Jak and Daxter Collection PlayStation Vita

Jak and Daxter Collection Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nearly 10 years ago, the Jak and Daxter franchise debuted on PlayStation 2, raising the bar for the platforming genre and quickly becoming a fan favorite. Today, we announced that the original Jak and Daxter trilogy will be coming together for the first time ever on one Blu-ray disc in theNearly 10 years ago, the Jak and Daxter franchise debuted on PlayStation 2, raising the bar for the platforming genre and quickly becoming a fan favorite. Today, we announced that the original Jak and Daxter trilogy will be coming together for the first time ever on one Blu-ray disc in the Jak and Daxter Collection. Available exclusively for PlayStation 3, The Jak and Daxter Collection includes the dynamic duo's first three adventures: Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy, Jak II and Jak 3. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    80
    What the Vita lacks in software, it makes up for in opportunity. UI tweaks, perfectly mapped controls, and a beautiful translation to the Vita's portable screen make it perfect for anyone traveling for the summer, sitting on the toilet in need of PS2 greatness, or even people like me who just missed Jak & Daxter's adventures the first time around.
  2. Jul 2, 2013
    75
    It's far from being a definitive Vita experience, to be sure, but if you're looking for some mostly enjoyable platforming on the go (or if you've just got a nostalgic itch to be scratched), the Jak & Daxter Collection is certainly worth picking up.
  3. Jun 26, 2013
    70
    It's just a shame the genre-defining original is such a frustrating title to play on Vita, the second is so impenetrably hard, and the third a little unfocused.
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    66
    It's no surprise that the Vita release of Jak and Daxter Collection is noticeably inferior to its console counterpart. The problem is I'm referring to both the PlayStation 3 and PlayStation 2 versions of each game. What the Jak and Daxter Collection gains in portability to loses in playability - a compromise that, even for games as objectively great as these three, is tough to reconcile.
  5. Jun 22, 2013
    60
    Jak and Daxter is an excellent franchise and one of my all-time favorites, but the Vita collection doesn't really do it justice. If you're keen on experiencing these classics, whether it's for the first or fortieth time, it's probably best to wait for either a price drop, or just pick up the superior PS3 version.
  6. Jul 12, 2013
    60
    This specific Vita-version of the Jak and Daxter Trilogy doesn't do the series enough honor. Framerate issues and awkward controls undo a lot of the magic. Whoever manages to look past these issues will have an expansive and varied trip through the colorful Misty Island, the somber Haven City and tough Spargus awaiting them.
  7. Aug 9, 2013
    60
    The sad truth is that while the trilogy is more than playable on the Vita this collection is not the definitive version, and if you have the choice and the inclination you would be far better off playing these on the PS3.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 29
  2. Negative: 9 out of 29
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    A lot of negative comments about this game collection on Vita. Granted, it could have been better but that is the way it is. There is alwaysA lot of negative comments about this game collection on Vita. Granted, it could have been better but that is the way it is. There is always room for improvement with everything in life. I don't notice the frame rate like everyone else. I thought this game had a beautiful clear picture on the Vita screen. My only complaint is the controls. The rear touch panel is very touchy and in Jak 2, it is a recipe for disaster should you accidentally touch that screen and if you are physical while playing, it will throw you for a loop. Playing on the Vita definitely takes a little getting used to when you are used to the large console. The buttons are so small and game play is a little stiff but I love this game series. I bought Jak for my kids when they were knee high to a grasshopper and though they are all adults now, we all still love the series and I for one am just glad they brought these lovable characters back. I do wish Sony would create a touch pad cover for the back of the vita or make the touch screen an option by having an enable/disable button. One other thing would be to create a controller that looks and feels like the PS3 with a port in the middle to connect the Vita to the controller. That would allow you to play comfortably with the feel of the controller you are used to. I think it would also allow gamers who for one reason or another can't play on such a small console with tiny controls, to enjoy games on a smaller scale. Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2015
    9
    all the complaints this collection gets is something i dont completely understand. yes there are a few framerate issues but the collectionall the complaints this collection gets is something i dont completely understand. yes there are a few framerate issues but the collection works really solidly well. jak and daxter stayed at a constant 25 if not going up to 30 fps for me and it looked really good on the vita. jak 2 is where i could see some complaints as the game did dip to about 15fps occasionly for me but for about 85% of the game it stayed at 30fps. and jak 3 was completely fine. the only other problem was that jak 1 crashed on me once but that was after a save point and it only took less than a minute to get the game up and running again. so in short yes this collection is not perfect and it has a few problems, but its still a great package with three amazing games on it for rather cheap. plus extra credit goes for the effort they put into making that sexy menu screen for selcting your game and the boxart which both look extremely good. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    I'm new to the Jak and Daxter series, this is truly my introduction.
    (Following is based off the Precursor Legacy Gameplay)
    Now, the game
    I'm new to the Jak and Daxter series, this is truly my introduction.
    (Following is based off the Precursor Legacy Gameplay)
    Now, the game itself is fantastically playable, there's a lot to do in each game and the first one blessedly reminds me of Banjo Kazooie, part of an era of 3D Platforming that we simply haven't returned to. Where collectables floated everywhere, and I mean everywhere.

