Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jan 11, 2013
    95
    Knytt Underground is sure to be one of the most controversial games of the year. It's daring in all the right ways, poking at hot topics and digging into the origins of religion. Even if you ignore the deeply personal narrative, you'll find that Knytt Underground offers one of the most elaborate game worlds ever created. It's a marvel that will keep you going for dozens of hours!
  2. Jan 19, 2013
    85
    Knytt Underground relies on exploration and on the charme of the environments, giving to the player the possibility to discover a gigantic subterranean world.
  3. Jan 7, 2013
    80
    Knytt Underground is a sensory journey to live. The gameplay is well built, but the real strength of this game lies in the plot and in the effectiveness of graphics and sound.
  4. Jan 4, 2013
    75
    I can't say, in all honesty, that it's an approach that speaks to me (I like my games to be obvious and linear, darnit!), but I can say that if you're the type of person who can appreciate the journey as much as the destination in a game, then Knytt Underground should be well worth your time and money.
  5. Jan 2, 2013
    70
    Knytt Underground is slow to start and difficult to interpret, but you'll always have fun exploring its environments and surmounting the puzzles that environment presents.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Dec 28, 2012
    8
    I gave Knytt Underground a go on the PS Vita because it was offered as part of the PS Plus membership. I have been really enjoying the experience so far. Knytt Underground is a fairly atmospheric 2d platformer/rpg. The graphical style is in a sense lo fi but has quite a unique feel to it and it suits the game well and looks great on the Vita. The main draw is exploring and exploring in abundance as the game map is really quite big. I found the plot and setting of the game to be quite interesting and well defined. Knytt Underground is extremely atmospheric. The game play reminded me a lot of the early 2d super metroid games and something about the sound track reminds me of parts of final fantasy 7. I would recommend this game as it is enjoyable, compelling and overall very well designed, although the size of the game map can be a little overwhelming at times. Knytt Underground feels refreshing and like a throw back to a previous era of video games. Had this of been released on the SNES I'm sure that it would still be fondly remembered. It would be an injustice if too many people pass thing game by. Full Review »
  2. Apr 27, 2013
    3
    This game is awful. Not completely bad, but still really, really awful.
    Let's talk about the good parts first. The graphics are gorgeous for
    the most part. The music is beautiful, the sound design is wondrous. Seriously, the whole atmosphere is just what you'd expect from a Nifflas game: Calm and enchanting.
    The game-play isn't bad. There's a huge world to explore. Sometimes it's a little annoying to have to go to the other side of the world along paths you have taken a dozen times to get some item, but otherwise navigation is fun and exciting.

    Too bad the fun stops here. The character design is HORRID. These characters look so bad, it made me want to punch whoever designed them. They look like somebody was too lazy to properly draw them and instead chose to make pre-rendered (and ugly) parts to mix and match to make characters.
    Then there's the story and characters and these are awful, as well. The game is preachy as heck, constantly trying to force some kind of discussion about religion, fanaticism and rationality down our throats. While I personally find that topic very interesting, I found it incredibly out-of-place and forced in this game.
    The main character travels around the world with two fairies for most of the game. Each of them represents one side of the argument: You have a fairy that is into science logic and rationality and you have fairy devoted to spirituality and stuff. And since the main character's mute, the fairies do the talking for her. And they are both stupid!
    The science fairy is an arrogant, hateful dick, constantly insulting people and sometimes even threatening them with horrible violence. There is even one part where she suggests killing a whole bunch of people. Seriously!
    The Religion Fairy is a complete dimwit and sometimes it seems that she will believe in freaking anything anybody says. Instead of making both sides of the argument look valid and important to consider, Nifflas makes both sides look terrible.
    Now, the two fairies DID grow on me a little over the game, to a point where I didn't loathe their guts any more. They have back-stories and even a bit of character growth and the game actually manages to be surprisingly inclusive here and there, but it's all too little too late. And none of it feels natural. The whole game looks like an interesting post-apocalyptic setting which someone violently beat an religion-conflict into. Fanatical fairy parents who don't approve of their fairy daughter becoming a scientist is just very, very silly and doesn't do the topic justice.
    Play something else.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    Frente a los numerosos "New" que, no nos engañemos, acaban ofreciendo básicamente lo mismo en el género de las plataformas, Nifflas vuelve a la carga con el Knytt más grande y transgresor que ha programado hasta la fecha. Los amantes de los dos anteriores títulos tal vez echemos en falta el amoroso pixelado de Juni o muy especialmente la posibilidad de cargar niveles de los usuarios, pero este Knytt Underground es todo lo que un aficionado de las plataformas, de la exploración y de los retos puede esperar: "bigger, better and more badass". Llevo jugándolo toda una semana y aún me quedan muchos rincones del mapeado por descubrir. Recomiendo a cualquier jugador que evite los perjuicios hacia los gráficos de ciertos personajes: los fondos, el diseño de niveles y la música son sencillamente maravillosos, transmitiendo una atmósfera de melancolía y surrealismo que se apoya en el trasfondo de las muchas historias que pueblan este mundo subterráneo. En el aspecto netamente jugable es para mí el mejor metroidvania en años, pero es que además, como todo buen vino, está lleno de matices. Full Review »