Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Feb 13, 2012
    90
    Load times could be a bit shorter and I wouldn't mind seeing the price come down, but Lumines: Electronic Symphony is amazing. It's the simple puzzle game we've known for a while coupled with new mechanics like the shuffle block and the Vita's connectivity.
  2. Feb 24, 2012
    90
    Although it's a 'member' of a not particularly popular genre, Lumines is without any doubt one of the best PlayStation Vita launch games, a visual/audio gem with a high quality production value.
  3. Feb 14, 2012
    90
    With Lumines: Electronic Symphony, the series grows and expands in ways that render prior games as more spin-offs than true sequels. It reinvents itself for a new medium and showcases Sony's new handheld, just as its predecessor managed in 2005. Mark our words: you will remember why you loved this game so much.
  4. Mar 13, 2012
    90
    This is easily the best game in the series and one of the most recommended buys of the launch portfolio of the PSVITA. It doesn't make the most of the console technical prowess nor uses imaginatively any of its touch control possibilities, but it is a puzzle game that fans of the genre will love for months.
  5. Feb 14, 2012
    95
    No Vita should be sold without a copy of this game.
  6. Mar 2, 2012
    90
    A great game and nobody should buy a PlayStation Vita without purchasing this Ubisoft game too. The same awesome gameplay of the first episode is still there, now with a couple of new tricks like the avatar's power up. The new soundtrack is just perfect and the stylish skins look great on the Vita screen.
  7. Feb 14, 2012
    90
    The excellent fusion of music and traditional block falling play continues to impress, reinvigorating the series and leaving the door wide open for even cooler sequels down the line. Pick this up immediately, and grab a pair of headphones while you're at it.
  8. If you own Sony's handheld but haven't bought this yet, then quite simply you're doing Vita wrong.
  9. Feb 17, 2012
    90
    Q Entertainment does it again. They made one of the most distinctive early PSP games, and now they do the same with Vita, managing to create a new and stylish experience that will delight fans of electronic music.
  10. Mar 8, 2012
    91
    A phenomenally clever game polished to a new level of perfection by the masters at Q Entertainment.
  11. Mar 1, 2012
    87
    Lumines: Electronic Symphony is the perfect culmination of simple game design and stellar presentation. There's a great depth of challenge for those who wish to find it, but the game never shuts out more casual players with crushing difficulty.
  12. Mar 22, 2012
    92
    The fastest lumines ever. [Apr 2012, p.107]
  13. Feb 21, 2012
    95
    Tetris has met its match. Lumines: Electronic Symphony is a painstakingly scrawled love letter to puzzle games and electronica of every stripe. Not only should every Vita owner buy it, every person who cares about video games should play it.
  14. Feb 28, 2012
    94
    Of all of the Vita launch titles I have been fortunate enough to play, this is honestly the easiest one to recommend. Accessible, fun, addictive, and offering lots of content, Lumines: Electronic Symphony is a superb launch title.
  15. It's by-the-book Lumines, and it's amazing. [Apr 2012, p.59]
  16. Apr 30, 2012
    88
    The best aspect of Lumines: Electronic Symphony is that you can play it for 10 minutes or an hour as you become mesmerised by the puzzle and music in front of you. It does help if you're into electronic music, especially with its thumping track listing. However if you're one of those people that become easily frustrated at puzzle games, you might want to look elsewhere for your enjoyment but this is definitely the Tetris of the 21st Century!
  17. Feb 14, 2012
    90
    My time playing Lumines has been the only time in the last week during which I wasn't panicking. I come out of a 45-minute session feeling rested and kind of euphoric. How's that for an endorsement?
  18. 90
    Lumines: Electronic Symphony is the best Lumines yet, the music is incredible, the new modes and features are a nice touch, and it looks gorgeous and vibrant on the Vita's OLED screen (a theme among all Vita games, it seems). It's a must have for anyone who enjoyed it on the PSP (or on any platform), and I couldn't recommend it more highly as a PlayStation Vita launch title. You can't go wrong with this purchase.
  19. Mar 27, 2012
    90
    The visual and audio aspects of Lumines: Electronics Symphony are one of the main reasons as to why the game is so compelling to play. Q Entertainment, the studio behind the game, does an astounding job of making sure all three parts (visuals, audio, and gameplay) fit together perfectly and it pushes this combination to new heights with Electronic Symphony.
  20. Mar 12, 2012
    90
    Simple but elegant mechanics combine with a wonderful soundtrack to create an incredibly immersive and joyful experience that no Vita-owner should miss. So plug in those earphones, crank the volume up to max and prepare for an almost transcendental voyage.
  21. Apr 12, 2012
    90
    It's a bit of a meta-game for you to participate in and we like it. [May 2012, p.82]
  22. Mar 12, 2012
    91
    Lumines as we've come to know and love it. Once a PSP system seller, now a Vita seller. Some things will never change (even though we would have liked some more content!).
  23. Feb 27, 2012
    90
    While it doesn't have as extensive of a roster of modes as some of its earlier siblings, Lumines: Electronic Symphony is just utterly fantastic in what it does do-most evident in its stellar soundtrack, which returns to the same thematic roots as the original Lumines. Electonic Symphomy must be some sort of alien-technology time machine-turn it on, and suddenly you'll realize it's now hours later.
  24. Feb 27, 2012
    90
    Electronic Symphony's best new feature is the ability to sort your favorite tunes into a specified order and play them straight through. Or you can have your favorite song run on an endless loop and relive that moment of pure ecstasy, where it's just you and the music.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Perfect game for a Vita Owner.
    It is hands down the best Lumines game so far. There have been some good and bad iterations (hello Android) but
    Perfect game for a Vita Owner.
    It is hands down the best Lumines game so far. There have been some good and bad iterations (hello Android) but it would seem the developer hasn't lost its spark of inspiration when they pulled off this true sequel to an already marvelous game.
    I know from this day I am going anywhere without Lumies ES on my Vita.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    I loved the games on PSP and I'm in love with this one. Once again LUMINES has managed to compose yet ANOTHER phenomenal soundtrack for theirI loved the games on PSP and I'm in love with this one. Once again LUMINES has managed to compose yet ANOTHER phenomenal soundtrack for their addictive tetris-styled game. Full Review »
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Hard to find fault with this game. The same flawless gameplay you liked, but even better. The addition of power-up "avatars" is a niceHard to find fault with this game. The same flawless gameplay you liked, but even better. The addition of power-up "avatars" is a nice touch, the social features are well-implemented, the soundtrack is killer and the game looks and plays as great as always. An easy, easy recommendation for any fans of music or puzzling games. Full Review »