User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 67
  2. Negative: 16 out of 67

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Although the trailer suggests that the PS Vita copy of the Jak and Daxter Trilogy has frame-rate issues i can assure you that from MY experience with the game,
    the frame rates do not drop as often as you think they might. To be honest Jak 2 ran smoother than ever, Jak 3 had the occasional dip in frame-rate but the
    first game, Jak and Daxter The Precursor Legacy has all sorts of
    frame-rate problems, but thats not the point.The point is the Vita is not capable of running
    games around the clock at 60fps. I dont see there being any problem in the frame-rate for the first two games in the trailer. I only saw a dip in Jak 3, and i
    can assure you these moments of frame-rate drop are few and far between. Let's get onto the POSITIVE side of things now you're getting Jak and Daxter:
    The Precursor Legacy, Jak 2 and Jak 3 on a single game catridge for $50.00, thats three of last gens best titles fiited into one tiny little PS Vita Game Card.
    plus having them wherever you go is quite a bonus. From me it's a good move from sony bringing the trilogy onto the Vita. Being able to play on the Vita on a
    holiday rather than having to take a huge giant console everywhere. The balance of the games are great, Jak and Daxter The Precursor Legacy is a light-
    hearted platformer, Jak 2 add's in shooting, driving, and is more dark, and Jak 3 finds a balance between the two, with shooting, driving, mini-games and
    a whole lot more. The Trilogy on the PS Vita also comes with full PSN trophy support, and if you've already collected them on PS3 you WILL be able to
    collect them all again. Now onto the Graphics, the graphics don't look as good as the PS3, but thats unfair comparing the device with such a beasty console.
    The Jak and Daxter Trilogy graphics are quite amazing for the Playstation Vita, with bright colours popping up everywhere, take the frame-rate problem out (
    thats mean when your getting smooth gameplay). The gameplay is smooth and crisp. The controls, although the controls given to the backtouchpad aren't
    has "usable" as the dualshock's 3 L2 and R2, it gets the job done. It's not about where the controls are, it's about how you use them. To me the backtouchpad
    wasn't bad to use, because i use it quite a bit in most of my other games. Your opinion might differ. Many complain about how, Daxter Jak and Daxter The Lost
    Frontier and Jak X are not in the trilogy. THATS because the PS Vita Game Card can use up to 2GB-4GB of space. Jak and Daxter the Precursor Legacy, Jak
    2, and Jak 3 are 3GB put together onto the Card. Thats why you won't be getting the other 3 spin-offs. My final point is that atleast we have a Jak and Daxter
    Trilogy on the Playstation Vita, and considering the favourite of the three for me is Jak 2, and runs crisply and smootly is quite jaw-dropping for me. My final
    verdict and score will now follow. Still PATCHES could be avaible to the Trilogy if developers look into it.
    Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    I'm new to the Jak and Daxter series, this is truly my introduction.
    (Following is based off the Precursor Legacy Gameplay)
    Now, the game itself is fantastically playable, there's a lot to do in each game and the first one blessedly reminds me of Banjo Kazooie, part of an era of 3D Platforming that we simply haven't returned to. Where collectables floated everywhere, and I mean
    everywhere.

    The port itself, is a real shame. The first game is 100% playable, but there's slowdown in some noncrucial moments in the beginning. The camera is archaic and I don't understand why the standard is inverse and then going into First person still gives me ridiculous controls even after I changed it. The camera is just not smooth and it almost seems fruitless to bother with it just let it auto pivot 75% of the time XD

    Glaring stupidity? There's a choice to turn on and off vibrate in the options.

    After seeing that, I was surprised to see that they had atleast changed other things to say Playstation vita system as opposed to PS2 when saving.

    Issues can be patched, but oh, maybe it's just me, but the jump is wonky, I have to press firmly to double jump.

    Camera and occasionally not working double jump aside... I'm having fun, the first game is good and I hear the ports for the other two are better, so here's to hope.

