• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Sep 18, 2012
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 258 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 258

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    To be short and sweet, LBP Vita is the best of the series so far. The story is by far the strongest, the create mode is now next to perfect and the multiplayer is the same classic formula. Simply perfect.
  2. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    This LittleBigPlanet is absolutely beautiful! The PS3 was good but the PsVita achieved its best and making it look like a High Definition success! With new levels and excellent dialogue by the narrator it will be "creative" success!
  3. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Utter brilliance by Media Module. A game with a great story mod, fun multiplayer, cute mini games, and overall the best experience on playstation vita to date!
  4. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    No corners were cut here. In fact I think this iteration of littlebigplanet has more going for it than the ps3 games do. Every vita owner should have this. Story mode is great, there's a ton of room for replayability, and best of all, create mode wont crash on you every 5 seconds (like the psp version). There are some new tools as well that I don't think were in any of the other lbp games. The new 'dephysicalize' is one of the most useful tools in the kit. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This is one of my favorite games for vita, right on the day it came out i bought it. The sound, the graphics the new gameplay from the vita are just amazing as i expected from a Little Big Planet game. The multiplayer takes a little to load but is very cool and the creator tool are perfect to create a good and funny level, or whatever you want to create.
  6. Sep 21, 2012
    9
    I just love it. I can't put it down and the only reason I'm here is because I've whipped my battery life for all it's worth and it demanded a one hour charge break. It loses none of it's big screen majesty, and in fact feels just as comfortable in your fingers as it would on the biggest of HD screens. Sound the alarm, my game of the year has arrived.
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    This is the exact game that the Vita was meant for. Every game I have played so far on the Vita has failed to take advantage of the system either by using its elaborate controls awkwardly or not using them at all. I'm glad in the cases were they don't throw them in there because I'd prefer it not be forced. The point here is that the usage of touch and tilt felt integrated into the game in a way resonated with the physics of the game. It felt as though what you did on the outside had a 1:1 relationship with what happened on the inside. So Vita aspect aside, onto the game. I played the first one about 3 years back and enjoyed it enough but the series really has come along way going on this one alone. Platforming was fun and unique and due to the different theme of every level it really never felt repetitive. The music was good and fit well with the gameplay. The characters were funnier than I expected; I would not go so far as to call them hilarious, but it was certainly written in a witty manner. The story was kind of interesting but was not really the driving factor for LBPV. Visuals. Wow. LBP looks great on the vita. The best part is that I haven't gotten into the community/creation stuff yet so it should get even better fairly once I mess around with that aspect. If you have a Vita this is the game you have been waiting for to make the console really stand out as an impressive piece of tech. Expand
  8. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    An awesome game I brought it a week ago and it worth every penny great graphics, great gameplay looks like LBP 2 and there hundreds of games u can download online for free please buy it
  9. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Excellent single player, troves of online options. Essentially endless level, finally a Vita title that lives up the hype. Great game. If I could only own 1 Vita game, this would be it. I found it fun and forgiving.
  10. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    This is best game in the LBP series and best Vita game so far. It has all the features from LBP, many new features using Vita capabilities. A some general improvements that are causing editor being even more comfortable. The campain (all new. Not a port) is kind of standart shorter platforming game with puzzle side levels. But the editor is the core of this game. It is fun to just play with it - everybody who likes games like Minecraft should go buy this game immediately. It has so much more possibilities... And in few days we can expect many new great levels online. There are already efw good ones. And the game is just one day online. It will be getting better and better. Expand
  11. Aug 18, 2013
    8
    I was originally convinced this would be the definitive LBP game, and was disappointed to find it was not. Although, the game comes quite close. The story is classic LBP lore, an evil villain has done something bad, you have to stop them. The cast of characters are each interesting and have their own backstories. The classic platforming is back, with lots of little interactable things using the Vita's accurate touch screen. The community aspect is the same as all LBP games, although creators seem to have scaled down the effort on this one, sadly. The create mode is ever present with all the old tools plus more. My problems with this game remain the fact that there is no multiplayer create mode (during my time with it) which was a large source of enjoyment for me in LBP2. The community is much smaller and less experienced than LBP2 ones, thus community levels are not of a high quality (This isn';t really the game's fault)

    It is not the game it promised to be, but it is definitely still one of the best games on Vita.
    Expand
  12. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    LBP! Yeah sure it´s fun, and must say i´m impressed that it looks just like it´s older name brother on the big consoles. but even then i find it hard to play a game that so much feels like i´d already played through before. If you already have played they other LBP games it´s unlikely that you find much new thinking here.
    Great multiplayer and online functions saves this game for a
    slightly lesser score then an eight! Expand
  13. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This Is literally LIttle Big Planet from PS3 on your Vita, nothing has been compromised, everything works stupendously, and the added touch functions really gives it the edge over the PS3 version.
