• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 320 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Killzone: Mercenary proides a new perspective on the Killzone Universe. You’re not simply an Army grunt folling orders - you’re freelance gun for hire, a merc - a soldier of fortune - someone who doesn't play by the rules or fight for any particular flag. They’re in it for the cheddar. The client might enumerate the objective, but he won't tell you how to do your job. You formulate your own tactics and choose your own weapons; so long as you get the job done. The game provides a full single player Campaign, spread over 9 missions. In addition to the primary missions, there is a new Contracts mode, offering an additional 27 sets of objectives. You select from three difficulty settings; Recruit Trooper and Veteran. The harder the difficulty selected the higher the rewards earned. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. Sep 4, 2013
    100
    After the disappointing Resistance: Burning Skies and the truly abysmal Call of Duty Black Ops: Declassified, the Vita finally has a top shooter, which listens to the name of Killzone: Mercenary. Guerrilla Cambridge hit it out of the park with this fantastic handheld experience. It looks and plays great, its levels are varied and challenging, and the online multiplayer is hugely entertaining. If you own a Vita, you should own this game.
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    90
    This may be the biggest production in the entire history of portable console games. Impressive technical aspects and a very polished AI, as well as lots of playability and a long playtime, both in single player mode and multiplayer mode.
  3. Sep 6, 2013
    85
    The stunning graphics along with a decent single player campaign and a great multiplayer mode make Mercenary the best Vita game for this autumn.
  4. Sep 4, 2013
    80
    Graphically astounding and packing some serious online firepower, this is the high-budget handheld hit that you’ve been waiting for.
  5. Sep 4, 2013
    80
    Mercenary is a truly great shooter, one that was crafted with the hardcore shooter fan in mind. There’s a lot to love here -- even if its campaign is woefully short – from its deep Contracts mode to its engaging multiplayer functionality.
  6. Mercenary is a big budget FPS on a handheld, done as right as it can be, but it’s still not quite good enough. [November 2013, p80]
  7. Sep 4, 2013
    55
    At its most basic, shooting guys in the face in Killzone: Mercenary can be enjoyable but never gives the player any credit in any other facet of the game. Not to mention a repetitive, uninspired mission structure and pocketfuls of missed opportunities, the campaign length coming in at just under four hours.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 94
  2. Negative: 2 out of 94
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Once again some of the critics are slating this game. One giving it a pathetic 55! What a moron. This game is epic reviews like that destroy the games chance and sales. I have finished the campaign except for the extra side missions and have been playing the multiplayer daily. The campaign is great just wish it was a bit longer but with the covert side missions adds extra playability. The graphics are superb the best on the vita by far it comes close to ps3 quality the multiplayer is great and addictive and I have not experienced any lag. All in all this is the best vita game and first person shooter on a handheld. Don't listen to some of these so called critics who probably aren't true gamers that are giving it ridiculously low scores. If your after great graphics controls gameplay and lots of replay you won't be disappointed. Expand
  2. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    awesome fps game for cheap and big gameplay.but i want to know why this game is cheap in india.lfkjbsdjlfhdjfhdjshfjldhfdhf ;kfj;kdhfienvnljnfksdjkndkf skkd dfjflk; .dnfksdf slkdf ksfnk kfnkl fnk;f fnksf knfks Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This game is great, when you turn on the game you forget that it is on a portable, it shows off the true power and capability that vita contains within everything from air particle effects to massive falling structures is done at the highest standard we have seen on the vita, the sound is also great the guns sound and feel heavy emerging you into the role of a ruthless mercenary, the story is good it tells a tale of a blood and money driven mercenary that through the course of the game softens and becomes a mercenary that fights for a better course, the difficulty is spread out nicely even after completing the game on veteran difficulty i did not feel the rage, accept some moments where I was ripping hairs of my head but then it encouraged me to act more tactically by using specific van-guards. Van-guards are a great replacement of kill streak system, they are very futuristic yet realistic, there are a bunch of weapons to chose from each of them has better stats than others, of this front I prefer the Call of Duty declassified system where weapons are divided into separate category's e.g. Sniper, LMG and assault weapons, in killzone all weapons are divided into primary and secondary with no sub categories which is a bit messy, I also wish that there was more customisation of weapons and also more weapons. The multiplayer is equally as thrilling as the campaign all of the money and acquired weapons from the campaign carry over to the multiplayer (and vice versa). The multiplayer is great the maps are detailed and scaled perfectly so if you have 8 people in a lobby it is just like battlefield or cod on a smaller scale, Valor cards are a new implementation to show how good or how bad you are in the game, these are assigned daily depending on what weapons you use, how many kills you get and how many matches you have won the better the valor card the more it is worth and the higher rewards you obtain, to evaluate, this game is what Sony has promised us, now Sony has to continue giving their flagship franchises to developers that know the franchises, unlike with call of duty and resistance was given to nihilistic and we all know how it ended 10/10 Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    This game pushes the boundaries for what I thought was possible on handheld consoles. Up until recently I was kind of disappointed with my Vita because Sony promised me so much but delivered very little. This game has give me great hope for the future of the console. The graphics are truly incredible and the gunplay and audio of the game is near perfect. The single player campaign is a great immersive experience and the multiplayer is what I have always dreamed of when it comes to online FPS on the go. I hope that anyone who reads this ignores the idiotic reviewer score and buys this game to support not only the developer but also Sony, so we can have more excellent games like this on our Vitas Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    Right when I was about to sell my Vita, this game jumps out at me and yells "You don't wanna do that! I'm addicting. I have graphics! I'm better than COD! You'll be impressed!".
    And boy was it right!
    I went to Gamestop, bought it used for $30, went home, downloaded its updates, fired it up, went straight to the options menu (cause that's what hardcore PC gamers do, lol) and was shocked to see motion sensor aiming. At that point I knew this was going to be a revolutionary experience! At the start of the mission, first things I noticed were the clever use of baked-in ambient occlusion and shadows, and because of that, I could tell that the experience was going to be smooth due to the lack of those power-hungry calculations. I haven't finished the story mode yet, nor am I really paying attention to what's going on in the story at all. I just like to cap enemy heads with precision while listening to my exciting, heart-pounding Metal music, lol. Only thing bugging me is the inability to disable aim assist in single player. In multiplayer, aim assist seems to be gone (Yay!). It'd be nice to see some sort of kill-cam after dying though. Frame-rate is consistent 95% of the time. After being used to over 75 fps in most of my PC games, I've easily come to accept the maximum 30 fps on a handheld. If it weren't for the motion sensor aiming, I'd probably not play it as much. If you have a Vita and don't have this game, do yourself a favor... Buy it!
    Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    It's an amazing game. It's not only the best shooter on Vita (though that's not saying much), but it's also the best Killzone game yet. The controls, mechanics, and feel are all perfect for the vita. The wide variety of weapons, grenades, and the new vanguard system (killstreaks in both single and multiplayer such as invisibility, a portable shield, or even a jammer) give the player a lot of freedom in playing how they want to play. The best feature however that will keep you coming back for more is the money. You earn money for absolutely everything you do, from killing higs to collecting ammo to blowing drones up. This mechanic is perfect for this game thanks to it being one unified bank account across both single and multiplayer, allowing you to raise enough for that special gun even when you are not in range of Wi-Fi for multiplayer, which is in 6 well built and diverse maps. There are only 3 game modes. Team deathmatch: the name says it all. Mercenary warfare: my favorite of the bunch is a normal free for all with a twist. It's "who can collect the most money", not kills! With enough brains to go with skill, you can go from last place to first place in a minute, but those who focus on nothing but kill count will not necessarily place in the top 3. The final mode is Warzone, the classic killzone objective based mode. The match is split into 5 objectives: Valor collection (basically collecting the dropped dogtags), hacking (hacking as many vanguard capsules as possible), interrogation (meleeing an enemy from behind. It's the hardest of the lot but most rewarding), hacking again, and finally kill count. I wish Vita had the 3DS's Activity log so I could see how many hours I spent playing Killzone's amazing multiplayer!
    The graphics are some of the best on Vita. In action, it looks almost as good as early PS3 games and for once, the long loading times are not a consequence of the great visuals.
    The only draw back here is the incredibly short campaign. You will probably beat it in about 5 hours but Guerrilla didn't leave it there. You can replay each mission another 3 times to complete covert, precision, or demolition challenges, giving you about 20 hours of single player fun.
    An amazing game that I recommend to any and all Vita owners!
    Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2014
    0
    call of duty only much worse. short and frustrating. pretty graphics. bought based on good reviews. those giving it 10 are morons. waste of money. go play uncharted the golden abyss Expand

See all 94 User Reviews