Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 192 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into the neon-soaked underground of 1980s Miami as bizarre messages on your answering machine seem to be urging you to commit terrible acts of violence - but will you obey? Hotline Miami is full of raw brutality and skull crushing close combat as you find yourself outgunned and usingStep into the neon-soaked underground of 1980s Miami as bizarre messages on your answering machine seem to be urging you to commit terrible acts of violence - but will you obey? Hotline Miami is full of raw brutality and skull crushing close combat as you find yourself outgunned and using your wits to choreograph your way through impossible situations. An unmistakable visual style, a driving soundtrack, and a surreal plot that will have you question your own thirst for blood. Bash and blast through over 20 multiscreen levels with 35 unique weapons and collect 25 game-altering masks in one of the darkest and most unusual independent games on the scene. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jul 24, 2013
    100
    And that, to me, is the essence of Hotline Miami: it's a game that does everything so perfectly, it even makes me love stuff I would normally hate. Which means that if we're talking about stuff you'd normally love — extreme violence, extreme difficulty, druggy music — then this right here could end up being your favorite game of all time.
  2. Jul 2, 2013
    90
    If you haven’t played Hotline Miami on PC yet, this is your perfect chance. One of the best indie games ever made is now available on Vita and PS3 for just €8 with cross-buy and cross-save. Great controls, a weird story and an epic soundtrack make this little gem a must-buy.
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    90
    Buy this one without hesitation, especially if you haven't played it before.
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    85
    If you've already played the PC version there isn't enough new to consider a second go - unless you really loved it - but it's an impressive port all the same and a fantastic coup for the PS Vita.
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    85
    Like a punch you didn't see coming, Hotline Miami will make you bleed and leave you enthralled with its violence, its responsive controls and, more than that, with its fun and frantic blood fest. A great port, expecially on PSVita.
  6. Jul 30, 2013
    80
    The Dennaton Games title is a fascinating and magnetic action game, which captures and enhances anyone who wants to explore the dramatic and angry perversions of its protagonist.
  7. Aug 31, 2013
    60
    Hotline Miami is a short and bittersweet mix of fast-paced violence and monotonous repetition, where stupendous AI and crazy amounts of randomness interrupt the experience on a regular basis. It’s stylish and mindless fun, but quite annoying nonetheless.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    A high-style gloriously violent indie gem with challenging yet addictive gameplay with a killer soundtrack behind it and tons of unlockablesA high-style gloriously violent indie gem with challenging yet addictive gameplay with a killer soundtrack behind it and tons of unlockables to collect. Buy it now. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    I'd like to start by saying that I created an account just to give this game a 10.
    As megamind101 said,this is another example of a indie
    I'd like to start by saying that I created an account just to give this game a 10.
    As megamind101 said,this is another example of a indie game that was developed for PS3 and Vita after its success on the PC platform.
    This game has everything a great game needs,and that is:
    Aesthetics,Story,Soundtrack,Gameplay and most importantly,Fun.Even after beating Hotline Miami I couldn't resist and played through the game again,not only because its a fun and addicting game but to also collect all the masks and collect all the pieces of the secret puzzle that remained.
    Most people that bought/will buy this game think that it isn't a big deal at all,but don't let yourself be fooled,Hotline Miami is an excellent game that can be bought for a cheap price.
    Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    What makes this game so special is, that I never knew I even wanted to play a game like this, but I found myself utterly unable to put my vitaWhat makes this game so special is, that I never knew I even wanted to play a game like this, but I found myself utterly unable to put my vita down.
    The immediacy of the game play, the speed at which deaths can occur, both the player and the victims of his murderous rampage.
    An ultra violent, relentless assault on the senses, it comes at you with one of the best sound tracks ever put to video games, thumping base and electronic beats fill your ears (make sure you wear head phones for this) as you take what ever weapons you can lay your hands on to dispatch who ever stands in your way.
    A near dream like quality to the overall feel of the game add a layer of near psychotic desperation to everything, it is death, restart, death restart all in the blink of an eye. You are not some super power solider who can heal by hiding for a few seconds, you will die, you will die lots and you just keep going as the twisted story plays out before your eyes.
    Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    At first glance, I rolled my eyes when I saw the graphics since I’ve played plenty of “retro” type downloadable games only to be disappointed.At first glance, I rolled my eyes when I saw the graphics since I’ve played plenty of “retro” type downloadable games only to be disappointed. This one is actually pretty fun. There is definitely a learning curve and it will take some time to learn the “style” of the game like knowing the advantages/disadvantages of the various masks and weapons. There is a ton of trial and error to passing the level, which actually makes the game incredibly fun. Each level gets increasingly more difficult and there are plenty of unlockables. For the cost of a few bucks, it is definitely worth the cost. Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2014
    9
    Welcome to the jungle! Excellent game, simple controls, great overlord view. A game that should have existed in the 80's and completly worthWelcome to the jungle! Excellent game, simple controls, great overlord view. A game that should have existed in the 80's and completly worth franchise. Repetitive yes.. but talking about violence what can you say. One of the best things is that is an unfair game, and unfair in this game is good. Whether you are smart or you are dead! The best ten bucks I've spent for Vita. Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    Everybode that loved the first GTA back in 1997 would find just as much joy in Hotline Miami, as they did in GTA. I´d say Buy this top downEverybode that loved the first GTA back in 1997 would find just as much joy in Hotline Miami, as they did in GTA. I´d say Buy this top down arcade shooter if you need a retro fix, it is worth its price tag. Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2013
    6
    It's fun, but repetetive. Frustrating and challenging, but not always fair. The controls are awkward and the story is nonsense. I generallyIt's fun, but repetetive. Frustrating and challenging, but not always fair. The controls are awkward and the story is nonsense. I generally love pixel graphics but these graphics are kind of ugly. It looks like everything was made in MS Paint. Quite fun, but very overrated game. Wierd hit detection too. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews