Madden NFL 13 PlayStation Vita

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 6 out of 36

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 30, 2012
    8
    Surprisingly good effort for the first run on a new platform. I was expecting this to be sub par then I read the game reviews and was getting worried. Unlike MLB The Show, I am pleased with the games graphics. The game chugs a bit through the cut scenes but its not broken. My experience so far indicates no such issues during gameplay. I have seen one review that said "the game playsSurprisingly good effort for the first run on a new platform. I was expecting this to be sub par then I read the game reviews and was getting worried. Unlike MLB The Show, I am pleased with the games graphics. The game chugs a bit through the cut scenes but its not broken. My experience so far indicates no such issues during gameplay. I have seen one review that said "the game plays (offline) like you are playing online with a laggy connection" I have not experienced this. If you are a football fan this is a worthy pick up. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    This is a great game for a mobile version. Had PS3 last year, and this versions identical, which amazes me to no end. I was hesitant due to reviews, which now seem ridiculous. Game plays great, the delays are when you go thru depth chart menues, etc. Great graphics, great gameplay. I miss no chaingang, about it. Apparently critics sour on no cross-play, but for someone who only has Vita,This is a great game for a mobile version. Had PS3 last year, and this versions identical, which amazes me to no end. I was hesitant due to reviews, which now seem ridiculous. Game plays great, the delays are when you go thru depth chart menues, etc. Great graphics, great gameplay. I miss no chaingang, about it. Apparently critics sour on no cross-play, but for someone who only has Vita, dont care. No idea on Online play, dont play, dont care. Fantastic handheld football game. Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2012
    8
    I have to say, all I've played is the online multiplayer which is pretty much what you would expect. It's pretty good. No voice chat which is kind of a bummer because games like Mortal Kombat and Unit 13 have it, but overall it's a solid multiplayers experience. It's not too laggy either, which definitely depends on your competitions connection. I will come back and rate more once I'veI have to say, all I've played is the online multiplayer which is pretty much what you would expect. It's pretty good. No voice chat which is kind of a bummer because games like Mortal Kombat and Unit 13 have it, but overall it's a solid multiplayers experience. It's not too laggy either, which definitely depends on your competitions connection. I will come back and rate more once I've played the rest of the game (I played the singleplayer experience on the demo). Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2012
    8
    Madden 13 is a great football game for the vita, it has it's issues but I will go over that. M13 has all the modes you would expect from a base madden game. It's not the same Madden 13 from your PS3 but a more bare bones version. There is multi player but of the 2 games I started to play the lag was a issue even when I was right beside my wireless source. The game play has some lag it'sMadden 13 is a great football game for the vita, it has it's issues but I will go over that. M13 has all the modes you would expect from a base madden game. It's not the same Madden 13 from your PS3 but a more bare bones version. There is multi player but of the 2 games I started to play the lag was a issue even when I was right beside my wireless source. The game play has some lag it's self but only when switching between menus. I did have a odd moment when during a game when my screen when white and the team had score a safety on my team. It was odd because I was in their red zone when it happened. I like this game and I have played it more then my other vita games. This game needs a patch to fix the issues, it could improve the score if EA got behind it. I expect next years madden to be much better on the vita. It feels like EA was testing the waters with this one but still a great game. Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2012
    9
    This is better than I thought it would be, the game lags a little in between plays, but on the field gameplay is smooth. I keep hearing this is just a port of madden 12 from the ps3 version, I wouldn't know cause this is the first madden game I brought since 2004.
  6. Aug 29, 2012
    8
    This game is very good, for a vita version. It has the same exact graphics as Madden 12 on consoles, which is a good thing. The regular Madden modes (Franchise, My Player, Madden Moments [Live]);, but no ultimate team. Great game.
  7. Aug 29, 2012
    8
    I'll give this game a solid 8/10. yes it's not the next gen madden experience on the consoles, but considering its on a new handheld it's fantastic! The gameplay is solid and the graphics and frame rate are certainly up to par with a first generation release on a new handheld. I'll cut EA some slack on this, if you wanna play madden on the go, then this is the way to do it! considering theI'll give this game a solid 8/10. yes it's not the next gen madden experience on the consoles, but considering its on a new handheld it's fantastic! The gameplay is solid and the graphics and frame rate are certainly up to par with a first generation release on a new handheld. I'll cut EA some slack on this, if you wanna play madden on the go, then this is the way to do it! considering the alternatives....madden on the 3DS or an ipad (both are well below mediocre) The people that are complaining are definitely not taking into account that its a portable experience! The same argument can be made about comparing MLB the show on the ps vita to its console big brother. I expect that as developers learn more about the ps vita and invest more time and resources there is no reason to believe that it won't get even better as the years progress. Stop complaining! If you like madden and wanna play it on the go, then this is it! Expand
  8. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    Best sports game, so far on Vita. Great graphics, great gameplay, great announcing by Phil and Jim, and overall a must buy for any NFL fan or sports fan in general.
  9. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    I thought this game was really good for being a portable device game. since the new patch they have fixed some of the problems that were in it at first and also the online is awesome.
  10. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    This is a great game. Graphics are wonderful. Gameplay is smooth. Online is buggish but i dont play online much anyways. Overall great game. Maybe the best one out for the vita so far.
  11. Aug 28, 2013
    8
    This is definitely a good first effort and easily the best portable football experience you will find. Prior to the update things were choppy, but post update this game definitely got some improvements to the frame rate and stutter issues. Worth it if you want a fun, realistic football game on the go.
  12. Sep 1, 2015
    9
    The game is great Madden on the go and looks and plays great on the PS Vita; but the game has sometimes frame drops and in game crowd looks weak compare to the Mlb The Show crowd. However with it's issues this is an excellent Madden game to play on the go.
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. IF you don't own a PS3, there's some fun to be had slinging touchdowns here. [Dec 2012, p.114]
  2. In a vacuum, Madden NFL 13 is great. That's good enough for some of us, but others will lament what it could have been. [Nov 2012, p.83]
  3. Aug 31, 2012
    60
    Madden NFL 13 for the Vita is more disappointing than anything else. It feels like the pieces were in place, just not ready for prime time.