Jet Set Radio PlayStation Vita

Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tag, grind, and trick to the beat in SEGA’s hit game Jet Set Radio!Fight for control of Tokyo-to, mark your turf with graffiti, tag walls, billboards, and even rival gang members! Perform tricks and flips on magnetically driven in-line skates, but watch out for the local policeTag, grind, and trick to the beat in SEGA’s hit game Jet Set Radio!Fight for control of Tokyo-to, mark your turf with graffiti, tag walls, billboards, and even rival gang members! Perform tricks and flips on magnetically driven in-line skates, but watch out for the local police force!Heritage Collection treatment:Jet Set Radio is now part of Sega’s Heritage Collection Series and features Retina Display support as well as Gamecenter achievements and leaderboards!New for Mobile!Jet Set Radio has been updated with new features specifically for your mobile device! Swipe the screen to apply graffiti and use your device’s camera to take pictures and spray them in game!Classic Beats:Skate to the funky tunes of Pirate Radio! Jet Set Radio still features 29 of 30 tracks from the original Dreamcast release.Express yourself:Choose from a massive catalog of classic and new graffiti or create your own and use it to tag walls, billboards, cars, and even rival gang members!The gang's all hereRecruit more than 10 playable characters to your gang, each with their own unique graffiti! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    75
    Ideal for those who love the original game, but those who are not comfortable with "old" playable schemes should try it before making up their minds.
  2. Jan 7, 2013
    75
    Jet Set Radio HD got old, but we are talking about a title still able to entertain and enthrall all those who could accept compromises with its gameplay.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Feb 9, 2014
    8
    I got this game because of a game called The World Ends With You for NDS and it reminded me of it. Having played it now I consider it a goodI got this game because of a game called The World Ends With You for NDS and it reminded me of it. Having played it now I consider it a good game. Graphics look like a comic sort of style and soundtrack is as almost like if someone mixed soundtracks of the Persona games and made into a sort of British-style beats. Roller-skating part is good as well as the graffiti making. I would say this is a game for those who crave something very Japanese and weird. Also would recommend it to those who have played the early BMX and Tony Hawks games because its got those sort of physics. Expand
  2. Dec 14, 2012
    7
    I had not ever played the original when it was released on the Dreamcast. I got it for free from PS+ and the game is actually pretty fun. TheI had not ever played the original when it was released on the Dreamcast. I got it for free from PS+ and the game is actually pretty fun. The graphics are decent for an HD Remake, the music is good but the main issue here is the controls. They are not very precise and can be difficult to deal with at times. This is a limitation of the original game I am sure so if you played it and enjoyed, I am sure you will like this as well. It is a good handheld game since the levels can be knocked out quick. Overall it was a good experience playing through on the Vita, especially since it did not cost me anything because of PS+. Collapse
  3. NT1
    Feb 11, 2013
    6
    Although the soundtrack is great, the graphics are a bit dull. I've never played the game before on the Dreamcast so no nostalgic feelings forAlthough the soundtrack is great, the graphics are a bit dull. I've never played the game before on the Dreamcast so no nostalgic feelings for me. The gameplay is fun but I had the feeling something was missing the whole time. Great effort though. Expand
  4. Feb 27, 2013
    6
    With gorgeous cel-shaded artwork and a terrific soundtrack, Jet Set Radio could have been a real winner. Unfortunately however, even theseWith gorgeous cel-shaded artwork and a terrific soundtrack, Jet Set Radio could have been a real winner. Unfortunately however, even these can't make up for gameplay mediocrity and sloppy controls. Only recommended for those looking to indulge in a little nostalgia. The vast majority of everyone else should probably stay well clear. Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    6
    While beautiful, Jet Set Radio lacks a really addictive gameplay that other games similar manage. Still. Jet Set Radio is an excellent game ifWhile beautiful, Jet Set Radio lacks a really addictive gameplay that other games similar manage. Still. Jet Set Radio is an excellent game if you are into this genre and looks amazing. Expand
  6. Sep 2, 2015
    5
    I have never played the original, meaning nostalgia was not a factor for me. Nostalgia i really needed to smooth over the problems this gameI have never played the original, meaning nostalgia was not a factor for me. Nostalgia i really needed to smooth over the problems this game has. It is a product of its time and inaccessible to new players.

    The gameplay is extremely frustrating. The controls lack the precision required to complete a stage without great difficulty. If the controls were tight the game would be fantastic and the addictiveness would go through the roof instead of the players frustration. Precision movement is needed for a game like this and it isn't there at all. Pardon the pun but it makes the game a real grind. To make it all worse you are constantly hounded by police forces knocking you over and draining your Heath.

    On the upside the music is fantastic. The DJ, professor K is marvellous and an effective narrater channeling the influence of the Warriors which is present throughout. The world is similarly well crafted and visualised presenting a cool future Tokyo full of life and colour. The cell shaded graphics suit the futuristic and weird Japan perfectly and really meshes with the soundtrack well. Only letdown is the clunky character design, again that comes with its age. Also more voice work would also have aided characterisation.

    The story is light, fun and very Japanese. You are a young 'rude' skater who forms a new gang, pitting you against the 3 rival gangs. The gangs are extremely well presented again inspired by the exaggerated style of The Warriors. All the gangs have different and distinct regions that represents different times of day. The levels are extremely well designed, making the gameplay even more frustrating.

    The performance overall on the Vita is good but not perfect. It is a bit choppy in areas and the music cuts in and out occasionally. Furthermore the menus are a bit slow and clunky. Overall its very manageable.

    Jet Set Radio is a pleasure for the eyes and ears but is really let down by its gameplay. It comes from a different age and it really shows.
    Expand