Lone Survivor: The Director's Cut Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lone Survivor is a psychological survival adventure game which has taken elements from classic adventure games and the best elements of the survival horror genre to create something you haven’t seen before. You can expect scares, scarcity of ammo and exploration of surreal and atmospheric environments to be a big part of the game, but there’s also an element of psychological horror and choice that often isn’t explored in modern survival horror titles. [Playstation.com] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 9, 2013
    90
    Indie game designer Jason Byrne has showed us what storytelling in video games is supposed to be like. The small world in Lone Survivor is full of mysteries, a Twin Peaks-esque atmosphere and the occasional laugh. The only downside is the shooting mechanism which feels misplaced, clumsy and could have been skipped all together.
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    90
    A great example of how to make a survival horror game that affects you in the right way.
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    85
    Lone Survivor owns its rightful place in that line of production that resurrected the horror gaming in a big way.
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    80
    There's nothing quite like Lone Survivor on PS Vita and its unique psychological horror tale will likely keep players involved to the end.
  5. Oct 2, 2013
    80
    It is survival horror right down to the limited effectiveness of your pistol and the scarcity of resources and manages to be thoroughly unnerving despite its low pixel density. The storyline has you questioning everything – even your own character – throughout and is the thing that will keep you coming back if you can bear the incredible tension the game’s atmosphere creates.
  6. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    Lone Survivor once again proves that sometimes you don’t need a multi-million dollar budget and Hollywood-style special effects to make a great survival horror game.
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    70
    A dark veil of skin-crawling despair wraps around Lone Survivor's tight aesthetics, although as this begins to wear off, you may find the mechanics underneath a little too repetitive

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I bought this game once it was available in store today. I played the PC version and I should say this is a much better game. Lone Survivor is one of the best survival horror indie games I have ever seen. It starts mysteriously in a very nightmarish world filled with a really moody atmosphere and step by step it will tell you the story. I will not spoil anything about the story.
    Lone Survivor is pretty much about surviving. In the game world you have to explore and while you explore you have to be careful to take enough food and sleep. You have to keep your sanity stable as well by consuming pills. the game really relies on resource management and as you go through the game the more depth will be added to the overall survival mechanism. Since the items are important therefore exploring in the game is very rewarding as well.
    However, exploring will not be that easy. It is all about the choices that you will make based on your items. you can go ahead and kill all the monsters you can chose to accomplish you goal by stealth rather than fighting with enemies. depend on which action you chose all the items you have found will come in handy, depend on the item the consequences will be varied. you can stunt enemies, blind them, burn them or kill them with your shotgun and so on. There is a really crazy variety of items that you can use and since you will treat everything as a scare source therefore the gameplay will not be repetitive throughout the game.
    Other than these sort of challenges which you will face through the adventure in the game, also for exploring you will be required to look for maps, there are various puzzles to solve as well which all together adds more variety to the core gameplay.
    The game world is truly beautiful. Mostly it reminds me of the silent hill series but it has its own art style. even though it is pixelated but as the matter of the fact this kind of graphics adds a better level of the atmosphere to the overall presentation. Sound effects, dialogues and so on are quiet quality work.
    I recommend this game to every survival horror lover.
    Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    Imagine Resident Evil done on a commodore or spectrum and it would probably look and play like Lone Survivor. It's a brilliant game and the music and sound effects make it extremely creepy to play in a dimly lit room. Download this beauty and enjoy some old fashioned frights. Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    This game is epic, really. Now, I wouldn't praise it as "THE BEST HORROR INDIE TITLE OUT THERE EVER" because, while it is a thrill and joy to be playing, it just isn't the best ever. First of: the controls. They work at times, but you will find yourself in moments where the controls outright feel awkward, the shooting works, but its not always plan a and if you want a GOOD ending, it's best you barley even use it at all. Second off: gameplay. This game can be fun and shocking, at the same time, the horror is there, and this game is not action driven (DEAD SPACE *COUGH* *COUGH*), and thats where this "survival" aspect takes a turn for the better. As I mentioned before, some of the controls can feel awkward, and while this doesn't affect the gameplay too much, it still makes some areas harder than they should have been! And finally: you will get stuck... ALLOT! unless you don't have the right mind to know what to do next, or if you don't have a walkthrough with you, this game can be a real pain in the butt. Thirdly, the music and sound design. The music feels catchy, scary, and sometimes nice. Sound plays a major part in this game, or does it? sure its nice to have sound on to know exactly where monsters are, which is a cool concept so your not forced with the peek-a-boo method. I also like how you stick with a pistol and a pistol, because then it can focus more on the horror aspect, and less on the "LETS SHOOT EVERYTHING WE SEE CALL OF DUTY STYLE". And lastly, replay value and lasting appeal. While some may argue that this has no replay value, it seems... false. If you DON'T know what I'm talking about look no further then the multiple ending. There are three endings, the red ending, the blue ending, and the green ending, its easy to guess which ending is which but if you haven't figured that out yet, here's what each colors ending represents: RED ENDING/PILL = BAD ENDING, BLUE ENDING/PILL = BAD/GOOD ENDING, GREEN ENDING/PILL = GOOD ENDING. It's not easy to get the good ending ether, which adds on the challenge of NOT massacring everything you see, and the replay value of "well i got the blue/red ending, might as well try again". The lore behind this (to me) was interesting, though for some the endings are hard to figure out, unless you've gotten time to think about them, or you watched an explanation video of it. Another problem about this game is that while the lore/story overall is good it can be hard to explain without giving away spoilers of any kind. Also, the game can be found as short, depending on how well you play it (LIKE MOST VIDEO GAMES), if you find it easy, or this is your second time playing it, you may finish it within 1, 2, or 3 hours, but if this is your first time, 3, 4, 5, 6, or heck even 7 HOURS. Another awesome thing is that if you have a Playstation plus account you can get this for free right now (but I didn't come to spread the word).

    9.75 OUT OF 10

    PROS:
    -Smart gameplay and/or mechanics
    -Interesting story
    -Great use of horror
    -Awesome soundtrack
    -Controls are good most of the time but...

    CONS:
    - ...it can feel awkward sometimes
    -Can be found as short
    Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    Lone Survivor, this game is really awesome. For a 2D pixel horror game, it did a good job it making it heart pounding in a lot of instances, Here is my honest review of the game. You don't have to agree with me, there is a bit nitpicking but nothing that lowers the score too much. (0.5 at best). Hope you like it.

    Gameplay The controls were tight and responsive. The only downside was the lack of options to change your key bindings to your liking. Some of the buttons were a bit to spread out or too close to each other. Otherwise, the controls did its job well it was fluid. The game was challenging and trying to get a good ending was not a easy task. I liked how it only stuck to the pistol and not give you a stronger gun. It made you have the edge but can be vulnerable of being overwhelmed. It's all about survival rather than fighting, it's about avoiding as much conflict as possible and gather your resources. It was taking care of your main character rather than making him your Rambo. My gripe was that the lack of hiding spots in certain areas of the game. I also did not liked how very linear it was. OKAY I KNOW THIS IS WAS A STORY DRIVEN GAME, but they could have added side quests to it. More insight on the place he is tormented in(This will affect the Lasting Appeal though not the gameplay). 9/10

    Music the music in this game was really good, it was eerie at times but also has catchy tune. Don't believe me? Listening to the Director or the Party BGM. The sound nailed the atmosphere, those weird squishy noises, and the sound those things makes. The sounds design did a fantastic job in setting the atmosphere. 9/10

    Graphics Its 2D pixel, I do not why I find these kinds of graphics to be fascinating. I love how smooth the animation was and the grey tone through the game. the only nitpicking would be the colour palette could have been a bit better but this isn't a real problem at all. 9/10

    Lasting Appeal Sadly It is the weakest part of the game. The game was substantially long (sorry I don't remember how long it took me to beat it, but I guess at least 24 hours or less when I was trying to scavenge everything and do everything in one playthrough). There is no replayability, though this was a linear experience which I had not much problem with, for example I loved Dead space 1 & 2. I just wished I had more things to do other than the main storyline. The only reason to come back is to collect all the pages and get the other endings. -7/10
    Collapse
  5. Feb 28, 2014
    7
    Lone Survivor is a 2d survival horror title that follows a nameless protagonist as they try to escape a monster infected town. Never quite making it clear exactly what is going on the game creates an increasingly disturbing atmosphere (headphones and a darkened room are a must) despite its simple graphics, something that many recent bigger budget so called horror games have completely failed to do.

    Much of the actual game is spent trying to avoid monsters and find your way around obstacles such as locked doors and, much like the older Resident Evil or Silent Hill titles, there is a fair amount of backtracking in order to use found items on previously impassable sections. Like all good survival horrors ammo for your pistol is hard to come by and so items such as flares and decaying meat must be used to help distract the monsters allowing you to sneak past them. In all honesty there is little variety to the gameplay but the constant fear of being alone and vulnerable means this isn’t really an issue. The 2D gameplay can initially make navigation a little confusing but once you get used to using the maps that can be collected this is less of a problem.

    My first playthrough only took about four hours but with its multiple endings and its low price I’d recommend Lone Survivor to any PS Vita and PS3 owners after a horror fix.
    Expand