening when the friends they try to impress quickly put the game down.
    Expand
  86. Dec 15, 2012
    8
    A game that is so quirky and fun that the only people who wouldn't enjoy it probably have no hearts. An excellent open world and gameplay that puts inversion to shame makes this worth your money. An underrated game which just needs some loving.
  87. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    Gravity Rush is a truly unique experience and the fact that it is on a handheld device makes it even more special. From the beginning of the game, Gravity Rush gives you a gripping story line, lovable characters, colorful graphics, and controls that were easy to use. Japan Studios created a game that gives people a reason to own a Playsation Vita. Gravity Rush begins with a girl named Kat who has lost her memory. Much of story continues with you meeting memorable characters and trying to help the city that you have found yourself in. Now, I would give more of an understanding of the story and setting Gravity Rush presents but it would be difficult. The only real problem this game has is that is fails to answer many of the questions that are brought up. Besides that, Gravity Rush plays very well, always providing you with new abilities, upgrades, and powers. Graphics are amazing, especially on a handheld and they even look as good as present games on the Playstation 3. If you are looking for a reason to purchase a Playstation Vita, then this is it. Gravity Rush is the best handheld game I have ever played and is easily one of the best games I've played overall. Expand
  88. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    After finally getting around to purchasing the game and spending some time with it, I was pleasantly surprised with what the game had to offer in terms of style, originality and providing a unique and genuinely enjoyable experience, but this doesn't stop it falling short in a few aspects along the line. First off, the premise for the game is a breath of fresh air, offering something completely different to the standard fare, telling the story through its gameplay and use of interactive comic book styled panels. A girl named Kat awakes in a surreal plane of existence where a town floats above a pool of roiling black matter, tragedy becomes apparent only moments after getting to her feet as the town starts being torn apart by what is known as a gravity storm and you are called on by the people to aid them in saving and bringing the broken world back together. The game offers a multitude of different mechanics and abilities that allow you to traverse the world, this is where the game succeeds and also fails in some areas. Traversing the map is by far one of the most fun gameplay mechanics I've ever had the pleasure of using by utilizing the vita's tech you can suspend gravity and re employ it in any direction you see fit. Rushing through the air and falling to earth feels so weighty and visceral that id often find myself scrunching up my face as I came plunging towards the ground. But......When you are trying to do some of the harder side missions these controls don't feel precise enough to get the job done, akin to someone handing you a potato and being told to peel it with a spoon, I came close to snapping the vita over my head on more than one occasion Apart from that minor gripe though it doesn't affect the rest of the game and it is definitely a must buy for anyone who may be on the fence, there's enough ghosty people, galactic cats and old man galaxy crotches to keep you entertained for a long time. Expand
  89. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    Are you looking for a ultra-mega-fun game with a gameplay never seen before? Then Gravity Rush is your game. The graphics are beautiful, the history is interesting, the gameplay is AWESOME. Kat (the main character) is one of my favorite characters now: she's cute, have a golden heart but she is strong and bad ass too. The cut-scenes are formidable and play this game is like give a break to all you know about videogames. IT'S FANTASTIC!!!!!!!! Expand
  90. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    To put it simply: play this game. I made an account on Metacritic to tell you that. It's an extremely polished, fun, and unique game unlike anything on any console, especially Vita. I had my doubts at first about the game and the initial impression is a bit 'gimmicky'. But don't be put off by that. The art style, presentation, and graphical quality to the world and characters is quite charming. It's almost a neo-dystopian meets anime steampunk (think a touch of Full Metal Alchemist), blended with a bit of Miyazaki for good measure. Gameplay wise, once you grapple with the zero-g mechanic (rely on the right-stick more than the motion sensor for precision) you'll get a grasp of your relation to the ground. The game slickly hints to you where the 'down' is by having Kat's hair point in that direction apparently her hair defies gravity-defying power (that's a new one). Combined with a fast paced and genuinely responsive set of jumping and combat maneuvers, it's a joy to play. The enemies, while admittedly a bit generic at first, start to become more unique as the game opens up. You'll actually look forward to combat in this game.