    I would really give this game an 8.5 because the port seems rushed, it just lacks polish, but the games are worth the money if you haven't tried them and want them to be portable.
    Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    First off, I'd like to start by saying that I do see the framerate drops in the first game, but I do not feel like it is a massive problem that takes away from the experience. The game is a solid port of a great game. This collection did what it advertised, it brought the Jak and Daxter experience to a handheld. Since the games play just as good as I remember, with just a few infrequent performance drops, I'd say that they did a great job at bringing the dynamic duo to the PlayStation Vita. Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    The framerate issues in precursor legacy are akin to that of a Pc game vs it's console counterpart. Yes, the game could be smoother. However it does not hinder the playability or enjoyment of a phenomenal game.
  5. Jun 21, 2013
    6
    It is not fair to say Vita is not capable of running Jak And Dexter What you will notice across all the three games at first will be the horrible frame rate, now... we had games such as MGS 3 Uncharted MW GR and so on with much better graphics run on a very stable frame rate.
    Conclusion is that unfortunately developers have rushed on this port and it has turned something lazy. The
    game is obviously not optimized very well on vita therefore we are seeing the huge frame rate drops. I can tell you that the frame rate is smt between 20 to 30
    . All the three games are in one cartridge, which leads to see textures have been simplified too much sometimes. in general graphics are turned down compare to PS3 so much. We had HD collections such as MGS 3 and MGS 2 in which the graphics were on par with console version and it was running very good. I do hope that developers address the issues as fast as possible to fix the problems, becuz the more you play this collection the more you realized it is kind of unplayable this game needs to have consistent frame rate.
    aside of all, Jak and Dexter consist one of the best series ever produced on PS2, its 3 legendary game with charming characters, nice open world gameplay, attractive story and beautiful settings. The gameplay feels a little bit ancient due to its old nature but it is still worth playing if you never have tried Jak or want to re alive your memories.
    Finally, I do hope GOW HD will not have Frame rate issues and I really like to see a patch for this game.
    Expand
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    A lot of negative comments about this game collection on Vita. Granted, it could have been better but that is the way it is. There is always room for improvement with everything in life. I don't notice the frame rate like everyone else. I thought this game had a beautiful clear picture on the Vita screen. My only complaint is the controls. The rear touch panel is very touchy and in Jak 2, it is a recipe for disaster should you accidentally touch that screen and if you are physical while playing, it will throw you for a loop. Playing on the Vita definitely takes a little getting used to when you are used to the large console. The buttons are so small and game play is a little stiff but I love this game series. I bought Jak for my kids when they were knee high to a grasshopper and though they are all adults now, we all still love the series and I for one am just glad they brought these lovable characters back. I do wish Sony would create a touch pad cover for the back of the vita or make the touch screen an option by having an enable/disable button. One other thing would be to create a controller that looks and feels like the PS3 with a port in the middle to connect the Vita to the controller. That would allow you to play comfortably with the feel of the controller you are used to. I think it would also allow gamers who for one reason or another can't play on such a small console with tiny controls, to enjoy games on a smaller scale. Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    Bullogna Score: 7.5/10! Good.

    After seeing a certain behind-the-scenes video, uploaded to YouTube last year by PlayStation themselves, I was instantly inspired by a series of mascot platformer-shooters that I went out and bought a PlayStation 3. What I wanted, though, was to play this collection on the go. After over a year of Google searching the terms: Jak and Daxter Collection PS
    Vita, Sony has finally delivered. The collection is precisely the exact high-definition port we received last year on the PS3, although with some technical hiccups that Mass Media Inc., the team who did the porting of the games, apparently couldn’t avoid.

    The menu screen seems to use completely redesigned character models which look as if they belong on the next-generation PlayStation 4, interestingly enough. The new character models are fluidly animated on the Vita’s OLED screen at an extremely consistent frame rate. But as players proceed past the two menus, which each game in the collection consists of, one begins to question the effort that went into the port into portability. The first aspect of the game I noticed that seemed a little off to me was the ability to toggle vibration options while vibration isn’t even present in the PS Vita. Secondly, the frame rate in the actual games is much worse than that featured in the PS3 version. Mass Media Inc. simply didn’t take their time in the making of this port. It’s a bad port of a collection of stunning games, featuring one of the most compatible video game duos of all time. So long as you don’t need portability, I’d recommend purchasing the PS3 version over the Vita, although I believe European players have the option of cross-buy, in which both versions of the game are available for the price of one.

    Pros

    +Sexy menu screen

    +Beautifully colored worlds are ideal for PlayStation Vita

    +Graphics are relatively the same as PS3

    Cons

    -Bad frame rate

    -Vibration options?

    -Mass Media obviously didn’t have enough time to port this collection.
    Expand
  8. Jun 22, 2013
    8
    3 fantastic games wrapped up in a less than stellar port.

    Ill just start off by saying I have never played any of the jak games before. And although I had a bit of a hard time getting into the game initially mainly due to the framerate problems, I stuck with it. And boy am I glad I did because these games are truly fantastic. But, you probably knew that. Yes, alhough the poor framerate
    is initially discratcing you do get used to it after a while, but it is far from ideal. Since the games are slower paced platfoming/adventure/action titles it doesnt interfere with gameplay too much, however it does take away from the beauty of the game. especially that of the wonderfully detailed animations. On a side note I also experienced an incident where a few audio tracks cut out.

    So if you were thinking of picking up this collection on the vita there are some major hurdles you will have to overcome in order to experience some of the ps2's finest on the go. It is a shame that more effort wasnt put in and it was better optimised for the vita, since MGS 2 and 3 worked great on here. But, you have to take what your given. I am still having a blast with these games however and cant wait to finish them to completion.
    Expand
  9. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    I can't believe that the same people that made the excellent port for PS3 also worked on the Vita version. What the hell happened?! Were they pressured into releasing beta code too early before optimization was completed? Porting ps3 code to vita is supposed to be fairly easy so this can only mean that it wasn't ready. I love my Vita and I want so badly for it to shine, but rushing software to market is not the solution!! The game is almost unplayable because of very low frame rate. The camera does this strange horizontal shaking constantly, even while idle. I experienced several hard crashes while playing. Even the game select menu is buggy with art form the other games tearing off layers that stick to each other! What a buggy mess!! I really hope that a patch will be released to address the frame rate and buggy camera. If a patch is released I will update my review with a solid 10! Expand
  10. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    Yes, the framerate is not 30FPS, but that doesn't retract from the experience, you are playing three of the best PS2 games on a portable, the framerate did not affect me, or the gameplay, in fact I stopped noticing it a couple of minutes in. This is not my introduction to the series, I had Jak 1 on the PS2 and the entire trilogy on the PS3, so I can say that this is a solid purchase and can't wait for future PS2-Vita collections. Expand
  11. Jun 23, 2013
    5
    I love Jak & Daxter but I gotta be honest with this one.
    I am very disappointed with the work they have done in the vita.
    The frame rate is really bad making the experience way worst than it is in the PS3 or even in the PS2.
    Is sad because I've been waiting for this trilogy on vita since it was announced but now it feels unplayable.
    I'll be waiting for a patch. Either way I'll end
    selling the game. Expand
  12. Aug 2, 2013
    0
    No, this games are not good. I'm happy that the PS Vita bundle with this Collection was the same price as the PS Vita without a game. Otherwise I would've been so mad. How the does somebody enjoy this? It's buggy, laggy, and just not fun at all. The controls are not smooth and for half of the time the character just doesn't react when you press a button.
  13. Gaz
    Sep 28, 2013
    0
    As a huge Vita fanatic, I naturally went and bought this game. I played a few hours then promptly shut it off. Why? Shoddy portwork. Developer Mass Media did a great job at remaking the games on PS3. For the Vita, not so much. The game IS Jak and Daxter, but it's not what Jak and Daxter deserves. First of all, the graphics are fine, but not great. They should be polished and crisp, but come off flat and uninspired. I never played the Jak games on PS2, but people are saying that the HD collection's graphics are worse than the original's. Then there's the ever-inconsistent framerate. I wondered at first whether it's just how the PS2 games played, then I realized it wasn't. The camera bobs up and down when you run and there's a significant amount of slowdown. Seriously, one second you're running at full speed, the next, it looks like Jak's part of a slow-mo instant replay for something. It''s not just choppy, it's gamebreaking. The laziness of the developer also shows in the menus: They didn't even bother taking out the option to turn on/off the vibration from the console version. Overall, there's probably some fun to be had here for people willing to overlook it's flaws, but this game is simply a tragedy that could have been avoided with more effort. Games like the Metal Gear Solid HD Collection, Rayman Origins, Ultimate Marvel VS. Capcom 3, and Persona 4 Golden have proved that pixel-perfect ports to the Vita are entirely possible with little to no concessions. The fact that the Jak and Daxter Collection is this bad should be an insult to gamers everywhere. Mass Media clearly cut corners and didn't flesh out the details of the game before they released it, which is both a shame and an outrage. I held on to the game for a month post-release to give the developers the opportunity to patch their mistakes and make the game what it should have been in the first place, but there was no patch released, and from what I can tell, there still isn't. The reason that I gave it a 0 is because the game is incomplete, and therefore, not a game at all. I don't play half-baked titles and neither should any gamer. That's why you should only pick this up if you're looking to be disappointed. Expand
  14. May 6, 2014
    4
    Okay, I had to come back to this one because I've completed a lot more of it since my original post. Many already know that the framerate is all over the place, sometimes it's okay, other times some of the worst you've seen, but a lot of people seem to be having different experiences with it, so I just wanted to go over my own. Jak 1 starts out with bad framerate for about the first third of the game. It improves somewhat during the middle part of the game, and then the final third main area of the game the frame rate is much smoother. It wasn't just because I was getting used to it, I actually went back to the first hub of the game and the FR was bad again. Moving onto the second game, I have no idea why people are saying it runs the best of the 3. Sure the very first room of the game runs smooth but trust me, when you get to the main city the framerate absolutely plummets. There are some other levels in the game that run okay and others where it's so bad that it makes some of the missions seem damn near impossible to complete without blind luck. I actually gave up on the game at around 85% because the FR was beginning to directly hurt the mechanics of the game. As for the third and final, I played a little past the tutorial and decided it was unplayable. I remember the tutorial being easy as hell on the ps2, playing it on the vita I died about 5 times since I had to fight the god awful framerate! I rarely ever say this but I honestly think this port was not worth making. Expand
  15. Oct 8, 2013
    8
    I wanted to play a Jak and Daxter game for a long time (not counting Jak Racing) and i finally get to play this HD collection. I'm still in the first game but i see what the game has to offer and now i see why so many people love the series and why is one of the PS2 best classics. Totally deserved this great HD collection and i recommend it to the players who have played it on the PS2 for the trophies and to newcomers, because this is a great game and should not be missed because it has so many challenges and things to collect. Expand
  16. Apr 19, 2014
    7
    A slightly weak port with framerate issues but its still a great collection of games. For me Jak 1 is the best of the lot and its my first 98% on trophies, really great little game that holds up well. However expect occasional framerate issues at times and the controls get a litlle fiddly which can be frustrating but I wouldn't let that put you off, the games were some of the best of their generation so apply patience and you'll have a lot of fun! Expand
  17. Jan 8, 2014
    7
    The game itself is worth all your money, but the problem is that it was poorly optimised for the PS Vita. There are so many framerate problems present throughout the whole trilogy. There are also glitches and bugs not present in the PS2 or PS3 versions of the games.

    If you have a PS3, I would recommend getting the trilogy on that instead, but if you only have a PS Vita then get the
    trilogy because it's a bang for your buck with nostalgia written all over it. Expand
  18. Sep 2, 2013
    8
    I got this collection free with Playstation plus in August 2013.
    I'd never played the originals in the past and was interested in playing them on the Vita, so far I've only played the first game The Precursor Legacy and I am really impressed at how well it looks and plays on the handheld beauty. I've heard people talk about lag issues, I've not experienced any on the first title and
    can't wait to complete it and start the second installment. I suggest you try it. Expand
  19. Jul 31, 2013
    8
    i just gonna make this short, I am having fun playing this game and I really don't notice frame-rate being that bad, I think the critics are to hard on this game, so what if the frame-rate is a little slow, if the frame-rate is good enough to be playable, then its not a problem for me, I think the game is fun and that's all that matters to me, so overall if you are looking for a fun game on the ps vita this one would be one to get, but if you are looking for a really smooth running game, this is not the game. (and i recommend the PS Vita Trigger Grip, for it helps to not accidently hit the rear touch pad) Expand
  20. May 31, 2014
    10
    Some bad framerate issues (AT TIMES), most of the time it runs fine and is completely playable apart from one time when the framerate dropped to 1fps, which of course made it completely unplayable, I'm assuming this was just a glitch since it only happened once. It's definitely worth at least an 80 on metacritic and is definitely worth picking up, I've finished all 3 games and had no big issues throughout, plus 3 games in one is an amazing deal, at least 100 hours of gameplay Expand
  21. Sep 13, 2014
    4
    Is there something worse than an infantile 3d platformer? Yes, badly ported infantile 3d platformer with framerate issues, tons of glitches and input lag making controls one big hell that leads to the new undiscovered realms of frustration. Camera work is terrible and overall the gameplay is simply just bad. Characters are annoying and all you do is jumping like crazy, collecting orbs, there are basically all the right reasons to hate this game. On the other hand as I wanted to finish it, so I know what all the fuss is about and to get a platinum in the process. I must admit, that after finishing it all, in a strange way, I started to like all that collecting and it grew on me a bit. Definitely a terrible port, especially the input lag combined with framerate issues and occasional crashes and unability to save are making it hell at times, but if I look at it from the bright sight, this was a truly hardcore experience, 10 times harder than Dark Souls, I must have died about 2000 times here, so if you want to really suffer and finish these badly ported games, go on, in a masochistic way, I had some fun in the end. Maybe if I played it on PS3, which I actually could as it's a cross-buy, I might have actually really enjoy these. Pity. 4/10 Expand
  22. Sep 22, 2014
    8
    Great game series for newcomers and previous fans of the series, the vita version Is not HD like other collections, although having these 3 games on the go is great! The precursor legacy has little problems apart from the odd frame rate issue here and there, which is not noticeable once you have passed the tutorial. however the frame rate is at its lowest in Jak II when roaming the city. while out of the city I saw no notable problem while playing, and due to the smaller sections in Jak III there is less to render therefore the framerate is not really an issue. Overall great game. Expand
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. We can’t help but feel as though this port was booted out of the door without so much as a kiss goodbye. Case in point: you still have the option to toggle ‘vibration’ on and off in the settings menu. Come on, guys... really? The Jak and Daxter Collection should be played by anybody who hasn’t already. But our advice: skip past this port and go for the home console version instead. [September 2013, p74]
  2. Aug 9, 2013
    60
    The sad truth is that while the trilogy is more than playable on the Vita this collection is not the definitive version, and if you have the choice and the inclination you would be far better off playing these on the PS3.
  3. Jul 28, 2013
    68
    The Jak and Daxter Collection’s three games are excellent, but if you have the ability to play them on the PS3 (or hell, even the PS2), then that's the way to go.