Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Machinarium is award-winning independent puzzle / adventure game developed by the makers of popular web-games Samorost and Samorost2. A little robot who's been thrown out to the scrap yard behind the city must return and confront the Black Cap Brotherhood and save his robot-girl friend.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    100
    However you choose to play Machinarium, puzzling it out on your own or with a walkthrough in hand, the important thing is that you do play it. It's a feast for the senses and a treat for your brain, and there's nothing else on the Vita like it.
  2. May 20, 2013
    90
    It seems pretty clear to us that Machinarium is destined to end up being viewed as a timeless classic and added to all those lists and recaps of classic point and click games. It’s just so staggeringly lovely that we can only recommend you get it as soon as possible.
  3. May 30, 2013
    90
    Machinarium is simply a Masterpiece. A must buy for everyone.
  4. Apr 12, 2013
    80
    Machinarium on Vita is an elegant version of a great game, adapted for the platform with a good deal of thought and care
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Lovely game, pure fun to play it. Graphics and music is just great. Really takes me back to the adventure games of the past...
    Very
    recommended if you own a Vita. Expand
  2. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    For a game that has no dialogue apart from a few grumbles, the story of this game is heart warming and shown really well. The visuals look crisp on the Vita, and the puzzles range from simple to incredibly difficult. Unless you check a guide for some clues you will be stuck for hours on just 1 puzzle! Expand
  3. Oct 20, 2013
    9
    Great game. The art style is very nice with a bleak sense to it. Whimsical simple story which is told sparingly but manages to touch my heart. The puzzles are a nice challenge, some environmental manipulation, some traditional brain teasers. The music is just great, almost telling a story itself. I havent been able to find another game like it. Botanicula is the closest (made by the same people) in feel but is fundamentally different. Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    I love machinarium and its atmosphere and beautiful art style it is just great! I enjoyed it the entire way through and I give it a 9 out of ten. GOOD JOB INDIE DEVELOPERS!!!!! Expand
  5. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    Machinarium, one of my top ten games of all-time no less, finally makes it to Playstation Vita! Amanita Design's beautifully told story, depicted by way of thought bubbles, with not a single word of spoken or written dialogue to be found, puts you in control of protagonist Josef, a little tin-can-man-with-a-plan to set out on an enthralling adventure and rescue his kidnapped girlfriend.

    With it's wonderfully gritty, hand drawn backdrops, Machinarium is utterly gorgeous! And what better way to bask in the sheer majesty of Amanita's steampunk world, than on Vita's colour-popping OLED display! If you're a Vita owner who can appreciate a good point & click adventure and digs a challenging puzzle or two, then you have no choice in the matter, for Machinarium is the very definition of genuinely essential gaming. And for those who don't yet have Sony's latest handheld at their disposal? Well, unless you can grab Machinarium on an alternative platform (PS3, PC, Mac and iPad), I wholly recommend taking the plunge and grabbing yourself a Vita, because yes, Machinarium really is *that* good.

    And with yet more indie fan-favourites such as Limbo, The Walking Dead, Fez, Spelunky, Hotline Miami, Terraria, Lone Survivor, and a boat load more besides all headed to Vita in 2013, the question is as simple as it is poignant; can you honestly afford not to?

    9.5 out of 10
    (Arrrgh, why doesn't Metacritic have 0.5 increments!)

    [NOTE]: It's worth noting that Machinarium does not take advantage of Vita's 16:9 widescreen display. Regrettably, aside from the opening splash screen, the entire game plays out in 4:3, with ungainly black borders on either side of the screen.

    The control scheme meanwhile, must also be considered. Amanita have opted for a combination of iPad's touch interface and PS3's more conventional analogue sticks and buttons. However, instead of this set-up taking the best of both, the controls here feel convoluted and lacking their own identity. Well, initially at least.

    For me, these two annoyances are all that stand between Machinarium and 10/10 perfection on Vita, but they are in no way deal breakers. Not even slightly. Furthermore, once you're a good half an hour or so into the game, you'll be having so much fun, you'll not even notice them.
    Collapse
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    A great game, probably in my top 3 point and click adventures I've ever played, and it translates nicely to the vita. The only minor problem is that through most of the game you're expected to rely on visual queues to figure out what to do and some people may have trouble with that due to the small screen. It's really not too bad though. The puzzles are as tricky as they are varied so it's fun to play and never gets old all the way through. The music and visuals work really well in unison and are likely to haunt you long after you play. It almost reminds me of a David Firth animation except not quite as dark. Overall I adore the game. Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2013
    8
    Machinarium is a visually striking, highly original and creative video game that uses an amazing soundtrack to immerse you into its wonderful world. The puzzels are fun, interactive and downright hard! It's a good thing they have a hint book because most of the puzzels don't give much hints on their own. Even if you use the hint book for the majority of the game, the way the hints are given along with the style of the game; you will still need to use a some of brain-power to solve them. The point & click is great, but it does make things a little tedious and boring over an extended period of time. And if you add the mind-bending puzzels to the mix then it becomes overkill for awhile. Machinarium is an amazing game with a unique style that is completely different from every other game on the market. Expand

Trailers