• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Sep 18, 2012
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 281 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 281

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. LittleBigPlanet Vita is the best little planet till date. The game is perfect for the vita. It was like the game was made for the vita in the first place. The touch controls does not feel gimmicky but really well implemented in the game. This game deserves to bought by a lot of people. Furthermore, the storyline is the best of all the Littlebigplanet games. Superb:D Expand
  2. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    This is best game in the LBP series and best Vita game so far. It has all the features from LBP, many new features using Vita capabilities. A some general improvements that are causing editor being even more comfortable. The campain (all new. Not a port) is kind of standart shorter platforming game with puzzle side levels. But the editor is the core of this game. It is fun to just play with it - everybody who likes games like Minecraft should go buy this game immediately. It has so much more possibilities... And in few days we can expect many new great levels online. There are already efw good ones. And the game is just one day online. It will be getting better and better. Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    I have always believed that the vita has been one of the only consoles thats powerful enough to rival the current generation of consoles, and as such games on the vita wouldn't need to be scored as traditional 'portable' titles because the hardware is just as capable as consoles. So far, this hasn't been true, until now. Ive really enjoyed playing games like uncharted golden abyss, but if you compare that game to its ps3 counterparts, you can't help but be just a little disappointed with golden abyss. I've always thought the excuse 'Hey that reviewer gave that game a negative score! He should be reviewing this game in the context of the expectations set by other portable titles' shouldn't hold true for the vita, so THANK YOU little big planet vita for proving this. Not only is little big planet ps vita a great conversion of a console title, it actually improves on the existing formula by adding some seemingly minor changes that definitely benefit the game in big ways. Things like the saveinator that allow you to make games where the players can actually save their progress through your game is a little edition that brings huge possibilities with it, so not only can you make quick arcade like experiences now, but you could make a full fledges rpg game that takes 10 hours or more to complete! The new vita specific touch, tilt, and rear touch functionalities are surprisingly a lot of fun as well, and the ability to take a photo of anything and upload it to your level (Don't worry I haven't seen any penis filled levels yet) is a really fun edition. Oh yea, and unlike the psp lpb this game has online multiplayer, and it works really well, pretty much any level can be played with someone else, well, except for the levels that the creator has specifically made as a single player level. There are a couple of things that could make it better however; it would be nice if you could play miltiplayer with ad-hoc, and wouldn't it be cool if lbp ps vita was able to play the existing games available for the ps3 titles? But this game does way to much good to make those few things even matter. If you have been on the fence about the vita, YOU NEED TO BUY THIS GAME! I really hope an awesome community forms around ithis game, because it definatley deserves it. Its a wonderful game that honestly makes little big planet feel like it was designed with the vita specifically in mind. I'd write more praise for this game, but I need to get creating. In short, this is the reason you bought a vita. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    It finally happened. The Vita has its killer app. What Super Mario 3D Land did for the 3DS, this game does for the Vita. What I mean by that is it uses all of the handhelds mechanics in a useful way and it never feels gimmicky. Creating your own levels is fun and its also fun to go online and play other people's levels. Story is short, but if you are like me, you just play it to unlock items for create mode. Although playing through it in multiplayer is much more fun. I am not afraid to give this a 10. It just does so many things right. Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    A game that supersedes the rest of the series, this is a wonderful sequel that manages to carve out its own name among gaming greats. The campaign is unique and whimsical, and the creation tools you unlock throughout it open up a plethora of varied opportunities. And if you feel lazy, not bothered to create levels yourself, you can simply draw upon the collective creativity of the rest of the world and play the rapidly growing number of community levels. A brilliant creation, made even greater for the greatest handheld currently on the market. Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    this game is great its have a great story mode and great graphics and endless fun this game have more than 1000 game inside or maybe a lot more then that and if have a vita you gotta buy it
  7. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    From a first time LBP player
    Well - that s not entirely true. I played LBP on the PSP and remember having a great time with it.
    I always wanted a second play through but that never happened.
    Of course I had been following all the awesome reviews of the game since LBP1 and I was sure I would like it - but the wait for LBP PS Vita was sooo long.
    The game is amazing - and the best thing I
    could say is that I do not feel that I need to play the console version to have a fuller experience. It just feels right! Expand
  8. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    This may be the best LBP game out of the entire series. Creating levels is much more enjoyable since I can work on them on the go! Story boards are very well polished, and the vast amount of user levels already is very welcome! This will be taking up my Vita game time (and even take away from console time).
  9. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    I have always been a fan of this amazing series since Christmas of '08. Who can't like this series? Now LittleBigPlanet VITA is available and it is no doubt the best VITA game yet. It looks almost as good as its big brothers on PS3, the story is somewhat short but very good and enjoyable, and the creativity is literally ENDLESS!! The platforming is just as fun as PS3's, and the new touch controls are perfect and doesn't negatively inflict on gameplay. There is also lots of customization with plenty of DLC from LBP/LBP2 and new DLC to come. Anyone that doesn't smile while playing has something really, really wrong with them. Get LBP VITA! Expand
  10. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Great game over all feels like you have the ps3 in your hands this game is really worth getting and if you don't have the vita i recommend getting it. this one game itself makes it worth while. i have been none stop playing it and the touch controls are absolutely amazing and feel great! 10 out of 10 it deserves it!
  11. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    Littlebig planet feels right at home on the vita, having played all the lbp's i can say that this one is the best out of all of them. I hope they make more for the vita :)
  12. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    This was my first Little Big Planet game and I can see now why its so popular. An absolute joy to have on the Vita as it feels right at home on the portable system. While the Story is short there are plenty of items to collect throughout and all can be used in the creation mode. Of course this is where the game really shines. I spent more time in the Creation mode tutorials than I did playing through the Story itself. The Community is what this game is really about and though the re-playability of the Story is limited the Creation mode is entirely the opposite. If you own a PS3 and the other Little Big Planet games then all the costumes are down loadable to use on the Vita. Simply... incredible. Expand
  13. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    El diseño de niveles del modo historia es BRILLANTE , uno de los mejores en mucho tiempo, la grafica es de la mejor en la PSVITA. La musica es HERMOSA, en especial la del segundo planeta.
    Las mecanicas de juego son increibles, sacan el maximo provecho a las capacidades de la consola.
    Y aun no empiezo a mencionar todas las maravillas que hay entre los juegos hechos por la comunidad.
  14. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    If you like platformers Just buy it. There is enough platforming, community level, and prize collecting fun to be had for months and months on end. If you don't like platformers then you may not be thrilled with it and I'd try it out first but if you enjoy Megaman, mario, donkey kong, or any other classic or current platormer this game is for you.
  15. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    I can't believe I'm saying this, but this is the best LBP game ever made. I can't believe they both outclassed and outfeatured (I'm allowed to use made up words for an LBP review.) the previous titles. Touch controls are usually a nice alternative and/or addition in most games, but in LBP Vita, it pushes the game well beyond what I thought it was capable of. Level designing alone is worth the price of admission. Seriously. I get lost for hours at a time in it. That and the single-player campaign is the best in the series...loaded with both original content and various arcade-like titles. I'm talking about full iPhone/Android games WITHIN LittleBigPlanet. It works well, too! Very well. This combined with seamless online incorporation makes for a game that deserves a 15/10. Expand
  16. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    By far the best Vita game available, and the fun literally never ends. For a vita game to have the power to create, share, and download infinite number of levels/games is awesome. Get it! $40 well spent.
  17. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    No corners were cut here. In fact I think this iteration of littlebigplanet has more going for it than the ps3 games do. Every vita owner should have this. Story mode is great, there's a ton of room for replayability, and best of all, create mode wont crash on you every 5 seconds (like the psp version). There are some new tools as well that I don't think were in any of the other lbp games. The new 'dephysicalize' is one of the most useful tools in the kit. Expand
  18. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Better than the console versions. The touch and motion controls of the Vita actually add to the fun of this game instead of feeling like a tacked on gimmick the way it does in many other games. The design quality of the levels that come on the game has never been better and the ability to save your progress on the levels you create is essential. I never understood the hype over this series until this game. LBP has always been fun, but I've always seen five or six other Sony franchises that easily topped it. LBPV has changed that and is a system seller in my opinion. Expand
  19. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    An awesome game I brought it a week ago and it worth every penny great graphics, great gameplay looks like LBP 2 and there hundreds of games u can download online for free please buy it
  20. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Utter brilliance by Media Module. A game with a great story mod, fun multiplayer, cute mini games, and overall the best experience on playstation vita to date!
  21. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    Now this is a hefty statement.... but I would argue this is one of the best handheld games ever made. At this point, the "volunteer" level designers have reached a professional level, churning out content that is equal to, if not better than, most of the apps released on iOS. Not only that, but this is the DEFINITIVE version of LBP. Yes, better than it's PS3 counterpart. It's like having a continuous flow of free high quality game apps on your Vita. On top of that, some of the most talented designers from LBP and LBP2 were hired to build a top-notch story campaign and you have an all-around great experience that may entertain you for the next few years. Bang for your buck? Unlimited! Expand
  22. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    the best game on ps vita so far the graphics the sounds and every thing else very good the touch function impressive and work well like the rear touch pad and motion sensor and the camera the creation tool very good and complete
  23. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    One of the best, if not the best Vita game to date. The best story levels of any LBP game to date, mainly because of the fantastic level design throughout. Amazing boss battles, and fantastic minigames abound. Every level has meaning as it will unlock items for the once again fantastic create mode. Create mode is exactly the same as LBP2, except with more features that add in the ability to use the touchscreens and drag around objects. It's all very intuitive, and is an extremely welcome addition to the game. Create mode now has positional inputs for almost all things (pistons, winches, wobble bolts, etc) and you can now multiply and add signals easily with AND and OR gates. The memorizer allows for the saving of progress in a level, and is an extremely useful tool. Overall fantastic game. If you enjoy creating on LBP2, it's worth buying a Vita for. If you enjoy playing the levels and infinite user created content, it's a must buy for any Vita owner. 10/10 Expand
  24. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    To be short and sweet, LBP Vita is the best of the series so far. The story is by far the strongest, the create mode is now next to perfect and the multiplayer is the same classic formula. Simply perfect.
  25. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This is the best game for the Playstation Vita. Nothing comes near it. Visuals are just perfect, gameplay is a treat especially using the vitas unique controls. Online features will keep you entertained long after you have completed the story mode. This game really sets the bar for what the vita is capable of producing. Very neat soundtrack also. 10/10
  26. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This Is literally LIttle Big Planet from PS3 on your Vita, nothing has been compromised, everything works stupendously, and the added touch functions really gives it the edge over the PS3 version.
  27. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    amazing game every thing from beginning to end is a lot of fun i love this insane game the story impressed me and cut scenes is pretty awesome thank you lbp fans for the good user score
  28. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    As most of the users i can fully agree, Little Big Planet is by far the most fun and entertaining game for the Vita. There are so many things to mention about this game, good integration of all the control concepts of the Vita, nice level design, short but fun story for the campaign, great graphics, good sound and many, many different small games for one or more players! The level editor is easy and fun to use, ensuring a constant flow of new levels designed by other gamers. There are even some short and surprisingly fun two player games that can be unlocked in the basic story, i really enjoyed playing them with my girlfriend in the train. This game really shows what the Vita is capable of and why mobile gaming can really be fun! I really hope there will soon be more games like Little Big Planet to get more attention and love from the developers for this great gaming device... Expand
  29. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing game which everyone should play!! Dont get fooled by the childish game cover or anything this game has a lot to offer even to adult players. Its also kinda hard sometimes ^^. Great use of touchscreen and motion sensors cominated with standard buttons makes it amazingly fun everytime you play. You can create levels , publish them , download/rate/review levels of other players which some of them are really good. This is the neverending journey in a crazy cartoon world. One of best games on PS Vita so far. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    This little platformer is by far one of the best Vita releases yet. The game uses the whole shebang of Vita's controls and the touch screen makes the level editor super easy to use. Unfortunately the levels made for PS3 are not compatible and the controls are still a tad too clunky for my taste. [Nov 2012]
  2. Maybe the biggest revolution is the Memorizer, a feature that allows you to store and save data in your home made levels. In short it means that you can potentially create your own RPGs, complete with statistics and items. [November 2012, p.78]
  3. 90
    Splendid and playful platformer you will switch on to play for just five minutes – only to find out that you've spent a couple of hours unable to quit. [Oct 2012]