  14. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    I have always believed that the vita has been one of the only consoles thats powerful enough to rival the current generation of consoles, and as such games on the vita wouldn't need to be scored as traditional 'portable' titles because the hardware is just as capable as consoles. So far, this hasn't been true, until now. Ive really enjoyed playing games like uncharted golden abyss, but if you compare that game to its ps3 counterparts, you can't help but be just a little disappointed with golden abyss. I've always thought the excuse 'Hey that reviewer gave that game a negative score! He should be reviewing this game in the context of the expectations set by other portable titles' shouldn't hold true for the vita, so THANK YOU little big planet vita for proving this. Not only is little big planet ps vita a great conversion of a console title, it actually improves on the existing formula by adding some seemingly minor changes that definitely benefit the game in big ways. Things like the saveinator that allow you to make games where the players can actually save their progress through your game is a little edition that brings huge possibilities with it, so not only can you make quick arcade like experiences now, but you could make a full fledges rpg game that takes 10 hours or more to complete! The new vita specific touch, tilt, and rear touch functionalities are surprisingly a lot of fun as well, and the ability to take a photo of anything and upload it to your level (Don't worry I haven't seen any penis filled levels yet) is a really fun edition. Oh yea, and unlike the psp lpb this game has online multiplayer, and it works really well, pretty much any level can be played with someone else, well, except for the levels that the creator has specifically made as a single player level. There are a couple of things that could make it better however; it would be nice if you could play miltiplayer with ad-hoc, and wouldn't it be cool if lbp ps vita was able to play the existing games available for the ps3 titles? But this game does way to much good to make those few things even matter. If you have been on the fence about the vita, YOU NEED TO BUY THIS GAME! I really hope an awesome community forms around ithis game, because it definatley deserves it. Its a wonderful game that honestly makes little big planet feel like it was designed with the vita specifically in mind. I'd write more praise for this game, but I need to get creating. In short, this is the reason you bought a vita. Expand
  15. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    I can't believe I'm saying this, but this is the best LBP game ever made. I can't believe they both outclassed and outfeatured (I'm allowed to use made up words for an LBP review.) the previous titles. Touch controls are usually a nice alternative and/or addition in most games, but in LBP Vita, it pushes the game well beyond what I thought it was capable of. Level designing alone is worth the price of admission. Seriously. I get lost for hours at a time in it. That and the single-player campaign is the best in the series...loaded with both original content and various arcade-like titles. I'm talking about full iPhone/Android games WITHIN LittleBigPlanet. It works well, too! Very well. This combined with seamless online incorporation makes for a game that deserves a 15/10. Expand
  16. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    By far the best Vita game available, and the fun literally never ends. For a vita game to have the power to create, share, and download infinite number of levels/games is awesome. Get it! $40 well spent.
  17. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    One of the best, if not the best Vita game to date. The best story levels of any LBP game to date, mainly because of the fantastic level design throughout. Amazing boss battles, and fantastic minigames abound. Every level has meaning as it will unlock items for the once again fantastic create mode. Create mode is exactly the same as LBP2, except with more features that add in the ability to use the touchscreens and drag around objects. It's all very intuitive, and is an extremely welcome addition to the game. Create mode now has positional inputs for almost all things (pistons, winches, wobble bolts, etc) and you can now multiply and add signals easily with AND and OR gates. The memorizer allows for the saving of progress in a level, and is an extremely useful tool. Overall fantastic game. If you enjoy creating on LBP2, it's worth buying a Vita for. If you enjoy playing the levels and infinite user created content, it's a must buy for any Vita owner. 10/10 Expand
  18. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    I have always been a fan of this amazing series since Christmas of '08. Who can't like this series? Now LittleBigPlanet VITA is available and it is no doubt the best VITA game yet. It looks almost as good as its big brothers on PS3, the story is somewhat short but very good and enjoyable, and the creativity is literally ENDLESS!! The platforming is just as fun as PS3's, and the new touch controls are perfect and doesn't negatively inflict on gameplay. There is also lots of customization with plenty of DLC from LBP/LBP2 and new DLC to come. Anyone that doesn't smile while playing has something really, really wrong with them. Get LBP VITA! Expand
  19. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing game which everyone should play!! Dont get fooled by the childish game cover or anything this game has a lot to offer even to adult players. Its also kinda hard sometimes ^^. Great use of touchscreen and motion sensors cominated with standard buttons makes it amazingly fun everytime you play. You can create levels , publish them , download/rate/review levels of other players which some of them are really good. This is the neverending journey in a crazy cartoon world. One of best games on PS Vita so far. Expand
  20. Sis
    Sep 19, 2013
    10
    This is downright the best Little Big Planet game in the franchise. The new innovative controls, the extra content, and the unique level design makes this the most rich and experience filled Little Big Planet game. The story s also just as interesting and funny as the other stories and you truly feel satisfied when you play it. The only downside of this game is the lack of splitscreen because it's a handeld, but the online is just as awesome as in the other games. Having played and owned every Little Big Planet game, this is probably my all time favorite. If you have a vita, you NEED this game. Expand
  21. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    El diseño de niveles del modo historia es BRILLANTE , uno de los mejores en mucho tiempo, la grafica es de la mejor en la PSVITA. La musica es HERMOSA, en especial la del segundo planeta.
    Las mecanicas de juego son increibles, sacan el maximo provecho a las capacidades de la consola.
    Y aun no empiezo a mencionar todas las maravillas que hay entre los juegos hechos por la comunidad.
  22. Oct 18, 2012
    7
    It's little big planet for the vita. It plays like LBP1 or LBP2 for the PS3, and it probably plays like LBP for the PSP. It is pretty easy to beat the single player campaign. Designing levels (creating) is still a difficult and time consuming task. Playing online can be a challenge and I have solid WiFi at my house. About half the time I can't connect or get booted from a game, not to mention the controls, which have never been a strength, are even more buggy when playing online due to glitching or delays due to the internet connection. I do like LBPVita, it just seems like I have done all of this stuff before. I find myself wanting to put this game up and go back to Disgaea or Rayman or Metal Gear Solid instead, so I can't give it a much higher review. If I had never played LBP games in the past or if I was younger and enjoyed platforming games more, I am sure my score would be a little higher. Expand
  23. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    Littlebig planet feels right at home on the vita, having played all the lbp's i can say that this one is the best out of all of them. I hope they make more for the vita :)
  24. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    I have always heard that little big planet is one of the best games on ps3/psp but i always ignored i never expected much of the game really i always figured it would a silly with no content and with some minigames.But then i played LBPV and i just sayed to myself ''WELL THIS GAME IS FREAKIN AWESOME!!!'' Not only is it a good platformer but it also has a great story that i never expected the mingames are great and very addicting and then theres ton of content to find the customization options are endless for those with creative then i recommend this game beacause literally u can do anything in create a level!!Jumping into levels with fans playing user created levels,addicting games,great lenghted story.This is my firs LBP and i loved i hope i get to try LBP 1&2 one day but for now i have this amazing game and i rate this games 3 out of 3, 5 stars, 10/10, 100 out of 100 the game is awesome if u have a vita buy this game Expand
  25. Oct 23, 2012
    9
    From the best games on Vita. For my taste is the best in the series. many possibilities, great fun, and incredible. I'd like that if you improve a little more online.
  26. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    If you like platformers Just buy it. There is enough platforming, community level, and prize collecting fun to be had for months and months on end. If you don't like platformers then you may not be thrilled with it and I'd try it out first but if you enjoy Megaman, mario, donkey kong, or any other classic or current platormer this game is for you.
  27. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    Having played all of the previous editions of Little Big Planet this was a no-thought purchase and turned out well worth the money. The Vita version not only incorporated the different capabilities of the of the PS Vita device itself in clever and inventive ways, but it was easily the best one they have made yet. Once all levels were completed, it was still my primary game for weeks going back through all of the various levels.

    Would highly recommend this game to anyone.
    Expand
  28. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    the best game on ps vita so far the graphics the sounds and every thing else very good the touch function impressive and work well like the rear touch pad and motion sensor and the camera the creation tool very good and complete
  29. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This game is AMAZING, and i say that because this is the best vita game I own. There's tons of user-generated content so the fun never stops. There's always something new to play and the gameplay runs smoothly and no lag. The only downfall to this game is the fact that you need an online pass to play online, but other than that this game has great graphics, that run smooth, always a fun game to play, and a great vita experience for everyone. I recommend this to anyone Expand
  30. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    amazing game every thing from beginning to end is a lot of fun i love this insane game the story impressed me and cut scenes is pretty awesome thank you lbp fans for the good user score
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    This little platformer is by far one of the best Vita releases yet. The game uses the whole shebang of Vita's controls and the touch screen makes the level editor super easy to use. Unfortunately the levels made for PS3 are not compatible and the controls are still a tad too clunky for my taste. [Nov 2012]
  2. Maybe the biggest revolution is the Memorizer, a feature that allows you to store and save data in your home made levels. In short it means that you can potentially create your own RPGs, complete with statistics and items. [November 2012, p.78]
  3. 90
    Splendid and playful platformer you will switch on to play for just five minutes – only to find out that you've spent a couple of hours unable to quit. [Oct 2012]