Madden NFL 13 PlayStation Vita

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 38
  2. Negative: 6 out of 38
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 13, 2013
    6
    I think this iteration has a bit of a lame duck feeling to it. However, if you are willing to stomach a lot of flaws within the game and some unrealistic moments of football, then you can play it and maybe have some fun.
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    I gave FIFA 13 for vita a 7 and i figured i would do the same for madden. This is because when you compare it to FIFA they are very similar. They have basic game modes, online, and play now. But on the plus side that is all I need to enjoy a game of madden. The graphics are very good and the game has a bit of lag on replays and stuff like that. I would love to see a huge improvement (suchI gave FIFA 13 for vita a 7 and i figured i would do the same for madden. This is because when you compare it to FIFA they are very similar. They have basic game modes, online, and play now. But on the plus side that is all I need to enjoy a game of madden. The graphics are very good and the game has a bit of lag on replays and stuff like that. I would love to see a huge improvement (such as adding ultimate team) to madden 14 and then i will continue to enjoy the madden for vita series. If however, EA puts no effort, and keeps the game the same, don't expect me to write a review for madden 14 mainly because I won't pick it up. If you are dying to play madden on the road I would recommend this because it delivers console-quality graphics on the go. The vita is off to a rough start, but I hope that companies like EA will try to sell vitas with amazing sports games Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2012
    6
    The solid gameplay is tarnished by painfully slow menus and unpolished bugs. The gameplay is arcadey and feels like 2k5 in many ways and doesn't worry about simulating real football like previous Maddens which is awesome. Navigating Madden's already painful menus is even more painful here because of the delays between item selections. Online is broken. I get hard crashes back to theThe solid gameplay is tarnished by painfully slow menus and unpolished bugs. The gameplay is arcadey and feels like 2k5 in many ways and doesn't worry about simulating real football like previous Maddens which is awesome. Navigating Madden's already painful menus is even more painful here because of the delays between item selections. Online is broken. I get hard crashes back to the Vita menu when attempting to play online. Still worth the money and is a lot of fun. Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    7
    EA Sports should be ashamed.
    Not because Madden 13 on the Vita is a bad game. It's actually quite fun to start a career and take it on the go. It's a good game, but it is by no means Madden 13. This is Madden 12 with new commentary. EA admitted that they were focused on the console versions and that was the problem. I understand them not being able to incorporate the Infinity Engine
    EA Sports should be ashamed.
    Not because Madden 13 on the Vita is a bad game. It's actually quite fun to start a career and take it on the go. It's a good game, but it is by no means Madden 13. This is Madden 12 with new commentary. EA admitted that they were focused on the console versions and that was the problem. I understand them not being able to incorporate the Infinity Engine due to hardware or resource limitations, but connected careers (even if it's only offline) is a HUGE omission. They basically updated the rosters, added the new commentary and slapped a 'Madden 13' label on it. Very unfortunate.
    Expand
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 15, 2012
    60
    IF you don't own a PS3, there's some fun to be had slinging touchdowns here. [Dec 2012, p.114]
  2. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Sep 20, 2012
    70
    In a vacuum, Madden NFL 13 is great. That's good enough for some of us, but others will lament what it could have been. [Nov 2012, p.83]
  3. Aug 31, 2012
    60
    Madden NFL 13 for the Vita is more disappointing than anything else. It feels like the pieces were in place, just not ready for prime time.