Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 169 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game features a down on his luck Mexican named Juan Aguacate, who sets out to save the world when El Presidente's Daughter is kidnapped by an Evil Charro Skeleton. The story takes place in and around a small village in Mexico, and has the player travelling through alternate dimensions including "The World of the Dead" and "The World of Nightmares" on his quest to rescue the girl he loves. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. May 21, 2013
    95
    It plays like a dream, it's nice to look at, it can be funny as all get out and it just feels like the real deal, a complete experience just shy of masterpiece status.
  2. Apr 9, 2013
    90
    The combat is addicting, the animations are beautiful, and the narrative is entertaining. What more could you want?
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    90
    Everything about it is finely-tuned and dripping with polish—the bright, stylized visuals, the rock-solid handling, the smart decisions in its core design, use of its Mexican themes, and so on.
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee! is genuinely funny, massively enjoyable, and filled to bursting with good ideas. It's your next essential Vita game.
  5. May 6, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee! goes right to the narrow circle of the most exciting games published on PS Vita.
  6. Easily one of the best downloadable titles on the Vita. Grab it pronto. [June 2013, p80]
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    75
    Colourful, brimming with character and entertaining, Guacamelee offers more than enough content for its low fee to make up for its lack of depth.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Guacamelee! Is what you get when you put Super Metriod/Symphony of The Night, Saturday Night Slam Masters/Fire Pro Wrestling, Old School Super Mario/Mutant Blobs From Space, In a blender & hit puree.

    Guacamelee is the Nintendo game I wish modern Nintendo games were. DrinkBox stays out Nintendoing Nintendo. With a billion times the flair & creativity.

    Both PS3 & Vita versions are identical with 2 platinum trophies cross save & cross buy. You may not utilize cross save since the game is so great you will have the urge to fully complete on both platforms.
    It's even better on Vita because you can play it anywhere & everywhere & you will
    Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    All I can say is that it is the best Vita game out there at the moment. Its beautiful graphics, multiple possibilities and uniqueness make Guacamelee! a nearly perfect game. I was blown away when I first played the game. Never had I seen such beautiful environments as in this game. Want an amazing game for your Vita? Buy Guacamelee! The price is low and the quality is high. What more do you want? Expand
  3. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    For a handheld game, it just works. It's fun, addictive and intuitive. It takes some metroid and only adds to it. The deliberately difficult portions function as such, but never get frustrating or boring. Needless to say, I love this game. Expand
  4. May 6, 2013
    9
    If you own a Vita, this game is a must-have. Great graphics, amusing story and the gameplay is a delight. Even on normal difficulty it's challengin. This game can keep you busy well over 8 hours. The only problem is what to play next... not a great selection of Vita games lately. Collapse
  5. Jan 8, 2014
    9
    Guacamelee! is an amazing platformer with that feel of old school platforming. It has a feel of countless of classics like Super Metroid mixed with Castlevania and other great games.

    The only bad thing about this game is that I feel that the story is too short and can be finished relatively quickly, but other than that I urge people to buy this game and enjoy it to your heart's content.
    Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    First of all, Guacamelee is a great game. There are many side quests and easter eggs available on the game and, most important, it is fun as hell. But it's main history is a little short, I expected a longer one. Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2013
    5
    This game is super fun at first but the platforming gets harder. In other words, I do not recommend this game for young children or people like myself with the reflexes of young children. It got to a point where I just had to stop playing because it requires you to have quick reflexes to advance at a certain point. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews