Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. In a vacuum, Madden NFL 13 is great. That's good enough for some of us, but others will lament what it could have been. [Nov 2012, p.83]
  2. Aug 24, 2012
    70
    Like a top draft pick that makes the team but doesn't put up Pro Bowl numbers. It provides a healthy portion of the traditional Madden experience, but lacks the niftiest new parts of Connected Careers as well as the ability to use cross-play with the PS3. Because of that, it's a reminder of years past when it could've been cutting-edge.
  3. IF you don't own a PS3, there's some fun to be had slinging touchdowns here. [Dec 2012, p.114]
  4. Aug 31, 2012
    60
    Madden NFL 13 for the Vita is more disappointing than anything else. It feels like the pieces were in place, just not ready for prime time.
  5. Aug 27, 2012
    60
    The gameplay works and the teams you want are there. However, there's nothing really exciting about this portable version of pigskin. It doesn't look fantastic, the modes aren't very interesting, and it feels like corners have been cut.
  6. Aug 30, 2012
    55
    This inattention to detail is emblematic of the Madden NFL 13 experience. Aside from new commentary and a few Vita-specific controls, this is the same basic game that Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 owners played last year, only with a choppy frame rate dragging the core action down.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Aug 30, 2012
    8
    Surprisingly good effort for the first run on a new platform. I was expecting this to be sub par then I read the game reviews and was gettingSurprisingly good effort for the first run on a new platform. I was expecting this to be sub par then I read the game reviews and was getting worried. Unlike MLB The Show, I am pleased with the games graphics. The game chugs a bit through the cut scenes but its not broken. My experience so far indicates no such issues during gameplay. I have seen one review that said "the game plays (offline) like you are playing online with a laggy connection" I have not experienced this. If you are a football fan this is a worthy pick up. Full Review »
  2. Sep 6, 2012
    6
    The solid gameplay is tarnished by painfully slow menus and unpolished bugs. The gameplay is arcadey and feels like 2k5 in many ways andThe solid gameplay is tarnished by painfully slow menus and unpolished bugs. The gameplay is arcadey and feels like 2k5 in many ways and doesn't worry about simulating real football like previous Maddens which is awesome. Navigating Madden's already painful menus is even more painful here because of the delays between item selections. Online is broken. I get hard crashes back to the Vita menu when attempting to play online. Still worth the money and is a lot of fun. Full Review »
  3. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    This is a great game for a mobile version. Had PS3 last year, and this versions identical, which amazes me to no end. I was hesitant due toThis is a great game for a mobile version. Had PS3 last year, and this versions identical, which amazes me to no end. I was hesitant due to reviews, which now seem ridiculous. Game plays great, the delays are when you go thru depth chart menues, etc. Great graphics, great gameplay. I miss no chaingang, about it. Apparently critics sour on no cross-play, but for someone who only has Vita, dont care. No idea on Online play, dont play, dont care. Fantastic handheld football game. Full Review »