Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 151 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into the neon-soaked underground of 1980s Miami as bizarre messages on your answering machine seem to be urging you to commit terrible acts of violence - but will you obey? Hotline Miami is full of raw brutality and skull crushing close combat as you find yourself outgunned and using your wits to choreograph your way through impossible situations. An unmistakable visual style, a driving soundtrack, and a surreal plot that will have you question your own thirst for blood. Bash and blast through over 20 multiscreen levels with 35 unique weapons and collect 25 game-altering masks in one of the darkest and most unusual independent games on the scene. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jul 24, 2013
    100
    And that, to me, is the essence of Hotline Miami: it's a game that does everything so perfectly, it even makes me love stuff I would normally hate. Which means that if we're talking about stuff you'd normally love — extreme violence, extreme difficulty, druggy music — then this right here could end up being your favorite game of all time.
  2. Jul 2, 2013
    90
    If you haven’t played Hotline Miami on PC yet, this is your perfect chance. One of the best indie games ever made is now available on Vita and PS3 for just €8 with cross-buy and cross-save. Great controls, a weird story and an epic soundtrack make this little gem a must-buy.
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    90
    Buy this one without hesitation, especially if you haven't played it before.
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    85
    If you've already played the PC version there isn't enough new to consider a second go - unless you really loved it - but it's an impressive port all the same and a fantastic coup for the PS Vita.
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    85
    Like a punch you didn't see coming, Hotline Miami will make you bleed and leave you enthralled with its violence, its responsive controls and, more than that, with its fun and frantic blood fest. A great port, expecially on PSVita.
  6. Jul 30, 2013
    80
    The Dennaton Games title is a fascinating and magnetic action game, which captures and enhances anyone who wants to explore the dramatic and angry perversions of its protagonist.
  7. Aug 31, 2013
    60
    Hotline Miami is a short and bittersweet mix of fast-paced violence and monotonous repetition, where stupendous AI and crazy amounts of randomness interrupt the experience on a regular basis. It’s stylish and mindless fun, but quite annoying nonetheless.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    A high-style gloriously violent indie gem with challenging yet addictive gameplay with a killer soundtrack behind it and tons of unlockables to collect. Buy it now. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    For a 10$ game it's pretty much perfect to me, great pick up and play,enchanting music(it's a must play with headphones for some levels at leastl) I've gone back and played it multiple times which is rare for me, it's a game when I pick up my vita and want a fast fun game session I choose it.

    It doesn't overstay its welcome, although a couple more levels wouldn't have hurt. It is very violent of course so if that's not your thing your enjoyment may be seriously impacted.

    Worth every penny
    Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    this game is completely broken on pc but on vita it is the best indie game i ever played by far. it is one of my favorites vita games. the atmosphere, the music and puzzle based game play are fantastic Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Real good game out there, I love it.
    The OST is amazing, featuring real talented artists.
    I just want a longer game !
    The game is really
    speedrun friendly, powerplay friendly, etc. But the story is quite short.
    I'm still playing it because of the ambiance, which is great. Playing it on the go with the PS VITA is a great plus
    Expand
  5. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Couldn't get into this game on PC, but I love it on the Vita. It keeps you wanting to come back for more with each horrible bloody death. Can't wait for the sequel. Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2014
    9
    At first, when this game became a hit, ofcourse I was following it. And I had no intention of playing it. It looked overglorified, sounded awful and made the impression of a overly-violent stupid game. Oh, how wrong I was. I got this game for two reasons - first, I was bored and second - it was dirt cheap on the PSN. I went into this game with negative expectations - I expected to hate it and not even finish it.
    The first thing I noticed were the controls, which on the Vita felt klunky and a bit fidgity, but - spoilers - when I got used to them, now the controls on the PS3 seem awkward. But I still choose the PC version as a definitive, because I got to play that as well, just for comparison.
    First up, I'd like to say that the game doesn't look "amazing", but it looks awesome for what it is. It has high levels of style and overall polish, that suite the feel of the game very much. The game seems to make the correct impression that it isn't using 8bit style just to be "retro-indie" or "because it can", but because it feels right at home. I can't imagine that 3D or even 16bit graphics would work with this game, not in a million years, neither will voice-acting or high-class shadows and reflections - this game looks perfect the way it is, because the developers knew what they were going for and they didn't spare to proove it.
    I did want to quickly get this out of the way - the OST, but then I remembered that I actually have something to say that most critics miss - yes, the soundtrack is good, and yes, when you first hear it you will either love it or hate it (I did hate it), but not only does it perfectly convey the way you should be feeling in that particular momment, which makes it a brilliant pick and blend of sounds, but further more it gets into your ears, mind and, the amazing thing - it gets you into a particular mindset. It's a thing that you truly need to experience, while enjoying the game, to understand.
    And speaking of enjoying the game - this game has amazing gameplay. I see that some of the people who have submited reviews define it as "unfair" and "inconsistent", but that's the thing the game is going for, and seeing comments like this just prooves one sure thing - this game isn't for anyone's tastes. I'm usually not a fan of violance at all, this game got to me on a couple ocassions, but I found the narrative interesting and the gameplay quite addicting, for several important reasons: first of all, the gameplay is easy to understand and execute, but hard to master - this is something I take of value when games do. The game is intended to be unfair and inconsistent, because it has a masked killer handle groups of armed, proffesional killers - people, who in real life, you wouldn't expect to react the same all the time, would you? I think this game has brilliant AI, though it tends to be buggy from time to time, but it's in good fun. The difficulty many of the users describe as "high", but I say that you just need to get used to it - no hand holding here. This is my second main reason for enjoying the gamemplay - it was rewarding. At first I found almost every next stage to get harder and harder to the point of frustration. But once I "got my groove on" and beat the game, after that I noticed that I'm plowing enemies with Dennis just using the knife and enjoying doing so, because I knew and I saw that I was so damn good at it. Which just leads to my final reason for maximum enjoyment - this game made me loose myself. This game made me the cold and heartless killer that the protagonist Jacket is and I grew to love killing these bloaks, just like he grew to not give a damn (not in the sense that I'd go smash someone's head in with a pipe... for now anyways).
    Which brings me to the final point of interest - the story. A lot of controversy going on with this - some people say it's worthless, others that it's genious, and some that it doesn't matter. I find the first and third types of people to be wrong and while I don't think that the story is "genious" or "unique" for that matter, I find it to be very intriguing and well paced and told, which at times is much more important than content. This type of story isn't my thing, I usually detest movies or books in this matter, but this one had something special going for it that I can't quite grasp even now, but I'm sure it has something to do with the fact that it was a game - an experience, and not something I'm simply being a wintess to. I had a lot of fun tying all the things together and reading theories on the internet that I actually had an opinion on, meaning that the game left a mark on me, which, to me, makes it special.
    Overall, the only grudge I have with this game is that it doesn't last forever. I apologize to it because I neglected it, but I enjoyed it none the less.
    My personal rating is 10/10, but since I know it's not the actual rating I'd give, I give 9/10 because of reasons that don't matter in the end. If you get my drift.
    Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2013
    6
    It's fun, but repetetive. Frustrating and challenging, but not always fair. The controls are awkward and the story is nonsense. I generally love pixel graphics but these graphics are kind of ugly. It looks like everything was made in MS Paint. Quite fun, but very overrated game. Wierd hit detection too. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews