Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Become an NFL Superstar or assemble the league’s next Dynasty using the Vita’s touch screens that provide improved control, unlocking new layers of gameplay and feature depth.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. In a vacuum, Madden NFL 13 is great. That's good enough for some of us, but others will lament what it could have been. [Nov 2012, p.83]
  2. Aug 24, 2012
    70
    Like a top draft pick that makes the team but doesn't put up Pro Bowl numbers. It provides a healthy portion of the traditional Madden experience, but lacks the niftiest new parts of Connected Careers as well as the ability to use cross-play with the PS3. Because of that, it's a reminder of years past when it could've been cutting-edge.
  3. Aug 27, 2012
    60
    The gameplay works and the teams you want are there. However, there's nothing really exciting about this portable version of pigskin. It doesn't look fantastic, the modes aren't very interesting, and it feels like corners have been cut.
  4. IF you don't own a PS3, there's some fun to be had slinging touchdowns here. [Dec 2012, p.114]
  5. Aug 31, 2012
    60
    Madden NFL 13 for the Vita is more disappointing than anything else. It feels like the pieces were in place, just not ready for prime time.
  6. Aug 30, 2012
    55
    This inattention to detail is emblematic of the Madden NFL 13 experience. Aside from new commentary and a few Vita-specific controls, this is the same basic game that Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 owners played last year, only with a choppy frame rate dragging the core action down.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    This is a great game for a mobile version. Had PS3 last year, and this versions identical, which amazes me to no end. I was hesitant due to reviews, which now seem ridiculous. Game plays great, the delays are when you go thru depth chart menues, etc. Great graphics, great gameplay. I miss no chaingang, about it. Apparently critics sour on no cross-play, but for someone who only has Vita, dont care. No idea on Online play, dont play, dont care. Fantastic handheld football game. Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    This is a great game. Graphics are wonderful. Gameplay is smooth. Online is buggish but i dont play online much anyways. Overall great game. Maybe the best one out for the vita so far. Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    I thought this game was really good for being a portable device game. since the new patch they have fixed some of the problems that were in it at first and also the online is awesome. Expand
  4. Aug 28, 2013
    8
    This is definitely a good first effort and easily the best portable football experience you will find. Prior to the update things were choppy, but post update this game definitely got some improvements to the frame rate and stutter issues. Worth it if you want a fun, realistic football game on the go. Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2012
    8
    Madden 13 is a great football game for the vita, it has it's issues but I will go over that. M13 has all the modes you would expect from a base madden game. It's not the same Madden 13 from your PS3 but a more bare bones version. There is multi player but of the 2 games I started to play the lag was a issue even when I was right beside my wireless source. The game play has some lag it's self but only when switching between menus. I did have a odd moment when during a game when my screen when white and the team had score a safety on my team. It was odd because I was in their red zone when it happened. I like this game and I have played it more then my other vita games. This game needs a patch to fix the issues, it could improve the score if EA got behind it. I expect next years madden to be much better on the vita. It feels like EA was testing the waters with this one but still a great game. Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    I gave FIFA 13 for vita a 7 and i figured i would do the same for madden. This is because when you compare it to FIFA they are very similar. They have basic game modes, online, and play now. But on the plus side that is all I need to enjoy a game of madden. The graphics are very good and the game has a bit of lag on replays and stuff like that. I would love to see a huge improvement (such as adding ultimate team) to madden 14 and then i will continue to enjoy the madden for vita series. If however, EA puts no effort, and keeps the game the same, don't expect me to write a review for madden 14 mainly because I won't pick it up. If you are dying to play madden on the road I would recommend this because it delivers console-quality graphics on the go. The vita is off to a rough start, but I hope that companies like EA will try to sell vitas with amazing sports games Collapse
  7. Oct 5, 2012
    3
    It look like Madden of on the psp and it lacks i return it not worth 40,30,20 only 15 EA has to do a better job next time.Terrible game. The game is choppy, crappy graphics, and really needs work Expand

See all 17 User Reviews