    The port itself, is a real shame. The first game is 100% playable, but there's slowdown in some noncrucial moments in the beginning. The camera is archaic and I don't understand why the standard is inverse and then going into First person still gives me ridiculous controls even after I changed it. The camera is just not smooth and it almost seems fruitless to bother with it just let it auto pivot 75% of the time XD

    Glaring stupidity? There's a choice to turn on and off vibrate in the options.

    After seeing that, I was surprised to see that they had atleast changed other things to say Playstation vita system as opposed to PS2 when saving.

    Issues can be patched, but oh, maybe it's just me, but the jump is wonky, I have to press firmly to double jump.

    Camera and occasionally not working double jump aside... I'm having fun, the first game is good and I hear the ports for the other two are better, so here's to hope.

    I would really give this game an 8.5 because the port seems rushed, it just lacks polish, but the games are worth the money if you haven't tried them and want them to be portable.
    Expand
  4. Apr 19, 2014
    7
    A slightly weak port with framerate issues but its still a great collection of games. For me Jak 1 is the best of the lot and its my first 98%A slightly weak port with framerate issues but its still a great collection of games. For me Jak 1 is the best of the lot and its my first 98% on trophies, really great little game that holds up well. However expect occasional framerate issues at times and the controls get a litlle fiddly which can be frustrating but I wouldn't let that put you off, the games were some of the best of their generation so apply patience and you'll have a lot of fun! Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    I can't believe that the same people that made the excellent port for PS3 also worked on the Vita version. What the hell happened?! Were theyI can't believe that the same people that made the excellent port for PS3 also worked on the Vita version. What the hell happened?! Were they pressured into releasing beta code too early before optimization was completed? Porting ps3 code to vita is supposed to be fairly easy so this can only mean that it wasn't ready. I love my Vita and I want so badly for it to shine, but rushing software to market is not the solution!! The game is almost unplayable because of very low frame rate. The camera does this strange horizontal shaking constantly, even while idle. I experienced several hard crashes while playing. Even the game select menu is buggy with art form the other games tearing off layers that stick to each other! What a buggy mess!! I really hope that a patch will be released to address the frame rate and buggy camera. If a patch is released I will update my review with a solid 10! Expand
  6. May 6, 2014
    4
    Okay, I had to come back to this one because I've completed a lot more of it since my original post. Many already know that the framerate isOkay, I had to come back to this one because I've completed a lot more of it since my original post. Many already know that the framerate is all over the place, sometimes it's okay, other times some of the worst you've seen, but a lot of people seem to be having different experiences with it, so I just wanted to go over my own. Jak 1 starts out with bad framerate for about the first third of the game. It improves somewhat during the middle part of the game, and then the final third main area of the game the frame rate is much smoother. It wasn't just because I was getting used to it, I actually went back to the first hub of the game and the FR was bad again. Moving onto the second game, I have no idea why people are saying it runs the best of the 3. Sure the very first room of the game runs smooth but trust me, when you get to the main city the framerate absolutely plummets. There are some other levels in the game that run okay and others where it's so bad that it makes some of the missions seem damn near impossible to complete without blind luck. I actually gave up on the game at around 85% because the FR was beginning to directly hurt the mechanics of the game. As for the third and final, I played a little past the tutorial and decided it was unplayable. I remember the tutorial being easy as hell on the ps2, playing it on the vita I died about 5 times since I had to fight the god awful framerate! I rarely ever say this but I honestly think this port was not worth making. Expand
  7. Gaz
    Sep 28, 2013
    0
    As a huge Vita fanatic, I naturally went and bought this game. I played a few hours then promptly shut it off. Why? Shoddy portwork. DeveloperAs a huge Vita fanatic, I naturally went and bought this game. I played a few hours then promptly shut it off. Why? Shoddy portwork. Developer Mass Media did a great job at remaking the games on PS3. For the Vita, not so much. The game IS Jak and Daxter, but it's not what Jak and Daxter deserves. First of all, the graphics are fine, but not great. They should be polished and crisp, but come off flat and uninspired. I never played the Jak games on PS2, but people are saying that the HD collection's graphics are worse than the original's. Then there's the ever-inconsistent framerate. I wondered at first whether it's just how the PS2 games played, then I realized it wasn't. The camera bobs up and down when you run and there's a significant amount of slowdown. Seriously, one second you're running at full speed, the next, it looks like Jak's part of a slow-mo instant replay for something. It''s not just choppy, it's gamebreaking. The laziness of the developer also shows in the menus: They didn't even bother taking out the option to turn on/off the vibration from the console version. Overall, there's probably some fun to be had here for people willing to overlook it's flaws, but this game is simply a tragedy that could have been avoided with more effort. Games like the Metal Gear Solid HD Collection, Rayman Origins, Ultimate Marvel VS. Capcom 3, and Persona 4 Golden have proved that pixel-perfect ports to the Vita are entirely possible with little to no concessions. The fact that the Jak and Daxter Collection is this bad should be an insult to gamers everywhere. Mass Media clearly cut corners and didn't flesh out the details of the game before they released it, which is both a shame and an outrage. I held on to the game for a month post-release to give the developers the opportunity to patch their mistakes and make the game what it should have been in the first place, but there was no patch released, and from what I can tell, there still isn't. The reason that I gave it a 0 is because the game is incomplete, and therefore, not a game at all. I don't play half-baked titles and neither should any gamer. That's why you should only pick this up if you're looking to be disappointed. Collapse

See all 29 User Reviews

Trailers