    Ultimately I just wanted to keep playing. It's the mark of any good game.
    Expand
  91. Feb 1, 2013
    8
    I don't understand the binary mentality some people embrace when rating games on Metacritic. Everything's either a 10 or 0 to some people. That aside, Gravity Rush features is a startlingly original gameplay with few flaws. I'd like to have seen the story fleshed out more, and better localization (everything, including the dialog, is in Japanese with the subtitles, including some of the more stylized writing in the "graphic novel" portions). But the gravity control system wow! Once you get the hang of it, it makes you feel powerful. I'd definitely give this game a big thumbs up, and this is coming from a guy who doesn't care much for most Japanese games. Manga and anime creep me out, for the most part, but the sheer originality of Gravity Rush leaves me charmed, and wanting more. Expand
  92. Feb 11, 2013
    5
    Its a pretty game It is.
    Is Kat a charming character? It is
    Is the story interesting? Kinda.
    Is the game fun? No its not.
    Too repetitive ,the city is lifeless, the missions are boring.
    The loading times for the missions are long.
    The game is OK, but not great
  93. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    I'm gonna keep my review short for the sake of your time but Gravity Rush is one of the best games on the VITA at the moment and one of the best games of all time. The story is excellent, wandering around the open-world city you're given is a blast, and there is a lot of content in store here. The only real problem is the controls. Sometimes it may get hard to fight with Kat under the original button controls. However you quickly forget about this flaw. Is this worth buying if you have a VITA? Yes. Is this worth buying a VITA for? Definitley. Take my word for it and play this original, creative game. Good Job Japan Studio. Expand
  94. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    This game is a fantastic entry to the Vita library. A superb title and a must own to any Vita owners. But of course, every game has its good points and flaws.
    - Gameplay it utilizes every function of Vita, which is a huge win for me, The gameplay is simple and interesting especially the the gravity mechanics. I had so much fun just switching from left to right, upside down, or standing
    diagonally. But the controls were a bit wonky, it felt too sensitive and I wished that I could toggle the controls. It needs a bit more customization in the options so I could adjust the HUD or the sensitivity or the key bindings to suit my play style. I sometimes had trouble targeting specific points, the gravity kick was really hard to target, and the gravity special attack (The spiral one) was difficult to aim because of the camera going haywire. Needs lots of fine-tuning 8/10 Graphics It's fantastic, I can tell that the developers really put a lot of love into the details. For a handheld console the graphics is superb, I might even argue that it can rival PS3 graphics. They could try to fine line the characters or the NPCs because they sometimes blend in with the background too much. 9/10
    - Sound The music is awesome, it's a mix of European plus Japanese soothing music blended in together to produce Gravity Rush's soundtrack. The music made the game even more engaging and entertaining to play. 10/10
    - Story The story in this game is interesting since it's about a girl with mysterious powers with her trusty companion, Dusty, to solve her mysterious past. Although the cliffhanger ending left me with a sour note in my mouth, but the lore is extremely interesting. 7/10
    - Lasting Appeal There should be more side quests and back story on some of the characters (hopefully they will answer this in the sequel) the game felt a tad bit short for my taste. The competitive side missions was challenging but frustrating, because of the wonky controls. But this game was so good that I'll recommend to any Vita owner to get it. It's a game that will stay with me for a long time. 8/10

    Final verdict is 8.5
    Expand
  95. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    Gravity Rush is an extremely unique and creative game, and one that is intriguing and addictive from the get-go. The gameplay is fairly simple and easy to get the hang of, yet there are many different ways in which to utilize Kat's gravity shifting powers. This game does a good job of showing off the VITA's graphics capabilities, and the world is visually appealing. The story is a little cutesy, and a bit short, but it is far from dull.

    The only thing that prevents me from giving the game a 10 is how easy it is. I'm not saying there was never a moment in the game I struggled with, but I advanced through the game's 21 chapters without much resistance. Once the game is beaten, it isn't all that difficult to achieve Platinum either. I'd really like this to be a game I come back to again and again, but there just isn't much replay value.

