Gravity Rush PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Gravity Rush Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 583 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gravity Rush has players manipulate gravity to save your world from destruction. Gain a new perspective as you assume the role of Kat, a head-string girl looking for a way to protect her future in a world that's crumbling under her feet. Tilt and move the Vita, taking gravity into your ownGravity Rush has players manipulate gravity to save your world from destruction. Gain a new perspective as you assume the role of Kat, a head-string girl looking for a way to protect her future in a world that's crumbling under her feet. Tilt and move the Vita, taking gravity into your own hands to deliver devastating attacks, uncover the secrets to your past and explore a mysterious world. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. May 29, 2012
    100
    Gravity Rush is one of the most impressive titles to land on the Vita to date. It's rare to see a project with such lofty ambitions executed so well. The bold new mechanics are complemented by an engaging story, striking visuals and atmospheric soundtrack. If you were looking for an excuse to purchase the Sony handheld, look no further than this must-have gem.
  2. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Apr 9, 2012
    93
    Perfectly balances free-roaming exploration, focused story missions and RPG-style leveling, with sublime handheld controls in Vita's first killer app. [May 2012, p.112]
  3. May 30, 2012
    90
    Swiping, tilting and touching your way through this gorgeous world (the story scenes in particular showcase physical awareness and interactivity) is pleasurable and deep in a way that will easily draw you away from your main home console(s).
  4. May 29, 2012
    86
    If you like Japanese fairy tales combined with a unique twist around gravity manipulation that's the game you should buy – finally also available outside of Japan!
  5. Aug 3, 2012
    80
    A beautiful art style and an interesting take on gravity. Though the world and the lead character aren't very interesting.
  6. May 24, 2012
    80
    Finally PlayStation Vita has a great (but not flawless) game, tailored to its features, with great gameplay and gorgeous visuals.
  7. Jun 11, 2012
    60
    The gravity-shifting gameplay offered might be complete enough for game-starved Vita owners on the hunt for something to do with their device. But do manage your expectations, lest you be disappointed by how hollow Gravity Rush is underneath its breathtaking shell. This is a game that does one thing very well. If you need more than that, then Gravity Rush isn't for you.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 164
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Gravity Rush is a very creative and original game from Sony. This was one of my most anticipated games for 2012. The graphics are amazing,Gravity Rush is a very creative and original game from Sony. This was one of my most anticipated games for 2012. The graphics are amazing, they're on par with its big brother PS3. If you need an excuse to buy a PS VITA, then this is the one. This is not only the best Vita game out there, but one of the best handheld games Ive ever played! Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Great game, wonderful controls, fun combat. I love it! Best vita game so far, could be a wonderful console release. Fun and random missionsGreat game, wonderful controls, fun combat. I love it! Best vita game so far, could be a wonderful console release. Fun and random missions break up any monotony. Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    This game is immensely fun, no matter what you're doing in it. I'm only about 4-5 hours into my playthrough but I can say this is easily oneThis game is immensely fun, no matter what you're doing in it. I'm only about 4-5 hours into my playthrough but I can say this is easily one of the funnest games I've played in recent memory. I said Rayman Origins was my favorite vita game but it's gonna have to share the cake now. -update- My only complaints are that the combat does get repetitive after a while and the missions feel a bit too linear, but I'm still giving this a 10 as I still think this is a very ambitious title especially for a handheld. Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    Very interesting and unusual game! When i saw it first time i thought it is boring game about some girl, who shifts some gravity and so on,Very interesting and unusual game! When i saw it first time i thought it is boring game about some girl, who shifts some gravity and so on, with Japanese graphics, then when i saw it is available on PS+ i decided to give it a try, and you know what? I didn't regret it. Unusual gameplay, a bit strange graphics and plot, but this game is very great. I think it is a must have for all of the PS Vita owners. Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    Haven't played through the entire game yet, just the full demo, and quite a bit on my friends Vita because my game hasn't come in, but I canHaven't played through the entire game yet, just the full demo, and quite a bit on my friends Vita because my game hasn't come in, but I can safely say that this game is a 9.5/10 for me. The gravity mechanic, and the rest of the game-play is extremely fun, and innovative. Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2012
    8
    Gravity Rush is very fun to play. The first couple of hours on your Vita will likely blow you away. It's gravity control is very unique andGravity Rush is very fun to play. The first couple of hours on your Vita will likely blow you away. It's gravity control is very unique and is a great new idea in a world of sequels and copying other people's ideas. The enemies are a little blah, and the gameplay does get a little repetitive but this is still a wonderful, highly recommended game. I hope that Sony builds from this because with a little more polish and a little more variation it easily would have been a 10/10 for me. Expand
  7. Gaz
    Jul 20, 2012
    0
    Alright people, let's get down to business. Is Gravity Rush worth your money? The answer is yes. Gravity Rush has been watched closely for aAlright people, let's get down to business. Is Gravity Rush worth your money? The answer is yes. Gravity Rush has been watched closely for a while by gamers and critics alike, and while they all agree that Gravity Rush looks interesting, how's the time to put it to the test. And I'm happy to report that Gravity Rush is a superb entry in the Vita's library and one that every Vita owner should own. The first thing you'll notice are the game's stellar visuals. The developers really pulled out all the stops making this game look awesome. The characters are anime-inspired, and the story has a similar style. Light glistens, colors pop, and the cityscape looks great as you explore every bit of it. Some critics complain about how the visual scaling decreases the amount of depth to the world. I, however, thought that it enhanced the experience. As you get farther away from distant parts of the city, it turns into a dark, amber silhouette. One could complain that this detracts from the visual art style of the game, but it still looks beautiful. But visuals don't mean a thing if the gameplay and story isn't solid, and thankfully, most of it is. You play as young heroine, Kat. You wake up in the slums of a giant floating city with no memories and a mysterious starry cat next to you. This cat (whom Kat affectionately names Dusty) gives her gravity shifting powers that quickly make her a person of interest between everyone in the city, both good and bad. It's a pretty solid narrative, mostly told though comic book panel cutscenes (the town is named Hekseville, and since they never say it, I have no idea how to pronounce it) but it's a nice, new touch on how to tell a video game story.  Kat herself is a very cute a protagonist and is the likable "I'll do whatever I can to save the world" kind of hero. Unfortunately if you're not into the silly, emotional, anime kind of story, it'll probably just go right over your head.  Luckily, though, the gameplay has plenty enough ambiance to keep you coming back. You'll press R to float and then target a location and press it again to make the targeted surface the new gravity focus for Kat. Aim towards the air, and you can soar around the city. In combat, gravity kicks can be performed and inanimate objects can be hurled at opponents. There are also gems that are scattered around the city, which can fix broken locations and objects, as well as upgrade Kat's powers. The game has a decent length and you'll want to explore every inch of Hekseville's open-world environment. With all the good that Gravity Rush offers, it's impossible not to point out a few of it's flaws. As great as the main story is, I wish there were some side missions. You can get a few real, genuine "story driven" side missions and some new costumes, either as a pre-order bonus, or but various DLC.  However, most of the so-called side missions are rack-em-up score challenges like, "beat as many enemies as you can in 5 minutes", or " hit all the checkpoints around the city for a race" kind of a thing. These might be good enough for some people, but I found myself wanting more. Also, the combat can be frustrating at some points, mainly during fights with aerial enemies, due to the fact that it's hard to get a fix on their position and they seem to like moving out of the way. This, is by far not a deal-breaker, though, and if it is for you, you probably just weren't trying hard enough. Overall, Gravity Rush proves itself to be an amazing entry into the Vita's library and something that almost every gamer will enjoy. Expand

See all 164 User Reviews

Trailers