Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Mar 17, 2014
    91
    No matter how odd it may seem, as soon as the opening notes of the very first song ("Ievan Polkka") kick in, you're probably going to get hooked.
  2. Oct 23, 2014
    90
    If you are a Hatsune Miku fan… well, you already bought this game. If you’re a fan of rhythm games in general, this is one of the best around and very much worth recommending.
  3. Apr 17, 2014
    90
    You’ll need to have a certain mind-set and an ear for songs that might not be everyone’s cup of tea, but Hatsune Miku: Project DIVA f is exactly the type of game that deserves localisation in the West.
  4. 90
    That gameplay, complimented with the excellent visual style and the charming music itself, makes for a heck of a compelling little game, that offers a load of content to boot. Portable games just don't get better than this.
  5. Mar 17, 2014
    90
    A perfect fit for Vita, Project Diva f is a sprawling, complete-feeling package that will be of particular interest to Vocaloid enthusiasts, but which also remains accessible and enjoyable to newcomers.
  6. Mar 12, 2014
    90
    Crisp, bright, and immensely enjoyable, Project Diva f will delight and challenge fans of Vocaloid and rhythm games alike.
  7. May 4, 2014
    75
    A guilty pleasure for many. [June 2014, p.79]
  8. Apr 4, 2014
    70
    Slight presentation issues aside, Hatsune Miku: Project Diva f is a good entry for newcomers to get into the music rhythm genre.
  9. Apr 1, 2014
    70
    Hatsune Miku’s first western video game is a fun one, with some great bits of music and a charming visual style. The experience is however muddled by messy menus and stupid mini-games.
  10. Load times are an issue, but this tap-dancer proves to be pretty, and pretty taxing. [May 2014, p83]
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    With beautiful visuals and a excellent library of songs, Hatsune Miku -Project DIVA- F is one of the best in the series. Though honestly, IWith beautiful visuals and a excellent library of songs, Hatsune Miku -Project DIVA- F is one of the best in the series. Though honestly, I wished it (and the entire series in general) would be on Nintendo consoles as it would actually be fitting and that it got rid of the some of the provocative materials so it get at an E10+. Full Review »
  2. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    New generation, new graphics : the technical leap is astonishing. Sure, it’s not perfect, as I noticed some rough textures and a few bugs inNew generation, new graphics : the technical leap is astonishing. Sure, it’s not perfect, as I noticed some rough textures and a few bugs in Diva Room. But honestly, there’s never been something that neat on a handheld. The devs really gave their best in making the PVs. They were excellent on PSP, they’re close to perfect on PSVita. Sadistic Music Factory, Flowery Battle of the Kagamines for example have such a strong identity that I never have enough of it. Similarly, the track list is wonderful. Nearly every single music is a surefire hit. Unhappy Refrain, Secret Police, World’s End Dancehall or Remocon to cite a few, provide a immense pleasure. I just wonder how this NyaNya thing landed here, because I looks like noise an not music (the PV is really impressive though). It’s so good that I would have wanted more than the 32 available (there were 40 on PSP).

    As for the gameplay, it’s still a musical game in which you have to press the buttons following the tempo, but there are a few new things in this iteration. An additional button appears, which is in fact the touchscreen. The Technical Zone is a limited number of buttons within a music that can reward precious percentage points if you make a perfect. Last but not least, you will trigger a special and more spectacular ending if you succeed during the Chance Time.

    Even if it was already on PSP, the Diva Room returns in an enhanced form, thanks to the refined graphics and the touchscreen. More than reality TV, it becomes a sort of dating sim, and a pretty nice one for that matters. Every character has a friend level that goes up and down depending on your actions (presents, etc.). Miku and the others have somewhat limited base actions and you will have to spend your DP in some items to get more variety. I personnally preferred the random event system that we had in Extend.

    The AR mode allows you to insert Miku in your daily life. The AR camera is already cool, but the AR live is even more exciting : fans rush across a country to see a Hatsune Miku concert, but now you can have your own private session at home!

    There’s one last key-element : difficulty. I had the occasion to try the game during my stay in Japan, but the normal mode didn’t last long. I’m really happy with the final product, because the hard mode has been almost perfectly set. In between 2nd and Extend, most songs put pressure without being discouraging. Unhappy Refrain, Remocon or Sadistic Factory are hard as hell, just like Rolling Girl and Uraomote Lovers were. It depends on the player though, some probably have cleared the extreme mode already…

    More beautiful than ever, more addicting and richer, Project Diva f is concentrated fun like you seldom have. It fully benefits from Vita’s capabilities and sublimates the concept born on PSP.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    This is a niche game. It's not meant for the masses, especially in America. I personally like this game because I've always wanted to play aThis is a niche game. It's not meant for the masses, especially in America. I personally like this game because I've always wanted to play a music based game without using an instrument and these type of games (rhythm) are a perfect match for me.

    I like anime, I like Japanese games, I like music based games...wallah perfect game for me.
    I played this on the PS3 but I didn't play that much. I feel that this game is perfect on a handheld. The 5" screen isn't too large to the point where it's hard to keep along. Best part is that you don't have to worry about input lag since almost all of these vita screens are similar when it comes to input lag.

    Pros:
    -Fun
    -Addicting
    -Casual (I can take my Vita out of my bag and play this game when I have some free time. Just simply turn on Vita, and resume playing...better than a smartphone).
    -Pretty anime (warning, it will distract you...if you want to watch the videos then select watch music videos)

    Cons:
    -The scratching icon (rear or touch) can be pretty tiring, I wish that they let you use the joystick like on the PS3
    -Game can be at times a bit choppy (not to the point where it will mess you up but I notice things like that).
    Full Review »