LittleBigPlanet PS Vita PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
LittleBigPlanet PS Vita Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 333 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: LittleBigPlanet lets you play, create, and share on the PlayStation Vita. The PS Vita's front and back touch controls let you play freely. Fully customize Sackboy and his world with the specialized CREATE tools, and discover endless levels SHARED by fans online. Includes all features fromLittleBigPlanet lets you play, create, and share on the PlayStation Vita. The PS Vita's front and back touch controls let you play freely. Fully customize Sackboy and his world with the specialized CREATE tools, and discover endless levels SHARED by fans online. Includes all features from the first and second games together with new PS VIta exclusive elements. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    100
    LittleBigPlanet PS Vita has a compelling story and is a joy to play through. Its ability to successfully integrate so many of the Vita's hardware functions makes gameplay both challenging and entertaining. Allowing players to contribute to its world by building their own levels is simply the cherry on the sundae.
  2. Oct 8, 2012
    94
    The game's title doesn't lie, you get a big planet of gameplay packed into a little system.
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    92
    It can be a little tough to get used to and there are a few small hiccups here and there, but for the most part, LittleBigPlanet PS Vita is among the elite portable experiences available. Get it.
  4. Sep 12, 2012
    90
    If you've been writing the series' Vita appearance off as a compromise or a contractual obligation, you're in for something of a treat. That 5 inch OLED screen is a chance to see Media Molecule's staggering achievement afresh, and to witness one of this generation's most intriguing engines of creativity at its most energetic and effective.
  5. Sep 24, 2012
    90
    Compared to the PlayStation 3 version, Little Big Planet is a far superior game thanks to the unique control system of the PS Vita. Graphically, it is almost identical to the PS3 version but thanks to the controls, creating your own Little Big Planet worlds is a considerable easier task. Add in sturdy gaming mechanics, loveable characters and the ability to share and download other peoples creations and Little Big Planet is a must have game for the PS Vita!
  6. Sep 18, 2012
    85
    This is the game that your Vita has been waiting for. For months, the shiny handheld has been aching to show you what it's really capable of, and with the arrival of Little Big Planet PS Vita, it finally has an opportunity to do so.
  7. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Oct 10, 2012
    70
    Taking your hands off the traditional controls to manipulate a touchscreen wider than the Nullabor isn't fun. And yet a lot of puzzles in LBP, timed and otherwise, revolve around doing exactly that. You're forever tapping blue blocks to create solid ground, or you're dragging them to solve environmental puzzles. At best, it's disruptive to classic platforming, at worst it'll be the bane of any no-deaths run. [November 2012, p78]

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 65
  2. Negative: 3 out of 65
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    As most of the users i can fully agree, Little Big Planet is by far the most fun and entertaining game for the Vita. There are so many thingsAs most of the users i can fully agree, Little Big Planet is by far the most fun and entertaining game for the Vita. There are so many things to mention about this game, good integration of all the control concepts of the Vita, nice level design, short but fun story for the campaign, great graphics, good sound and many, many different small games for one or more players! The level editor is easy and fun to use, ensuring a constant flow of new levels designed by other gamers. There are even some short and surprisingly fun two player games that can be unlocked in the basic story, i really enjoyed playing them with my girlfriend in the train. This game really shows what the Vita is capable of and why mobile gaming can really be fun! I really hope there will soon be more games like Little Big Planet to get more attention and love from the developers for this great gaming device... Expand
  2. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    I have always believed that the vita has been one of the only consoles thats powerful enough to rival the current generation of consoles, andI have always believed that the vita has been one of the only consoles thats powerful enough to rival the current generation of consoles, and as such games on the vita wouldn't need to be scored as traditional 'portable' titles because the hardware is just as capable as consoles. So far, this hasn't been true, until now. Ive really enjoyed playing games like uncharted golden abyss, but if you compare that game to its ps3 counterparts, you can't help but be just a little disappointed with golden abyss. I've always thought the excuse 'Hey that reviewer gave that game a negative score! He should be reviewing this game in the context of the expectations set by other portable titles' shouldn't hold true for the vita, so THANK YOU little big planet vita for proving this. Not only is little big planet ps vita a great conversion of a console title, it actually improves on the existing formula by adding some seemingly minor changes that definitely benefit the game in big ways. Things like the saveinator that allow you to make games where the players can actually save their progress through your game is a little edition that brings huge possibilities with it, so not only can you make quick arcade like experiences now, but you could make a full fledges rpg game that takes 10 hours or more to complete! The new vita specific touch, tilt, and rear touch functionalities are surprisingly a lot of fun as well, and the ability to take a photo of anything and upload it to your level (Don't worry I haven't seen any penis filled levels yet) is a really fun edition. Oh yea, and unlike the psp lpb this game has online multiplayer, and it works really well, pretty much any level can be played with someone else, well, except for the levels that the creator has specifically made as a single player level. There are a couple of things that could make it better however; it would be nice if you could play miltiplayer with ad-hoc, and wouldn't it be cool if lbp ps vita was able to play the existing games available for the ps3 titles? But this game does way to much good to make those few things even matter. If you have been on the fence about the vita, YOU NEED TO BUY THIS GAME! I really hope an awesome community forms around ithis game, because it definatley deserves it. Its a wonderful game that honestly makes little big planet feel like it was designed with the vita specifically in mind. I'd write more praise for this game, but I need to get creating. In short, this is the reason you bought a vita. Expand
  3. Sis
    Sep 19, 2013
    10
    This is downright the best Little Big Planet game in the franchise. The new innovative controls, the extra content, and the unique levelThis is downright the best Little Big Planet game in the franchise. The new innovative controls, the extra content, and the unique level design makes this the most rich and experience filled Little Big Planet game. The story s also just as interesting and funny as the other stories and you truly feel satisfied when you play it. The only downside of this game is the lack of splitscreen because it's a handeld, but the online is just as awesome as in the other games. Having played and owned every Little Big Planet game, this is probably my all time favorite. If you have a vita, you NEED this game. Expand
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    To be short and sweet, LBP Vita is the best of the series so far. The story is by far the strongest, the create mode is now next to perfectTo be short and sweet, LBP Vita is the best of the series so far. The story is by far the strongest, the create mode is now next to perfect and the multiplayer is the same classic formula. Simply perfect. Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    this game is great its have a great story mode and great graphics and endless fun this game have more than 1000 game inside or maybe a lotthis game is great its have a great story mode and great graphics and endless fun this game have more than 1000 game inside or maybe a lot more then that and if have a vita you gotta buy it Expand
  6. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    this is the best LBP game ever made. It is better than PS3 version. Story mode is great, there's a ton of room for replayability and createthis is the best LBP game ever made. It is better than PS3 version. Story mode is great, there's a ton of room for replayability and create mode wont crash. Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    2
    It's me, pkillerx (my PSN account name) I have come to finally talk about this game's strengths and flaws.
    Starting up.... strengths!
    1. LBP
    It's me, pkillerx (my PSN account name) I have come to finally talk about this game's strengths and flaws.
    Starting up.... strengths!
    1. LBP Vita does have more gameplay, more prizes, and more gadgets.
    2. Thank God that LBP Vita still has the "Unlock Totorials" option available.
    3. Slap's still enabled.
    4. New tweak options for each Material, Sacbots, and more.
    5. Touch screen enabled.

    Now for the flaws... -_-
    1. Challenges in the Story mode are to damn hard to get 3 stars. D:(
    2. Why the hell in that flight level and more do you need to use rear touch pad when the joystick is the recommended option for players?!
    3.Broken Multiplayer. Lag Switch on/off... FUUUUUUUUUUUU-
    4. sigh* You can't use the d-pad/ joysticks to navigate through levels or Pause Menu...
    (The most tragic flaw to me personally) NUMBEEEER...
    5. If wanted to show a friend something that's incomplete but awesome so far I CAN'T INVITE HIM/HER. Even if that person was in my party, it'll take us to Play Mode and WON'T LET ME GO TO CREATE MODE.

    Media Molicule (MM)! When are you lazy bumbs FINALLY going to get off your lazy asses and your OWN God-damn flaws in both LBP2 and LBP Vita?!

    That is all I have to say for LBP Vita. Now for LBP2!
    Expand

See all 65 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.