Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 9, 2013
    90
    Indie game designer Jason Byrne has showed us what storytelling in video games is supposed to be like. The small world in Lone Survivor is full of mysteries, a Twin Peaks-esque atmosphere and the occasional laugh. The only downside is the shooting mechanism which feels misplaced, clumsy and could have been skipped all together.
  2. 90
    This is a Director's Cut that actually manages to make the original experience better for a change.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    90
    A great example of how to make a survival horror game that affects you in the right way.
  4. Oct 5, 2013
    86
    If you've never experienced this survival horror indie sidescroller before, this is the best way to jump in. The hero's journey seems particularly personal on the Vita in dark rooms, and the Vita's control scheme suits the retro experience implied by the visuals.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    85
    Lone Survivor owns its rightful place in that line of production that resurrected the horror gaming in a big way.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    85
    One of the most rewarding indie-games of this year finally arrives at PSN, a solid survival horror that offers a weird but quite interesting gameplay style. With a bunch of new elements added to its mechanic, this is by far the best Lone Survivor we'd have asked for.
  7. Nov 15, 2013
    80
    Mysterious and gauntly terrifying, Lone Survivor delivers what it promises. A two-dimensional adventure with 8bit graphics is quite strange, especially in the area of horror games. Lone Survivor is one of those surprises for the PlayStation Vita.
  8. Oct 23, 2013
    80
    There's really nothing else like this on Sony's handheld right now. [Issue#140, p.116]
  9. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    It should be enough to accept that Lone Survivor is a game that rewards players who invest time and, more importantly, attention into it, and however you decide to run through it you should have a disturbingly confused hoot.
  10. Oct 2, 2013
    80
    It is survival horror right down to the limited effectiveness of your pistol and the scarcity of resources and manages to be thoroughly unnerving despite its low pixel density. The storyline has you questioning everything – even your own character – throughout and is the thing that will keep you coming back if you can bear the incredible tension the game’s atmosphere creates.
  11. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    Lone Survivor is some kind of Silent Hill game in pixel art 2D, and it does a very good job frightening you all along, maybe better than other cult series AAA games today.
  12. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    Lone Survivor once again proves that sometimes you don’t need a multi-million dollar budget and Hollywood-style special effects to make a great survival horror game.
  13. Sep 25, 2013
    80
    Still one of the best survival horror games of the generation and one whose thick atmosphere and surreal sojourns work surprisingly well on the PS Vita.
  14. Sep 24, 2013
    80
    There's nothing quite like Lone Survivor on PS Vita and its unique psychological horror tale will likely keep players involved to the end.
  15. Sep 24, 2013
    80
    Curve Studios have helped adapt Jasper Byrne’s effort perfectly for both PS3 and Vita, giving console gamers a chance to witness one of the creepier and more unsettling examples of the genre in quite some time.
  16. Dec 1, 2013
    79
    A daringly ambiguous piece of storytelling with some scary moments.
  17. Oct 4, 2013
    75
    Here, by contrast, it feels like players are given too much agency, and the end result is a story that has all the right pieces, but comes off as disjointed when you're expected to make them all work together. I never thought I'd say this, but in the case of Lone Survivor, a little less freedom would've gone a very, very long way.
  18. Sep 24, 2013
    70
    A dark veil of skin-crawling despair wraps around Lone Survivor's tight aesthetics, although as this begins to wear off, you may find the mechanics underneath a little too repetitive
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I bought this game once it was available in store today. I played the PC version and I should say this is a much better game. Lone Survivor is one of the best survival horror indie games I have ever seen. It starts mysteriously in a very nightmarish world filled with a really moody atmosphere and step by step it will tell you the story. I will not spoil anything about the story.
    Lone Survivor is pretty much about surviving. In the game world you have to explore and while you explore you have to be careful to take enough food and sleep. You have to keep your sanity stable as well by consuming pills. the game really relies on resource management and as you go through the game the more depth will be added to the overall survival mechanism. Since the items are important therefore exploring in the game is very rewarding as well.
    However, exploring will not be that easy. It is all about the choices that you will make based on your items. you can go ahead and kill all the monsters you can chose to accomplish you goal by stealth rather than fighting with enemies. depend on which action you chose all the items you have found will come in handy, depend on the item the consequences will be varied. you can stunt enemies, blind them, burn them or kill them with your shotgun and so on. There is a really crazy variety of items that you can use and since you will treat everything as a scare source therefore the gameplay will not be repetitive throughout the game.
    Other than these sort of challenges which you will face through the adventure in the game, also for exploring you will be required to look for maps, there are various puzzles to solve as well which all together adds more variety to the core gameplay.
    The game world is truly beautiful. Mostly it reminds me of the silent hill series but it has its own art style. even though it is pixelated but as the matter of the fact this kind of graphics adds a better level of the atmosphere to the overall presentation. Sound effects, dialogues and so on are quiet quality work.
    I recommend this game to every survival horror lover.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    Lone Survivor, this game is really awesome. For a 2D pixel horror game, it did a good job it making it heart pounding in a lot of instances, Here is my honest review of the game. You don't have to agree with me, there is a bit nitpicking but nothing that lowers the score too much. (0.5 at best). Hope you like it.

    Gameplay The controls were tight and responsive. The only downside was the lack of options to change your key bindings to your liking. Some of the buttons were a bit to spread out or too close to each other. Otherwise, the controls did its job well it was fluid. The game was challenging and trying to get a good ending was not a easy task. I liked how it only stuck to the pistol and not give you a stronger gun. It made you have the edge but can be vulnerable of being overwhelmed. It's all about survival rather than fighting, it's about avoiding as much conflict as possible and gather your resources. It was taking care of your main character rather than making him your Rambo. My gripe was that the lack of hiding spots in certain areas of the game. I also did not liked how very linear it was. OKAY I KNOW THIS IS WAS A STORY DRIVEN GAME, but they could have added side quests to it. More insight on the place he is tormented in(This will affect the Lasting Appeal though not the gameplay). 9/10

    Music the music in this game was really good, it was eerie at times but also has catchy tune. Don't believe me? Listening to the Director or the Party BGM. The sound nailed the atmosphere, those weird squishy noises, and the sound those things makes. The sounds design did a fantastic job in setting the atmosphere. 9/10

    Graphics Its 2D pixel, I do not why I find these kinds of graphics to be fascinating. I love how smooth the animation was and the grey tone through the game. the only nitpicking would be the colour palette could have been a bit better but this isn't a real problem at all. 9/10

    Lasting Appeal Sadly It is the weakest part of the game. The game was substantially long (sorry I don't remember how long it took me to beat it, but I guess at least 24 hours or less when I was trying to scavenge everything and do everything in one playthrough). There is no replayability, though this was a linear experience which I had not much problem with, for example I loved Dead space 1 & 2. I just wished I had more things to do other than the main storyline. The only reason to come back is to collect all the pages and get the other endings. -7/10
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 21, 2014
    7
    Nice indie survival horror. Retro pixel art games are always perfectly suited for Vita, so I had a good time playing it at night. The mood reminds me of Silent Hill, there are even some dreamy Lynch style moments and from the first moment I liked what the game is trying to do. The indirect story-telling and some thought-provoking dialog. Who you are? What's actually going on? This is right up my alley, but for some reason, I wasn't really scared which was something I was expecting but didn't get, the gameplay wasn't as fluid and responsive as I would like and the map was quite chaotic to navigate but despite that it's definitely a game worth experiencing at least once. 7/10 Full Review »