Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into the neon-soaked underground of 1980s Miami as bizarre messages on your answering machine seem to be urging you to commit terrible acts of violence - but will you obey? Hotline Miami is full of raw brutality and skull crushing close combat as you find yourself outgunned and using your wits to choreograph your way through impossible situations. An unmistakable visual style, a driving soundtrack, and a surreal plot that will have you question your own thirst for blood. Bash and blast through over 20 multiscreen levels with 35 unique weapons and collect 25 game-altering masks in one of the darkest and most unusual independent games on the scene. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jul 24, 2013
    100
    And that, to me, is the essence of Hotline Miami: it's a game that does everything so perfectly, it even makes me love stuff I would normally hate. Which means that if we're talking about stuff you'd normally love — extreme violence, extreme difficulty, druggy music — then this right here could end up being your favorite game of all time.
  2. Jul 2, 2013
    90
    If you haven’t played Hotline Miami on PC yet, this is your perfect chance. One of the best indie games ever made is now available on Vita and PS3 for just €8 with cross-buy and cross-save. Great controls, a weird story and an epic soundtrack make this little gem a must-buy.
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    90
    Buy this one without hesitation, especially if you haven't played it before.
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    85
    If you've already played the PC version there isn't enough new to consider a second go - unless you really loved it - but it's an impressive port all the same and a fantastic coup for the PS Vita.
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    85
    Like a punch you didn't see coming, Hotline Miami will make you bleed and leave you enthralled with its violence, its responsive controls and, more than that, with its fun and frantic blood fest. A great port, expecially on PSVita.
  6. Jul 30, 2013
    80
    The Dennaton Games title is a fascinating and magnetic action game, which captures and enhances anyone who wants to explore the dramatic and angry perversions of its protagonist.
  7. Aug 31, 2013
    60
    Hotline Miami is a short and bittersweet mix of fast-paced violence and monotonous repetition, where stupendous AI and crazy amounts of randomness interrupt the experience on a regular basis. It’s stylish and mindless fun, but quite annoying nonetheless.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    A high-style gloriously violent indie gem with challenging yet addictive gameplay with a killer soundtrack behind it and tons of unlockables to collect. Buy it now. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    For a 10$ game it's pretty much perfect to me, great pick up and play,enchanting music(it's a must play with headphones for some levels at leastl) I've gone back and played it multiple times which is rare for me, it's a game when I pick up my vita and want a fast fun game session I choose it.

    It doesn't overstay its welcome, although a couple more levels wouldn't have hurt. It is very violent of course so if that's not your thing your enjoyment may be seriously impacted.

    Worth every penny
    Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    this game is completely broken on pc but on vita it is the best indie game i ever played by far. it is one of my favorites vita games. the atmosphere, the music and puzzle based game play are fantastic Expand
  4. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Couldn't get into this game on PC, but I love it on the Vita. It keeps you wanting to come back for more with each horrible bloody death. Can't wait for the sequel. Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    At first glance, I rolled my eyes when I saw the graphics since I’ve played plenty of “retro” type downloadable games only to be disappointed. This one is actually pretty fun. There is definitely a learning curve and it will take some time to learn the “style” of the game like knowing the advantages/disadvantages of the various masks and weapons. There is a ton of trial and error to passing the level, which actually makes the game incredibly fun. Each level gets increasingly more difficult and there are plenty of unlockables. For the cost of a few bucks, it is definitely worth the cost. Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2013
    8
    I've played this on the PS3 as well, and I have to say that this game feels much more at home on the Vita. All of the complaints I have with the controls for the PS3 version are not an issue here and because of that I found myself completing levels much easier and with more precision than I could on the PS3. Even the graphics, which were already bright and colorful on PS3, seem to be more vivid on the Vita. All of these improvements makes the Vita the system I prefer to play this game on.

    It's easier to pull off more precise shots because the analog sticks of the Vita allow for more fluid twin-stick shooter style controls. Being able to simply tap the enemies location on screen in order to lock on just feels more natural than the PS3 version's more awkward controls. It's still the exact same game. Enemy AI is still iffy at times and it can be very frustrating, but in the end this is the way I recommend experiencing this game, just because of the lack of cheap and unfair feeling deaths.

    So if you haven't experienced this bizarre and incredibly violent throwback to the gory 80's flicks of old, then this is a great way to. In my opinion it is the best way to. It's a lot of fun to be able to take it with you, and the cross-save functionality is very awesome. Regardless of what system you choose to play it on "Hotline Miami" is an experience unlike any other. If you have not yet played it you really need to.
    Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2013
    6
    It's fun, but repetetive. Frustrating and challenging, but not always fair. The controls are awkward and the story is nonsense. I generally love pixel graphics but these graphics are kind of ugly. It looks like everything was made in MS Paint. Quite fun, but very overrated game. Wierd hit detection too. Collapse

See all 26 User Reviews