Guacamelee! PlayStation Vita

Guacamelee! Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 215 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game features a down on his luck Mexican named Juan Aguacate, who sets out to save the world when El Presidente's Daughter is kidnapped by an Evil Charro Skeleton. The story takes place in and around a small village in Mexico, and has the player travelling through alternate dimensionsThe game features a down on his luck Mexican named Juan Aguacate, who sets out to save the world when El Presidente's Daughter is kidnapped by an Evil Charro Skeleton. The story takes place in and around a small village in Mexico, and has the player travelling through alternate dimensions including "The World of the Dead" and "The World of Nightmares" on his quest to rescue the girl he loves. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. May 21, 2013
    95
    It plays like a dream, it's nice to look at, it can be funny as all get out and it just feels like the real deal, a complete experience just shy of masterpiece status.
  2. Apr 9, 2013
    90
    The combat is addicting, the animations are beautiful, and the narrative is entertaining. What more could you want?
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    90
    Everything about it is finely-tuned and dripping with polish—the bright, stylized visuals, the rock-solid handling, the smart decisions in its core design, use of its Mexican themes, and so on.
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee! is genuinely funny, massively enjoyable, and filled to bursting with good ideas. It's your next essential Vita game.
  5. May 6, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee! goes right to the narrow circle of the most exciting games published on PS Vita.
  6. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 21, 2013
    90
    Easily one of the best downloadable titles on the Vita. Grab it pronto. [June 2013, p80]
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    75
    Colourful, brimming with character and entertaining, Guacamelee offers more than enough content for its low fee to make up for its lack of depth.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Guacamelee! Is what you get when you put Super Metriod/Symphony of The Night, Saturday Night Slam Masters/Fire Pro Wrestling, Old School SuperGuacamelee! Is what you get when you put Super Metriod/Symphony of The Night, Saturday Night Slam Masters/Fire Pro Wrestling, Old School Super Mario/Mutant Blobs From Space, In a blender & hit puree.

    Guacamelee is the Nintendo game I wish modern Nintendo games were. DrinkBox stays out Nintendoing Nintendo. With a billion times the flair & creativity.

    Both PS3 & Vita versions are identical with 2 platinum trophies cross save & cross buy. You may not utilize cross save since the game is so great you will have the urge to fully complete on both platforms.
    It's even better on Vita because you can play it anywhere & everywhere & you will
    Collapse
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Gorgeous game, if you like platform is a must buy, fun, addictive and excellent gameplay and hilarious game story make this one of the best PSN games.
  3. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    Fresh off coming off my 2 playthroughs (1 on normal, 1 on hard going fast as I could) of Guacamelee! on my PlayStation Vita, I believe I'mFresh off coming off my 2 playthroughs (1 on normal, 1 on hard going fast as I could) of Guacamelee! on my PlayStation Vita, I believe I'm come over the thumb numbing action that Guacamelee! provided me while staring at its beautiful scenery. The story of Guacamelee! puts you in the shoes of an agave farmer named Juan that is in love with El Presidente's daughter but alas they have not come to their senses and realized it yet. Therefore when your chance to start showing your love for her, a skeleton named Calaca decides to kidnap her and foil the fiesta! Juan then gets transported to the land of the dead where you find a mask that turns him into a macho lucha libre! With Juan's newborn combo moves and skills it is your responsibility to rescue El Presidente's daughter and stop Calaca's plan to take over the world!

    The combat and action of Guacamelee! is just right: arenas full of enemies will keep you on your toes but there's plenty of save spots and breather spots around for you to rest your thumbs if need be (something Mega Man never did for me!). Normal mode of Guacamelee! isn't hard unless you are bad at timing attacks/dodges in which case you will probably not beat Hard Mode / get the Platinum trophy. Hard mode is infuriating to say the least (you will swear at the bosses/one or two arenas) and a couple of places you need to complete to get the platinum trophy are Mega Man levels of annoyance (I'm talking disappearing platforms and jumping from switching wall to wall stuff). While I did get the Platinum Trophy for the game and played it twice, I would gladly replay the game again since it's real beauty lies in it's characters and backgrounds. There are also tons of funny meme jokes like ME GUSTA and Gentlemen Spy etcetera. There are references here and there like the poster of Grim Fandango that says Missing!. Well Grim Fandango, you're missing no more and like you Grim Fandango, I hope we never forget Guacamelee!
    Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    Guacamelee is a very fun metroidvania type game, the combat and platforming are solid and entertaining and the story is amusing. You get aGuacamelee is a very fun metroidvania type game, the combat and platforming are solid and entertaining and the story is amusing. You get a good sense of progression as you move through the game and none of the enemies or obstacles seem to outstay their welcome.

    The game does feel a bit short but it would be churlish to complain considering the value you get for your money. If you own a PS3 and a PS Vita you can play it on both as its crossplay/buy and it does have a fun co-op mode on the PS3, this essentially gives it a massive potential for replay. Cross save games are handy too, you can play on the PS3 then pick it up at the same place on the Vita and vice versa.

    If you enjoy 2D platforming brawlers and own either a PS Vita or a PS3 you wont want to miss this.
    Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2014
    9
    I'm still in the middle of the game. Playing it on both PS3 and Vita with cross save :). Guacamelee is awesome. Fantastic platformer game.I'm still in the middle of the game. Playing it on both PS3 and Vita with cross save :). Guacamelee is awesome. Fantastic platformer game. Wonderful puzzles with platforms, dimensions and mazes.
    Enjoyable to play and sometimes the story scripts are really funny. No glitches so far. The game is both challenging and fun. I started this after playing the intense experience of BioShock Infinite. And so it is relaxing me and amusing me.
    I'm playing this as it came part of PS Plus subscription. But if you are a platform based games fan then this is a must game for you. It's amusing.
    If you got PS3 and Vita then you are gonna double enjoy this. On my way to work I play on vita. Then upload my progress to cloud. When back home, I download my progress continue then save and upload it again to continue the journey in the morning using vita :)
    This is a well deserved 9 out of 10.
    Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    First of all, Guacamelee is a great game. There are many side quests and easter eggs available on the game and, most important, it is fun asFirst of all, Guacamelee is a great game. There are many side quests and easter eggs available on the game and, most important, it is fun as hell. But it's main history is a little short, I expected a longer one. Expand
  7. Aug 18, 2015
    1
    For a game that few players can complete ? Guacamelee is a stressful game where you get stuck in various locations of the game. Not recommendFor a game that few players can complete ? Guacamelee is a stressful game where you get stuck in various locations of the game. Not recommend the game for people with little time who want to have fun. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews