Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Luftrausers is an arcade-style aerial combat shooter where ace pilots will be able to customize their own "rauser" and battle wily enemy fighters amongst the clouds or charge colossal battleships scattered across the open seas.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Mar 27, 2014
    91
    It's a tough sweet spot to hit, but it's one that Luftrausers absolutely nails.
  2. Mar 24, 2014
    90
    Despite a few issues with its end game challenges, Luftrausers is a surprisingly addictive, challenging arcade game that will keep you glued to your Vita for game after game after game.
  3. Mar 21, 2014
    87
    Don't expect great depth or long-term thrills, but the action while it lasts is a master of both second-by-second action, and the structures that effortlessly stretch it out into a good few hours without it overstaying its welcome.
  4. Mar 20, 2014
    80
    Luftrausers continues the awesome Sony promotion of independent studios on their platforms.
  5. May 6, 2014
    80
    This army-themed game runs very smoothly. It is easy to quickly start and end a game, although the controls are something to get used to. It is advisable to give this game a chance, because there is more to it than the funny animation style and sepia colors. For example, a very pleasant system for leveling up, which is typically Vlambeer.
  6. 80
    There is no way that I could advise people to pick this game on any system other than the Vita. It’s not to say that the Steam and PlayStation 3 versions are bad games, some slight control issues aside, but you’re going to find a lot more enjoyment if you’re playing a mobile game on a mobile device.
  7. Mar 27, 2014
    70
    In a genre resplendent with elegantly refined scoring systems and mechanics, Luftrausers lands a little short of brilliance.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    You gotta give Devolver Digital props. They have delivered some bodacious titles recently. The Shadow Warrior reboot was glorious. EveryYou gotta give Devolver Digital props. They have delivered some bodacious titles recently. The Shadow Warrior reboot was glorious. Every game oozes with quality and this is no exception. For what it is, it brings exactly what is necessary to make a quality video game on Vita. Controls that are easy to pick up but easy to master? Check. Able to be played in short bursts or long marathons? Check. Music that compliments the gameplay? Check (although really, why would you not play your OWN music with this?). Interesting and/or more than adequate graphics? Check. All of this can be adjusted by adjusting your loadout. Sucking too much? Try some different gear. Strap on that cannon and nuke armor and prepare for some residual earnings. Too godly? Try getting by on your farted bullets only to propel you, and some weak armor.

    Actually, the graphics may be one of the things that turns people off when in fact it's what keeps the game playable at higher 'levels' of gameplay. It is easy to see your ship against the bright background as well as enemy ships, missiles, bullets, lasers, kamikazes and whatever else in bullet hell that is seeking to destroy you. Without such contrast it would be difficult to survive. Also, for some they may not appreciate the fact there is no story to speak of. This is an arcade shoot 'em up. Gameplay only.

    Devolver Digital is a studio that seems to really be putting some interesting ideas into play. Although you really cant compare Luftrausers with their AAA titles - this is actually why I was not afraid at all to purchase this game for 10 chucks on PSN - the studios reputation with me.

    In conclusion, the price, gameplay and especially the GAME SIZE (only 66 MB!!) all lead me to give this game a ten. It's not perfect - but factoring in the file size on top of the extreme quality of game play (plays exactly like the arcade shooters of your youth - eat your Big League Chew) it deserves it. It almost feels like the devs are sticking it to Sony with such a tiny, quality game.

    Without the file size buff, a very solid '9'. A '10' because it barely scratches your memory card, and that is something all Vita gamers can appreciate.
    Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2014
    10
    This game is insanely addictive. Even with inFAMOUS in my ps4, I've been putting more time and thought into this amazing Vita game. FindingThis game is insanely addictive. Even with inFAMOUS in my ps4, I've been putting more time and thought into this amazing Vita game. Finding airplane combinations that you can use well is a blast, and keeping your multiplier up is a challenge. Highscore chasing hasn't been this fun in a long time. Collapse
  3. Mar 27, 2014
    9
    it is addictive, it is fun, it is hard, it is rewarding and it is stylish as. Luftrausers provides some of the most addictive pick up and playit is addictive, it is fun, it is hard, it is rewarding and it is stylish as. Luftrausers provides some of the most addictive pick up and play fun that i have ever had on my vita. You can play for 5 minutes or an hour dashing around with your little plane avoid a storm of enemy fire, the ocean and incoming planes. There is multiple upgrades to unlock, challenges to complete and levels to beat. This is a game that slipped under my radar but has provided me with a ton of fun in quick bursts. The soundtrack is also fantastic and very catchy. This is a great game if you are looking for an arcade style shooter with plenty of personality Expand
  4. May 9, 2014
    8
    This game is amazing! This game gave me a few good hours of entertainment. The combat is really fun the customizable rausers where awesome!This game is amazing! This game gave me a few good hours of entertainment. The combat is really fun the customizable rausers where awesome! There are a few problems like the game is a bit of a grind fest but if you can look past that go pick this game up. Expand
  5. Dec 13, 2014
    7
    I had heard good things about this game so I was excited to pick it up, essentially you fly around a little plane taking on boats, planes,I had heard good things about this game so I was excited to pick it up, essentially you fly around a little plane taking on boats, planes, shooting down missiles etc... You play on a randomly generated 2d plane until you die then use your points to buy upgrades and try again. I'm usually not into these games but it did hook me for awhile. The flying mechanic is a little tricky to learn. You have shields which regenerate when you stop shooting,me mechanic I thought worked very well. While not totally for me it is easy to see why this is popular, I could see it being addicting for some. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2014
    7
    Luftrausers is a fun and addictive game for a few hours. It is a good game on the go since most of the games last for only a few minutes, butLuftrausers is a fun and addictive game for a few hours. It is a good game on the go since most of the games last for only a few minutes, but after playing for a couple of hours(5-6), I deleted the game since there was not enough content to keep me playing.
    Strength:
    - One or two minutes games
    - Good customization of the aircraft
    - Excellent control

    Weaknesses:
    - I would I like 10 more upgrades in each part of the ship to keep me playing
    - Unlocking different colors for the game is ok at best.
    - Not enough challenges
    Expand
  7. Nov 27, 2014
    6
    A rather retro feeling arcade game. The 2D shoot em' up, dogfight style gameplay can be quite fun. There are plenty of unlockable parts whichA rather retro feeling arcade game. The 2D shoot em' up, dogfight style gameplay can be quite fun. There are plenty of unlockable parts which means you can create an aircraft that suits how you play. There are objectives that you must tackle in order to get these parts and it can be quite the entertaining high-score kind of game.

    I feel that not having the ability to cross-save between the PS3 and Vita is a missed opportunity. The gameplay and everything is solid, but overall it just didn't hold my attention for long. It's one I can see myself picking up every now and then when I've got nothing better to do and just playing around with it for a bit. However when I'm looking to put some time into gaming I see myself passing this one up in favor of deeper and more gripping gaming experiences. Perhaps because of that is why it feels more at home on the Vita.

    Overall it's solid and can be entertaining in short bursts. I know there's definitely a crowd out there who will eat this up. For me though it's a rather disposable experience. One that I goofed around with for a bit before moving on to bigger and better things. It provided some decent entertainment for a short period of time, but I quickly found myself done with it. My total score for the game is a 6.7/10.
    Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Trailers