KickBeat Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: KickBeat offers players several innovative ways to interact with music. The game combines beat-matching mechanics with an acrobatic style of martial arts, turning every song into a raucous battle. The game also features a music analyzer that allows players to create new tracks from their ownKickBeat offers players several innovative ways to interact with music. The game combines beat-matching mechanics with an acrobatic style of martial arts, turning every song into a raucous battle. The game also features a music analyzer that allows players to create new tracks from their own music libraries. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    84
    I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by how well it turned out. For only $10, you’ll get plenty of gameplay for the money spent.
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    80
    KickBeat is definitely on rhythm, and will consume hours of your time with its beat-matching brawling as a consequence.
  3. Oct 15, 2013
    74
    Martial artistry set to music will have you kicking to the beat.
  4. Sep 6, 2013
    70
    KickBeat isn’t a game that will stay with you for years, but the time you spend with it will be fun. It is a decent attempt at mixing up a genre that was getting tired. The ability to add your own music is a nice addition and adds a longevity to the game. It is more than worth your time and attention and another fine addition to the every growing Vita library.
  5. Oct 7, 2013
    65
    I hate to be down on a small title trying to do something different and interesting, but I just couldn't get over the fact that Kickbeat felt more like a work in progress rather than something that was ready for prime time. With a better, more varied soundtrack and a little more exploration of how the martial arts theme could be applied to expanding the current game design, a sequel should be a real knockout. I genuinely hope the dev team gets the chance to make it.
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    65
    If you’re really dying for a handheld music game KickBeat could fill that void for a bit of time, or in short bursts, but due to the small soundtrack you will most likely get weary pretty quickly unless you’re patient and create a bunch of your own tracks to play with.
  7. Sep 23, 2013
    40
    KickBeat was a really interesting idea that with a little better direction could have made for a great rhythm game on the Vita which, I feel, is a platform that can handle rhythm games very well.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    Let's get this out of the way: Kickbeat is a classic beat-matching rhythm game. If you don't like those, you probably won't like this one,Let's get this out of the way: Kickbeat is a classic beat-matching rhythm game. If you don't like those, you probably won't like this one, either. It will kick your butt until you get used to the controls and the novel way that the rhythm cues appear. And like other beat-matching games, it becomes a "Zen" (haha) experience once you've developed enough skill to play at high difficulty levels and feel like a total badass.

    The things that KickBeat does differently is that instead of a note highway or other stuff slapped on top of the action in the background, the fighting action IS the note highway. Each enemy comes from one of 4 directions, and you press the button for that direction when the enemy is close enough. In the easiest difficulty level, there are icons on the ground that light up when the enemy can be hit. This helps you get used to the positioning and the controls. But at higher difficulty levels, they are gone, so don't get too used to them. (Note: the icons show the X/Square/O/Triangle buttons, but you can also use the d-pad with your left hand too, which helps when there's lots of enemies.) There's also a double-tap control to collect powerups and chained enemies where you hold the button down for the first one and let go for the second.

    Even though the controls seem pretty simple, like other rhythm games, it's about how they're matched to the music that makes it interesting. Punching guys to the beat feels really good and it's surprising that this is the first game to do it (that I know of). When the difficulty ramps up and your guy is flying around destroying mobs of enemies while the heavy, aggressive soundtrack blasts out at you, it gets your blood pumping and your fingers flying. It's like playing out a fight scene from a movie.

    The other cool part of the game is the Beat Your Music mode where you can use your own music in the game. I've tried a few songs and some worked really well, but some older ones where the beat wasn't steady got off track and weren't as fun. Electronic music and rap generally works best since it's easier to tap out the beat and it doesn't usually change beat since it's done with computers and drum machines. The tracks that it makes aren't quite as good as the ones in the game that were done by hand but it's still awesome to have an unlimited supply of songs in the game. This is the first game that I know of since Dance Factory to let you use your own music in a beat-matching game (Audiosurf isn't beat matching, though it is still cool) and I have to give them props for how well they made it work, even with its limitations.

    Overall you can tell that they wanted to do something new with the rhythm genre and give the game lots of replay value, and they succeeded. There are a few flaws like some of the note charts I think are off in places, and having to unlock everything, but all in all it's a very satisfying game if you are willing to put the time and effort in to get past the initial learning curve. I would give the game an 8.5 or 9 normally but because of the innovative approach and the fact that they tried something original in a genre I love, I'm giving them some bonus points.
    Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    This just impressed me so much, it was exactly what i wanted and more.

    The beat your music generator rocked, too. Lets see, awesome
    This just impressed me so much, it was exactly what i wanted and more.

    The beat your music generator rocked, too.

    Lets see, awesome story, amazing graphics, cheap price, fun gameplay...

    This game rocks!

    Totally buy it.
    Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    This game is awesome! I've always wanted a fighting rhythm game that was good. I love the songs, gameplay, and simple yet nice story. NiceThis game is awesome! I've always wanted a fighting rhythm game that was good. I love the songs, gameplay, and simple yet nice story. Nice game modes too such as free play, survival, story mode with a unlock able character, very challenging difficulty modes, and even a music generator where you can fight to tracks you make! This game is awesome and fun on both systems but I prefer it in the go so you can kick the crap outta fools to some catchy rock, rap, techno tunes! Collapse
  4. Oct 5, 2013
    8
    Awesome game. The graphics are good, the controls are good as well and the music.. Well the music is awesome! If you want a good Vita game forAwesome game. The graphics are good, the controls are good as well and the music.. Well the music is awesome! If you want a good Vita game for when you're travelling, you're on vacation or you just want something new I recommend KickBeat. Sure, it's not something everyone will like, for example, I wasn't really into these rhythm games, but Zen Studios changed my mind! KickBeat also has extremely beautiful cut scenes and lots of modes. In the Kick Your Beat mode, you can even integrate your own songs.

    It's not the best game out there, but definitely a great game for its genre and platform.
    Expand
  5. Oct 28, 2015
    7
    After many Guitar Hero and Rock Band games used plastic instruments as controllers, KickBeat goes back to using a regular controller and givesAfter many Guitar Hero and Rock Band games used plastic instruments as controllers, KickBeat goes back to using a regular controller and gives you a standard rhythm game with a twist - Instead of pressing notes correctly, you kick enemies to the beat of the music. It's one of the few music games to have a story mode, although the plot is quite generic and forgettable. It is about Lee, the 'Chosen One' of a group of monks who kick enemies to the beat via training with their leader, Master Fu. They play the songs from the Sphere of Music, a sphere that contains all music that has been or will ever be made. After the third stage tasks you with defeating the Mercenary Chief, the owner of a music entertainment company, Earth Entertainment steals all but 18 of the songs in the world. Lee's objective is to defeat the owner, named Mr. Halisi, and the enemies at Earth Entertainment's other locations.

    The cutscenes are animated in a comic book style which looks visually nice. The training missions are important but not very interesting. I would recommend you start playing on Normal difficulty, as it's a good starting point for newcomers to the game. On this difficulty, you will be able to see which button to press as the enemies attack. Once you start playing on Hard, though, you have to know what buttons you're meant to press as the button indicators are gone, all you have is a white outline on the enemy when you're supposed to kick him. There are yellow guys, who are regular enemies who kick in no pattern. The blue guys are supposed to be hit quickly between each other and the red guys are supposed to be hit at the same time, meaning you'll have to press two (or even three on Expert and Master) buttons simultaneously.

    There is a lot of content to unlock, a bit too much content since you have to finish the game on Master difficulty to unlock every last drop. This game can become quite frustrating and difficult at the higher settings, and even at the low settings if you are still getting used to the patterns, especially when some of the songs are 5 minutes long. You have a health gauge and a Chi gauge in the middle of the screen (which is also where your character stands). Chi can be used to increase your score multiplier and you can collect it by kicking people correctly.

    The song selection is not brilliant, but it's fairly well chosen. The songs are a mix of late 90s heavy metal music and more recent (but not current) electronic music from people like Pendulum and Celldweller. However, I was a little more satisfied with the songs in Boom Boom Rocket (check out my XBLA Compilation Disc review for more on that). Unfortunately, there are a few annoying spikes in difficulty during the game, like the final boss where you have to double-tap the buttons to kill the purple orbs or a long song that you'll have to do all over again if you fail.

    Once you finish, you are encouraged to continue the story with Mei, Master Fu's granddaughter. You also unlock the Beat Your Music mode when you finish, and it works quite well, from what I've heard. I couldn't try it since I have no music stored on my PS Vita. This mode would expand the life of the game, however, as you can kick to the beat of your own favourite music. You unlock Survival mode after finishing the game on Master difficulty, which is exactly what you'd expect - you survive for as long as you can while all of the songs play one after the other. I've encountered a few progress-related glitches, such as a trophy not unlocking and some cutscenes being locked in the Unlockables section even after I had seen them in the story mode.

    Overall, KickBeat is a good rhythm game with a fresh twist and colourful (but not excellent) graphics. What brings it down is its song selection that (although good) could be better, its frustrating difficulty spikes, odd glitches and plain story. It's currently free on PS Plus for PS3 and PS Vita (but not for much longer) so if you have a Plus subscription and one of those consoles, I would recommend getting it. If not, buy it if you are interested in rhythm games or the concept of this one. A better version to get if you don't have Plus is KickBeat: Special Edition on PS4 or Xbox One or even the Steam Edition on PC. But if you don't like music games, you probably won't like this one.
    Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2015
    5
    An rhythm action game in which the player must press buttons in time with the music in order to defeat attacking enemies KickBeat isn't a badAn rhythm action game in which the player must press buttons in time with the music in order to defeat attacking enemies KickBeat isn't a bad game, especially if you are a fan of the genre, but it doesn't offer anything new and isn't as much fun as using instruments to play along to your favourite songs in games like Rock Band. Expand
  7. Jan 21, 2014
    4
    I like rythym games, I own almost all of them for PS3 and PC. This one is lame. Sorry.I like rythym games, I own almost all of them for PS3 and PC. This one is lame. Sorry. Pass........................................................................................ Expand

See all 8 User Reviews