    That being said, this title is definitely one worthy of getting the VITA for it.
    Expand
  96. Feb 18, 2013
    9
    This game is the best game original game i've come across in years, i'd say its the PS Vita's strongest game in showing what it can do and that games don't have to be mini (iphone) style games or little brothers of their console counterparts, this is a full, long game with great gameplay and a really enthrawling plot, I found myself playing it whenever I could.

    Graphics are cell shaded
    Manga style which lends itself well to the PS Vita, amd rather than cutscene videos there are little comic strips which work really well with the feel of the game, there are also realtime cut scenes now and again.

    The world you have to explore is very rich with lots of people and places to find, it's huge!

    It is a somewhat girly game but well worth a play if you like RPG's

    The reason I give it a 9, moving about the world can sometimes be a bit of a pain, and if you commute on a bus you can't play this game as whenever the bus turns your character does in the game due to the gyro, but this is trivial. Also the loading times when you die or start the game can be frustratingly long.
    Expand
  97. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    Now this title is a very worthy thing to be called a Vita game. The game revolves around you having the ability to manipulate gravity and it does it so well. The graphics are so eye-catching and I think this may be the first open-world game on the Vita and that is why it is so stunning. Now the only reason why this game got a 9 from me is because the Story was really just too short, but all in all a nice game that I would recommend to anyone. Expand
  98. Feb 26, 2013
    9
    This game is amazing. I bought a Vita mostly to play this I was impressed before I play, and I got MORE impressed after that. The game has some weak points, like the fact that you're not allowed to make a single decision on the game it's pretty linear and you sometimes get angry with the decisions taken by the main character. The end wasn't that good as well I do believe the game was "improperly cut" in the middle of the history it had to end BEFORE it really ended or after.

    AMAZING game. I REALLY recommend this to anyone.
    Expand
  99. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    This is probably the one true, original series on the Vita that is not either a rehash of an old game or a remake. I personally like it alot, even if the combat system is not entirely fun or easy to use. However the story is wonderful and Kat, the main character, is very easy to like. And the game is free for PS+ users, making spending 50 dollars on a year subscription alot easier to justify. I'd highly recommend getting that over actually getting this game, provided you have a decent sized memory card. But this is a fun game and wonderful to play. Expand
  100. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    Gravity Rush is a charming title that's unfortunately constrained in the same way as many early life cycle first party titles that Sony develop. That is to say it has to sell all the hardware features and not just those that its developers believe they can leverage effectively, so despite the joy of the core mechanics, there's occasional frustration to be found with the gyroscope and touch screen. That said, the combat is good enough (for how rough it is) and falling is sufficiently thrilling as a way to traverse the environment that the flaws are forgiveable. The original Uncharted was in much the same boat: remarkable potential that wasn't quite fully delivered on, and that a sequel properly funded and created with enough love and care could bring out and show just how special this newborn franchise can be, Expand
  101. Aug 25, 2012
    0
    Gravity Rush should be rated M for mediocre. I'm around 10 hours in so far, and I have to stop.

    The graphics are very unimpressive, like something you'd expect from a non-gaming computer from 10 years ago. The trailers are a lie, in game is missing a lot of anti-aliasing and shadows and detailed textures.

    Combat is infrequent, and not a lot of fun. All you do is kick, throw stuff, or
    float in the air and kick. Or hit the triangle button and whatever you're aimed at dies.

    The music is pure awful, and it repeats itself every 30 seconds or so. Other zones have different music, but they too repeat themselves over and over driving you insane.

    I think the story got lost in translation. Or it's just awful too and everyone giving high scores don't know any better.

    Flying around is kind of fun.
    Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    80
    Despite the shortcomings of the combat, Gravity Rush can still stand alongside some of the best games on the Vita. With its wonderful art style oozing character, it’s a game that once you start; it’s really hard to put down.
  2. Oct 29, 2012
    71
    The concept is just dripping with potential on paper, but once it actually hit my Vita, something seems to have been lost.
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    88
    While Gravity Rush is not a perfect game (The combat is lacking, the camera disorientating and the story lacks a proper ending) it is still an extremely fun and addicting piece of gravity shifting adventure. The world, with its odd inhabitants, colorful areas and memorable music deserves most praise. [Sept 2012]