Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 183 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game features a down on his luck Mexican named Juan Aguacate, who sets out to save the world when El Presidente's Daughter is kidnapped by an Evil Charro Skeleton. The story takes place in and around a small village in Mexico, and has the player travelling through alternate dimensionsThe game features a down on his luck Mexican named Juan Aguacate, who sets out to save the world when El Presidente's Daughter is kidnapped by an Evil Charro Skeleton. The story takes place in and around a small village in Mexico, and has the player travelling through alternate dimensions including "The World of the Dead" and "The World of Nightmares" on his quest to rescue the girl he loves. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. May 21, 2013
    95
    It plays like a dream, it's nice to look at, it can be funny as all get out and it just feels like the real deal, a complete experience just shy of masterpiece status.
  2. Apr 9, 2013
    90
    The combat is addicting, the animations are beautiful, and the narrative is entertaining. What more could you want?
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    90
    Everything about it is finely-tuned and dripping with polish—the bright, stylized visuals, the rock-solid handling, the smart decisions in its core design, use of its Mexican themes, and so on.
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee! is genuinely funny, massively enjoyable, and filled to bursting with good ideas. It's your next essential Vita game.
  5. May 6, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee! goes right to the narrow circle of the most exciting games published on PS Vita.
  6. Easily one of the best downloadable titles on the Vita. Grab it pronto. [June 2013, p80]
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    75
    Colourful, brimming with character and entertaining, Guacamelee offers more than enough content for its low fee to make up for its lack of depth.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Guacamelee! Is what you get when you put Super Metriod/Symphony of The Night, Saturday Night Slam Masters/Fire Pro Wrestling, Old School SuperGuacamelee! Is what you get when you put Super Metriod/Symphony of The Night, Saturday Night Slam Masters/Fire Pro Wrestling, Old School Super Mario/Mutant Blobs From Space, In a blender & hit puree.

    Guacamelee is the Nintendo game I wish modern Nintendo games were. DrinkBox stays out Nintendoing Nintendo. With a billion times the flair & creativity.

    Both PS3 & Vita versions are identical with 2 platinum trophies cross save & cross buy. You may not utilize cross save since the game is so great you will have the urge to fully complete on both platforms.
    It's even better on Vita because you can play it anywhere & everywhere & you will
    Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Convincing characters, great art style, deep combat, zero glitches or bugs in my experience, and amazing Easter eggs, are just a fewConvincing characters, great art style, deep combat, zero glitches or bugs in my experience, and amazing Easter eggs, are just a few reasons why Guacamelee is one of the games of the year in my opinion. Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    It's fast, it's fun! The color pallet is awesome on vita. Easy buy. It has a little bit weird setting, which comes to life pretty fast throughIt's fast, it's fun! The color pallet is awesome on vita. Easy buy. It has a little bit weird setting, which comes to life pretty fast through the story. I recommend this to anyone who wants a good metroid style game on vita. Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    This is an excellent game. It's very old-school in that, until you get the hang of each individual area, it will beat the crap out of you. TheThis is an excellent game. It's very old-school in that, until you get the hang of each individual area, it will beat the crap out of you. The art style is awesome, the writing is well done and the gameplay is deeper than it looks at first. It is fairly short, but I still would recommend this game to absolutely anyone. Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2014
    9
    I'm still in the middle of the game. Playing it on both PS3 and Vita with cross save :). Guacamelee is awesome. Fantastic platformer game.I'm still in the middle of the game. Playing it on both PS3 and Vita with cross save :). Guacamelee is awesome. Fantastic platformer game. Wonderful puzzles with platforms, dimensions and mazes.
    Enjoyable to play and sometimes the story scripts are really funny. No glitches so far. The game is both challenging and fun. I started this after playing the intense experience of BioShock Infinite. And so it is relaxing me and amusing me.
    I'm playing this as it came part of PS Plus subscription. But if you are a platform based games fan then this is a must game for you. It's amusing.
    If you got PS3 and Vita then you are gonna double enjoy this. On my way to work I play on vita. Then upload my progress to cloud. When back home, I download my progress continue then save and upload it again to continue the journey in the morning using vita :)
    This is a well deserved 9 out of 10.
    Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    First of all, Guacamelee is a great game. There are many side quests and easter eggs available on the game and, most important, it is fun asFirst of all, Guacamelee is a great game. There are many side quests and easter eggs available on the game and, most important, it is fun as hell. But it's main history is a little short, I expected a longer one. Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2013
    5
    This game is super fun at first but the platforming gets harder. In other words, I do not recommend this game for young children or peopleThis game is super fun at first but the platforming gets harder. In other words, I do not recommend this game for young children or people like myself with the reflexes of young children. It got to a point where I just had to stop playing because it requires you to have quick reflexes to advance at a certain point. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews